We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practically Perfect Stay at the Paramount”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Ranked #377 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Bedford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Practically Perfect Stay at the Paramount”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is my 4th stay at the W46th St. Paramount Hotel in the heart of Times Square. My very first was also my very first NYC adventure in 2010. So perhaps I was just glamoured & enamoured with the whole trip, the Paramount stay just being one component. But...nope. 3 stays later & it is definitely my favorite hotel of all hotels. Having been to NYC now going on 10 times...I've stayed at various other Times Square and other Manhattan establishments - depending on the flavor of the trip. I will always go back to the Paramount whenever possible. For a Broadway theatre junkie such as myself - located b/w 7th & 8th on 46th is the most perfect pit stop for all Broadway theatres...a few blocks west...or east...soooo convenient! But locale aside - it's the funky monkey common areas with extroardinary decor, and all of the fun extras; Tony's pop up shop was next door; Love Is Louder now takes that spot..and the ueber risque Queen of the Night club downstairs is on my list. Great coffee shop attached for breakfast on the go...The rooms are clean and crisp and minimalist but perfect for our purposes. The rooms aren't enormous..but hey..you are off Times Square in NYC at a boutique hotel. Love it all! Staff is always accomodating. Location!Location!Location! But so much more. See ya next time!

Room Tip: Some don't have tubs...not an issue normally - except if you are with someone who baths instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your 5 star experience with us and being a loyal guest to our hotel. We’re glad to hear our hotel and location has all you need to enjoy your NYC visits! We’re also pleased to hear you have taken advantage of visiting the pop-up shop and coffee shop during your visits. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future as you enjoy the Queen of the Night in the Diamond Horseshoe.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    1,295
    929
    434
    333
See reviews for
886
1,299
241
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just come back from America. We stayed at the paramount for 3 nights with 2 teenage boys myself and husband. We had one room 2 double beds. Plenty of room , clean and ideal for our stay as we were only there to sleep. Cafe downstairs set us up for the day ,coffee and a muffin lovely. We were given free wifi in the room but not in the reception area seemed a little strange but worked for us.
Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _97archie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful 5 star experience with us. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in NYC. Our two double bed rooms are a hot commodity and we’re happy to hear you enjoyed the room. We’re happy to hear you had an opportunity to experience our conveniently located coffee shop during your stay. We apologize for the inconveniences with the Wi-Fi in the lobby. If you were provided an access code that was included in your reservation, the same access code could have been used in the lobby as well. I apologize for any confusion. Your feedback has been shared with the team to ensure proper explanation is provided to future guest. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel the next time you’re in NYC!

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

To be honest this is one of the closest hotels to Times Square. Stay here if you can get a super cheap rate. While the rooms are pretty clean, they are unusually small. Even the king suites are very tiny. I found all of the staff to be fairly pleasant.

I really thought the maids did an excellent job with the cleaning day to day. However the bellman at the front do not open doors very often. They are just standing there. I'm not sure why they are there as they mainly just say hello and goodbye. Nobody checks to see that people going into the hotel and in the elevators are actual hotel guests. I saw this happen once in my eight day stay. In a bigger hotel like this normally you have to show a room key to be allowed up in the elevators.

This is not the type of hotel you want to be in for more than a couple of days. It is great for something like a weekend getaway, but you really can't have a lot of luggage. Both the bathrooms and closet are crazy small. It would be really hard for anybody with more than one suitcase to stay in a room. Two people with full size luggage would not be able to open both pieces of luggage on the floor. The only way to fix this problem is to significantly renovate the entire hotel which isn't going to happen. Everything inside appears to be quite modern and clean.

Immediately outside of the front doors there is a terrible terrible smell every single day. I think there is a lot of public urination occurring outside these doors and it is not cleaned up. I'm sure the hotel could wash the front area was some sort of chemical. To combat the odours outside the hotel does have other fragrances sprayed in the lobby once you get in. I appreciated this change in smell. If you have allergies or any asthma problems this is not a great hotel for you.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank travelleteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Please allow me to apologize that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations. We value each of our guests and it’s never pleasant to be informed that a guest had a negative experience. Please be advised that we have several different sized rooms throughout the hotel and our staff is always available to assist in accommodating your preferences. We take great pride in our hotel and the service we provide to our guests. The side walk in the front and on the sides of our hotel is washed each morning by our dedicated staff. We have security presence in our lobby daily to ensure the safety and security of our guests. In the evenings there is a key check in order to enter the hotel after 8pm. It’s truly disappointing to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with the management team and any necessary measures will be taken to ensure a positive experience for future guests. Should your travels find you back in New York City, please do not hesitate to contact me. We hope to welcome you back and regain your trust in the future.

Best Regards,
Emily R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice little hotel just off of Times Square.

Sexy lobby which turns into a night club at night.
Perfect for those running around the city all day or before and after watching there shows on broadway.

Staff is very helpful and attentive.
Perfect for the 18-40yr old range.
Can't wait to return some day.

Room Tip: This hotel is in NYC which means rooms are typically smaller then in other places are the world. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forza416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your awesome 5 star review! We love that your enjoyed your stay in our hotel and running around our city. We have a very modern, chic style that appeals to the famous NYC vibe. What could be a more perfect location to stay when seeking to explore the city and having all Broadway shows practically at your door step? Please do come visit us again the next time your travels find you back in NYC!

Best Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The room was very clean and modern and staff friendly and helpful. Rooms are a bit small, but it didn't bother us that much. The location was excellent! The air-conditioning broke down one day, but they fixed it within an hour, which was great. The hotel smelled very nice and clean overall. Would book again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jarka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us despite the inconveniences you experience with the air-conditioning unit. We’re glad that everything was resolved in a timely fashion. Service is our highest priority for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next New York City visit.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I was unfortunate enough to be staying in this 'hostel'..at Times Square.
This hotel has great location, easy access to everywhere at Times Square but the room is extremely small and the bathroom is like a prison cell toilet, with a hole in the wall as a standing shower (approx.. 10 sqft) and no lighting in the shower.

The loud sound from the air-conditioning is unbearable (it's just next to the bed) I've checked several room and all of them has this problem! U had to sleep with ear plugs + pillow over your head and risk not hearing the fire alarm.

The reception girls are rude, accuse customers of placing their key card near magnetic object when clearly they program it wrongly. (program it to expire at 12 noon when guest had paid for half day late check out at 6pm) My whole group has this problem on check out day after lunch.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We understand that some of our rooms are a bit on the cozier side than others but that really speaks to the history of Times Square and the exquisite story our hotel has to offer. There are several different sized rooms throughout the hotel and our staff is always available to assist you with a room that accommodates your needs. Our priority is to provide the best customer service possible and unfortunately we did not accomplish this. I would like to follow up on your concerns with our team. Please contact me at erodriguez-febles@paramount-nyc.com with the full name on the reservation, the dates of your stay and your TripAdvisor comment attached. I look forward to speaking with you and resolving your concerns.

Best Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

You walk into the foyer and think you have stepped into a night club. Its dark and and music is pumping. It's hard to hear the receptionist.
We head up to our room which is more of box that will sleep four adults fr the next 6 nights. 2 beds, bed side table, worlds tiniest closet and a bathroom is all that 2k wil get u.
Appreciate that we were allocated tooms next to each other.
We bought dinner back to the hotel one night and as there is no room in the box we ate it downstairs, that is until we were hunted out by the female security guard. Now I checked, there are no signs that say no eating in the lobby and when I came back down later in the evening there were guests rating pizza. Decide what your rule is and enforce it for all and put some signs up hey!
Ok rant over. I will.not stay here again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank newycrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We like to portray a trendy and chic atmosphere but we completely understand that not all of our guests are keen on the lack of light. As a historic hotel our rooms are all unique and can sometimes be a bit on the cozier side compared to more recently built hotels, but it speaks of the history of Times Square and our hotel. Unfortunately we do not allow the eating of outside foods in our lobby. We apologize that you were unaware of this and are working on a better way to communicate this policy with our guests. Though you have stated you will not be returning we hope you change your mind and allow us the opportunity to wow you in the future.

Best Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,509 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,816 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#354 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,112 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#262 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,900 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#329 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Property: Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing