We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Central Hotel New York
Ranked #269 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Close to Central Park, 5th Ave, Times Square & Broadway. Rooms are slightly small (my son and I stayed in two doubles and were perfectly comfortable), but who cares when you'll spend very little time in them.

Check in took quite a while which was a surprise considering the professional look and attention to quality in other parts of the hotel. Not sure of the process is slower or there was a lack of staff numbers, but the check in line moved very slowly.

other than that, a highly recommended place to stay and catch all of the best of NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanCollver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback. We are so happy to hear our rooms provided a comfortable stay for you and your son. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the long wait you experienced during your check in. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,576
    1,686
    655
    264
    206
See reviews for
1,450
1,326
167
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, the service is excellent, everytime you need help an assistant is ready to attend you.
The rooms are newly remodeled and that's cool because it looks nice and elegant.
Also the food is delicious.
I recommend this hotel because is so near of the most popular places to visit in NY.

We also are thankful with the receptionist Jessica, she help us every time we need help, she gave us maps and recommend us many places that we could visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated and we are thrilled to hear you experienced excellent customer service from our Team. We will not neglect to put Jessica in the spotlight. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Central again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay with at this hotel in our Summer Holidays. The location & friendliness of everyone in the hotel was super - we would definitely stay with you again.

The hotel room need tea/coffee making facilities in room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZahidHafeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your Summer Holiday with us. Thank you for the positive feedback in regards to our friendly staff and central location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you Park Central soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights over Memorial Day weekend and got a discounted rate through their Facebook site. I was worried about bed bugs in NYC, but the rooms are newly remodeled with new mattresses and covers, so no issues. The rooms are well insulated - you can't hear plumbing noises or tvs from other rooms. However, sound does come quite clearly through the hallway door. There is no radio, docking station, or coffee maker. BUT there are plenty of outlets that you can have several electronic devices charging, even bedside so you can use your phone as an alarm/radio. All staff are very friendly, even the maids in the hallway! Park Central is very close to theaters, Central Park, subway, and hop on/hop off bus stops. I had a single king room, and there is no place to lounge and put your feet up except on the bed. It's amazing how dirty you can get touring and going through Central Park and the bedspreads are white, so a sponge bath was needed before relaxing. The concierge will help you tickets and a ride to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell8679cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated and clearly shows us that your escape with us was a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Central again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a beautiful, historic hotel with incredible decor and architecture. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and elegant and we felt we had stepped into a historical world with all the comforts of the modern day

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitasvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My boyfriend booked 4 nights for us here as a surprise for my 30th Birthday. As first timers to New York, the location was brilliant. Two minutes walk from Time Square, 5th Avenue & Central Park. Nearest subway is 1 minute walk from the front of the hotel.
We stayed in a Premier King on the 9th floor. Our room was awesome, spacious, clean, modern furnishings, really contemporary. Although I didn't think the hotel would matter to me (I was in the big apple for the first time!!) it was great to come back every evening to a beautiful, clean & comfortable room. Our super king bed was THE most comfortable bed we've both ever slept in at 5'10 & 6,4 it's important we have a big spacious bed! Our room was cleaned, & given fresh towels & bed linen every day. Free wifi throughout all areas in the hotel including our room was an added bonus for looking up maps/restaurants/directions last minute.
There's lots of reviews on here with complaints about the lifts (elevators!)- we didn't have ANY problems. Never having to wait more than 10-30 seconds, this was not an issue whatsoever. Staff all friendly, helpful & welcoming. We used the free luggage store both on our arrival & departure, & had wine & snacks at the bar too. Late check out of 12 allowed us to fit in some last minute shopping & a final visit to Central Park before returning to our room to pack & leave for home. Thank You Park Central- we would definitely stay here again & recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your rave review and recommendation. We are so happy you stayed with us for your birthday celebration. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, newly renovated décor and central location. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I went to NY City on business, but were able to combine this with pleasure at the Park Central, a wonderful old hotel with a vast space for just sitting in the lounge under chandeliers that look like solar systems, ordering a drink, or just plugging in your laptop and doing business. No need to book a room if all you want is some surcease from the bustle of 7th Avenue.

Our first room was a disappointment, having an A/C unit that leaked and wet the carpeting. But we were immediately given a better room with visual access to the City that never sleeps. We reserved lunch for ourselves and our friends, and we were given a quiet table and allowed to stay as long as we wished over coffee and dessert. Total for four great lunches: only $163, sans gratuity.

The Concierge took time to explain what's to be seen and done in the City, providing maps and instructions to landmarks. If you're in need of a cab, just call the doorman and he'll hail you a Yellow Cab. Yellow Cab fare to (or from) JFK is a flat $58, and it's worth it. We took cabs to the theater, as well. The cabs are metered and the drivers are good. The Concierge can also get you Broadway tickets, but if you want to be adventuresome, stroll up Seventh Avenue and find the half-price ticket booths. You'll have to stand in line, but you'll be among friends from all over the world. Not wanting to stand in line, we bought tickets for "Jersey Boys" (not to be missed) from a street hustler, bargaining him down from $75 per ticket to $62.50--and getting great seats.

New York City is not inexpensive. I paid $4.75 for a small glass of orange juice at a great restaurant across the street from the Park Central. But you can also walk a couple of blocks from the hotel and get New York pizza for 99 cents a slice, as we did after "Jersey Boys," taking our snack up to the room to eat while watching the Miami Heat win its basketball game.

You can stay at the Carlyle for about twice the price as the Park Central. I've been to both and I believe that the latter gives you more bang for the buck.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room facing the street. The interior room might be less expensive, but it isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you kindly for your amazing review. Your feedback is much appreciated and clearly shows that your escape with us was a memorable one. All of your kind words have been shared with our team members. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,964 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,961 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#322 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,721 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel New York

Property: Park Central Hotel New York
Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
#207 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Central Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing