We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regret to pay $200 for this”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Ranked #404 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I checked trip advisor before booking this hotel thru Priceline and there was a review that said rooms are EXTREMELY SMALL and not good at all. I didnt listen to it but the moment I opened the door, I remembered it.

The room is 6ftx10ft i guess just a bed nothing else. The bathroom is really really small and not clean and very old. I will not be tricked by clubish theme of the lobby.

The only thing good about this place is its location which is right next to times square

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Alithegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Please allow me to apologize that your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We value each of our guests and it’s never pleasant to be informed that a guest had a negative experience. We have several different size rooms throughout our hotel and our staff is always available to assist you with a room upgrade to accommodate your preferences. We hold our hotel and services to high standards. I would like to further investigate your concerns with the cleanliness of the room. Please contact me at erodriguez-febles@paramount-nyc.com with the full name on the reservation, the dates of your stay and your TripAdvisor comment attached. I look forward to hearing from your and resolving your concerns in order to ensure this is not a repeat occurrence for future guests.

Best Regards,
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,715 - 2,721 of 5,062 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just off of Time Square in a location convenient to theaters and Hell's Kitchen restaurants this hotel offered a comfy, quiet, well designed room, if not much bigger than the queen sized bed. Then again, booked through Expedia, it was inexpensive by New York standards. The hotel has been themed with theater in mind and makes a strong lounge splash as the lobby is more dark club than anything else. The ultra long modern gas fireplace roaringly lit mid summer and first thing in the am was one of the hotel's quirky touches.

The room had a three foot closet with enough storage space for over night. The bath, again small, but clean and things conveniently at hand. No mini bar or fridge. The view we had was looking north and offered a good panorama of that part of the city.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but ultra lux, it is not.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DHVPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Yes, the rooms are small, with the drawers and safe taking up much of the closet, but the space in the room and bathroom is arranged efficiently and all anticipated amenities are provided. (No refrigerator or coffee maker, but anything you might want is available within a block in any direction.) Everything was clean and the housekeeping service was excellent. Great room-darkening double shade system. Better air conditioning than most hotels in its thermostat, effectiveness, and noise level. Employees at the front desk (Nathalie who checked me in and out was an ideal person to begin and end anyone's stay at the Paramount) and concierge were friendly and helpful, the housekeeping staff and the wait staff in the bar/grill were friendly and efficient, and the security guard who checked to see room keys before letting anyone into the lobby in the evening was friendly and added a sense of safety upon entering at a late hour. Perfect location for theater and easy access to subways for any other NYC destinations. I did not experience any of the problems I had read about in advance in some of the reviews (except for the small rooms, which I had anticipated). I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The AAA rate on the hotel website was cheaper than the various travel websites, and by making your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your 5 star experience with us. It’s a pleasure to hear you had a great experience with Natalie and all of our staff. We want all of our guests to receive the best service possible when staying at our hotel or visiting our restaurant. Please be advised that we have several different size rooms throughout the hotel and our staff are always available to assist in accommodating your needs. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels find you back in New York City.

Best Regards,
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

stayed here in june while over for the boxing in Madison Square Gardens.
It was what you call ok (average).Not to many complaints as you would expect it was clean and staff were helpful polite.
Have stayed in better hotels in NY when over for the boxing,as said no real complaints but it is not a hotel i would put up there to 'sell' to friends/family.

One word of warning,when travelling around use the NY yellow cabs,not the 'private' ones the doorman of this hotel advise, a ten dollar bus ride(we got the bus back) cost us $320 on the outward journey.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It’s disappointing to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. I would like to follow up on any concerns you had. Would you please contact me at erodriguez-febles@paramount-nyc.com with the full name on the reservation, the dates of your stay, your TripAdvisor comment attached and further detail as to how we could have made your experience a more enjoyable and memorable one? I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel does have a great location, 2 minutes from Times Square. We had no problems there at all, we found the staff to be very friendly, got free wi-fi in all 3 rooms as I made a point of asking about it. The rooms are very small but they suited us as single travellers. My one gripe and this is me being picky - no brewing facilities in the room. The lobby is fantastic, great for people watching. Did not eat in the hotel but bought an expensive tasteless coffee from the cafe. There is a little place 2 doors away the does really good coffee at a third of the price. I read some of the reviews before we went and was a little apprehensive but for us it was fine and yes I would stay again. There is to much to do in New York to stay in a bedroom so as long as there is hot water and a comfy bed I am satisfied.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the 7th and 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Workshard333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel's lobby and hallway remodel is a bit "mid-century goth" and the rooms are small. But, my room was clean, well stocked, and quiet. The air conditioning worked very well and the service was very good. Nicole on the front desk was very helpful. All of the bar staff, wait staff, housekeeping, and security were all very polite and very willing to help. The restaurant and bar were very comfortable with good food and drink menus. And you cannot beat the location. I would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: The smallest of the rooms available are smaller than you can imagine rooms to be. The broadway stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience interacting with all of our staff. Our team works together in order to achieve a great guest experience throughout. Please be advised that we have several different size rooms throughout our hotel and our staff is always available to assist in accommodating your needs. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel the next time your travels find you back in New York City.

Best Regards,
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Although the surrounding area is not particularly nice we had expected more because of the hotels own hype. Arrived in the lobby area which is particularly dark at all times with dozens of people lounging and laying on all available chairs listening to load music. On the 1st floor above the lobby is in fact an area for DJs and their equipment. Our hearts sank. The check in staff were very friendly. Our 1st room was on the 6th floor which did not have any furniture except bed and a chair. The room was extremely small probably no more than 10 feet by 10 feet with nowhere for cases. Went back to reception to get another room and I did get a good reaction from the girl and a Queen room on 14. This was slightly larger (about 12 x12) with at least some furniture for our cases. All the public areas and lifts were very dimly lit and painted in dark colours. I beleive they call this a boutique hotel!!! If so give me an old fashion type anyday.

The redeeming features were the breakfast room (not coffee shop) which had a fair selection in their buffet service (although dearer and less variety than say the Intercontinental) and the reception and concierge staff who were helpful at all times. The cleaning person on 14 was very good but it could be said that the small size left her very little to do.

We always have our American friends complain about European room sizes but the Paramount room sizes are even smaller than most.

All in all we would not recommend or stay again at this hotel. Their rates are basically on a par
with most well known 4 star chains but you get less for your money at the Paramount.

Room Tip: not sure any rooms are good, but the 14th floor Queen room is marginally better than a room on the 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DavidAC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#354 of 473 in New York City
20,520 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#310 of 473 in New York City
10,207 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#256 of 473 in New York City
4,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#282 of 473 in New York City
12,077 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#307 of 473 in New York City
5,629 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#278 of 473 in New York City
5,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#227 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £88 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing