We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is it so dark in the foyer?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Ranked #380 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Why is it so dark in the foyer?”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

You walk into the foyer and think you have stepped into a night club. Its dark and and music is pumping. It's hard to hear the receptionist.
We head up to our room which is more of box that will sleep four adults fr the next 6 nights. 2 beds, bed side table, worlds tiniest closet and a bathroom is all that 2k wil get u.
Appreciate that we were allocated tooms next to each other.
We bought dinner back to the hotel one night and as there is no room in the box we ate it downstairs, that is until we were hunted out by the female security guard. Now I checked, there are no signs that say no eating in the lobby and when I came back down later in the evening there were guests rating pizza. Decide what your rule is and enforce it for all and put some signs up hey!
Ok rant over. I will.not stay here again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank newycrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We like to portray a trendy and chic atmosphere but we completely understand that not all of our guests are keen on the lack of light. As a historic hotel our rooms are all unique and can sometimes be a bit on the cozier side compared to more recently built hotels, but it speaks of the history of Times Square and our hotel. Unfortunately we do not allow the eating of outside foods in our lobby. We apologize that you were unaware of this and are working on a better way to communicate this policy with our guests. Though you have stated you will not be returning we hope you change your mind and allow us the opportunity to wow you in the future.

Best Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    1,359
    1,002
    481
    377
See reviews for
983
1,367
274
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

You can't get any closer to the action than this hotel that's 1/2 block off Times Square and an easy walk to Broadway shows and lots of food. The hotel is clean and modern with the expected tiny Manhattan rooms. Most of the small rooms will have no view, so if that's what you seek, pay for one of the larger ones. This is fine for families and a safe, well populated neighborhood. There's a breakfast café off the lobby, an iconic little NY pizza shop next door and a theater across the street. If you walk west on 46th street, you'll find a cozy little neighborhood lined with pubs and restaurants of every stripe, just pick what you like. If you walk east, you're in Times Square with all its flash and bustle. Reasonably priced, just expect a tiny room, which is not unusual for Manhattan.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for one specifically and pay the extra price. If you plan to spend most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed all that our location and hotel had to offer during your recent New York City visit. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It was a convenient location to Times Sq. Front end service were great, bar was great food was good. Room was small, very clean and comfy and the price was great for the location. Its a perfect location for theater district

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocco555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is very close the action on Time Square. The lobby and hallways have a lounge atmosphere and are quite dark. Customer service came to our rescue when a leak appeared from the celing at 2 am, we were relocated to a Superior King room immediately. It was clean and the staff was friendly. New York City is Noisy, Times Square is even noisier no matter what hotel you stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor at the back of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your 5 star feedback with us! It’s unfortunate to hear that you experienced a leak in your room. We’re pleased to hear that our team ensured you were taken care of and well accommodated in a new room. We hope you enjoyed you visit to New York City and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laporte, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The Door men and front desk people were great. The housekeeping was poor. They only made the bed. The carpets were filthy, they left dirty dishes in the bedroom, and they did not clean the bathroom. I had to call for soaps and towels and replace my own toilet paper. I will not be returning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Gia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Please allow me to apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We value each of our guests and it’s never pleasant to be informed that a guest had a negative experience. I would like to follow up on your concerns with the appropriate department leaders. Please contact me at erodriguez-febles@paramount-nyc.com with the full name on your reservation, the dates of your stay and your TripAdvisor comment attached. I look forward to hearing from you and resolving your concerns.

Best Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Jaragua Do Sul, SC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed with my son at this hotel on december 2011. It´s located in the heart of Times Square, nearby everything you need. The lobby is beautiful, with some art pieces and a huge (I mean, huuge) chandelier. Quite fancy! The room was new and small, but the bed and shower were just perfect. By that time there was no free Wifi available in the rooms, just in the lobby (hope they had improved that). We had no breakfast included, but we could grab something on our way out in the Dean & Deluca place that is inside the hotel. It´s not a cheap hotel, but it´s NYC so it was a great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniella221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us back in 2011. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon so that you will have the opportunity to experience the renovations and improvements we have made throughout our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel was right in the middle of Times Square on 46th, rooms were small but as you don't spend a lot of time there it wasn't a problem, they were clean and had everything you would need. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, the Hotel restaurant served a great breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott255108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re pleased to hear enjoyed your stay and had an opportunity to experience our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels find you back in New York City.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 468 in New York City
7,134 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,567 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 468 in New York City
9,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,972 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#360 of 468 in New York City
1,221 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#331 of 468 in New York City
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Property: Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing