We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Park Central is Central to Broadway shows.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Central Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Central Hotel New York
Ranked #263 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Park Central is Central to Broadway shows.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I went to NY City on business, but were able to combine this with pleasure at the Park Central, a wonderful old hotel with a vast space for just sitting in the lounge under chandeliers that look like solar systems, ordering a drink, or just plugging in your laptop and doing business. No need to book a room if all you want is some surcease from the bustle of 7th Avenue.

Our first room was a disappointment, having an A/C unit that leaked and wet the carpeting. But we were immediately given a better room with visual access to the City that never sleeps. We reserved lunch for ourselves and our friends, and we were given a quiet table and allowed to stay as long as we wished over coffee and dessert. Total for four great lunches: only $163, sans gratuity.

The Concierge took time to explain what's to be seen and done in the City, providing maps and instructions to landmarks. If you're in need of a cab, just call the doorman and he'll hail you a Yellow Cab. Yellow Cab fare to (or from) JFK is a flat $58, and it's worth it. We took cabs to the theater, as well. The cabs are metered and the drivers are good. The Concierge can also get you Broadway tickets, but if you want to be adventuresome, stroll up Seventh Avenue and find the half-price ticket booths. You'll have to stand in line, but you'll be among friends from all over the world. Not wanting to stand in line, we bought tickets for "Jersey Boys" (not to be missed) from a street hustler, bargaining him down from $75 per ticket to $62.50--and getting great seats.

New York City is not inexpensive. I paid $4.75 for a small glass of orange juice at a great restaurant across the street from the Park Central. But you can also walk a couple of blocks from the hotel and get New York pizza for 99 cents a slice, as we did after "Jersey Boys," taking our snack up to the room to eat while watching the Miami Heat win its basketball game.

You can stay at the Carlyle for about twice the price as the Park Central. I've been to both and I believe that the latter gives you more bang for the buck.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room facing the street. The interior room might be less expensive, but it isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you kindly for your amazing review. Your feedback is much appreciated and clearly shows that your escape with us was a memorable one. All of your kind words have been shared with our team members. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,526
    1,613
    633
    251
    192
See reviews for
1,390
1,280
160
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Why don't hotels have coffeemakers in the rooms any longer? I suppose the answer is that they'd prefer that you buy a cup in the overpriced kiosk in the lobby. The Park Central has "some" coffeemakers that can be requested, but they apparently didn't have one for us.

Anyway--the location just south of Central Park is excellent. Walking distance to Broadway, Radio City Music Hall (for our daughter's graduation ceremony from NYU!), to the Empire State Building, etc.

The room was very clean, and well maintained for the two nights we were there. I thought it was spacious for a hotel room in NYC, and the beds were comfortable, with a great pillow assortment.

Complaints? Well, the aforementioned lack of coffeemaker, and the water pressure in the shower was low.

I used Priceline Express so I really can't comment on the value. We were there for a gorgeous spring weekend, and some of the rates I saw online for other hotels were appalling.

The valet parking was $58 per night.

On the whole, I would definitely recommend the Park Central.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the moment you arrive, the fresh sent truly welcomes you to this gorgeous hotel. You can definitely tell the hotel has received a major face lift. From the decor, to the close proximity to Times Square and the service we were offered by it's employees I rate this a 4.5 out of 5. The only reason I knocked a half star was due to the wait time for the elevators for floors 1-9. I believe the hotel was at maximum occupancy for a local concert so the wait time was long at times. Elevators for floors 10 + were much smoother. Our room was clean, modern and very comfy. You don't hear a peep at night and that's saying something, since you're sleeping in "the city". All around a great hotel stay!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the 10th floor or above!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canefan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your rave review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very contemporary hotel with friendly staff. Spacious bar/lounge area with a nice design. Convenient "market" near the front desk which had snacks, sandwiches, breakfast items, and beverages to-go. The room was very clean; beds provided a very comfortable nights sleep. The bathroom was stocked with some lovely smelling shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and lotion. The location was just what we needed..walking distance to Times Square and one end of Central Park. Only downside was the view from the rear of hotel, but not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated and clearly shows that your escape with us was a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Central again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised at the very fine room that we enjoyed at the Park Central in NYC. We had no complaints of any kind, unlike some recent reviewers. The elevators did not cause any wait time as some reported, and we found the location to be perfect, convenient to both Central Park and Times Square as well and Fifth and Sixth Avenue sites. The hotel charges a Services Fee of approximately $21 daily which is not optional and we did not really use any of the services except for WiFi. Management should rethink this charge and find a way to have only "one drive out price" and remove the extra fee.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDCDCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and are delighted to read you had a great stay with us at Park Central. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vieques
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I had to spend one night in New York City before our flight from JFK. We should have slept at the airport. Our room was booked through a budget provider, yes, but the Park Central management should be ashamed to put a “guest” in such uncomfortable surroundings. My wife and I had to “take turns” moving between closet, bed and bathroom – that is literally how small the room was. There was not even space for a chair. The window looked onto the airshaft – dark, ugly and foreboding. We did convey our displeasure to the hotel. Their response was to tell us the square footage of our room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a comfortable stay with us. Please be assured we have shared your feedback with our team members so that we may improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This review is a little late, however my boyfriend and I spent 5 nights at the Park Central in NYC from 1-6 March 2014.

The hotel is nice, its clean and tidy with modern furnishings. The room was very small, but that's fairly typical in NYC. It's very close to Time Square and within walking distance to most things.

The staff are unfriendly and that was pretty much what let the whole thing down for me. We wouldn't stay there again just for that reason, there are plenty of other hotels in NY to choose from. However if you want a clean, reasonably priced hotel within walking distance to everything it's fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cj_loves_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our central location and newly renovated décor. We strive to provide excellent customer service to all of our valued guests and clearly we missed the mark. Please be assured we have shared your feedback with our team members so that we may improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#262 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,760 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,097 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,705 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,598 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#383 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel New York

Property: Park Central Hotel New York
Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
#208 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Prestigia and Ebookers so you can book your Park Central Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing