We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but I've expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Central Hotel New York
Ranked #267 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, but I've expected more”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

When i've made the reservation for 5 nights at Park Central Hotel in NY I was very happy! The hotel isn't cheap, the price was very high. But t seemed to worth it. The photos of the hotel and its rooms are amazing!!
But when we've arrived, the hotel was just good, not amazing. The location is fantastic, could not be better! But with that the noises from the street were very very loud!
The room is good, the bathroom was small, but the bed is one of the best I've ever slept in.
If there is any special offer for the hotel, it is good. If you have to pay full price, as i've done, think a little bit more.

Room Tip: Be careful about your room. Some rooms are TOO noisy! I've asked to change it once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GustavoDarzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and are delighted to read you enjoyed both our fantastic location and comfortable beds. We are sorry to hear the street noise could be heard in your room. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    1,713
    663
    267
    209
See reviews for
1,477
1,352
169
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
205 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The location is great and the rooms of reasonable size, our room on the 12th floor was quiet and comfortable, but the bathroom was cramped (the door wouldn't open fully because the lavatory pan was in the way!).

There's no room service and no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms, a coffee shop provides drinks, pastries fruit and so on, but you have to fetch it yourself. We Brits looking forward to an early morning cuppa were disappointed!

There's a nice bar area and the restaurant serves a very limited (and pricey) menu - think up market pub grub not fine dining. The buffet breakfast is $35 each.

I thought the $20 a day facilities charge was over the top - OK it includes the Gym which I didn't use but otherwise it amounts to a charge for the WiFi and a $15 drinks voucher.

If you plan to stay for more than a night or two you might prefer a bigger bathroom and a different mix of facilities.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of June, weather was perfect. Reception was quick and very friendly, as very tired, arrived late after travelling from England.,and we were on the 3rd floor 315,and had no problems with lifts, or traffic noise, and the room was always a good temperature. Very modern room, and bathroom. with a great view out to the side street. The beds were so comfortable, could not get out of bed, with crisp cotton sheets,. The TV was huge, great for a late News catch up. The hotel was very quiet too, no noise from any other guests. had a lovely snack/bakery drinks shop too.and a lovely bar area, also quiet. One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in, Had no complaints at all. Would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjeanbernard123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here on a quick work trip to New York. Booked on hotwire it was quite a good value. There was nothing fancy about it, but it totally served our needs.
We spent no time in the hotel except to sleep and the beds were good, the shower was fine and the room was clean. The location was excellent for us. There is a Starbucks
a few doors down and lots of places to grab a bite on the way to work.
I would stay there again on a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misssdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and we are delighted to read we provided an excellent location and comfortable stay for you. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel was in the perfect location. Just between Times Square and Central Park. It was a quick walk from everything and great restaurants. They redid the rooms and they were spacious for a NYC room. Would def. go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our perfect location and spacious guestrooms. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed for 11 nights at Park Central last month and it was an excellent choice. Huge comfortable bed, and the pillows were so comfortable we were in bed early, and late getting up!.
Friendly staff, especially Georgina the lady who made our room every day, she was so friendly and helpful, and kept our room well aired, clean & tidy.
So well situated, we had a great time there, and would definitely return to this Hotel if ever back in New York.
Good value, the restaurant was very good for dinner, although we did find the restaurant breakfasts rather expensive, so we used the "Central Market" counter in the foyer for our cups of tea and blueberry Danish every day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and we are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

After a long day, either for fun at the museums, shopping or for work the Park Central will give you the rest and comfort you need to be back again on the streets. The hot ale was renovated about 4 years ago, giving it a minimalist cosmo look that gives you a nice place to have your base while in NYC. Elevators are a little bit slow, but you will be in a perfect safe location to explore the big apple, either by foot or public transportation, nearby the theatre district as well as most important museums.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you kindly for your amazing review and recommendation. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed our fantastic location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,081 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 468 in New York City
4,238 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#260 of 468 in New York City
6,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 468 in New York City
6,770 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 468 in New York City
17,467 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel New York

Property: Park Central Hotel New York
Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
#207 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Central Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing