We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but expensive, location is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Central Hotel New York
Ranked #267 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Fun but expensive, location is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

While the hotel was expensive, its location near Central Park and Times Square is incredible. Highly recommended for people wanting to get the typical touristy experience in Times Square. However, if you've already been to Times Square there are probably cheaper places you could get in other areas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathans248test2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jonathan S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our perfect location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon.

Best regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,551
    1,647
    641
    258
    201
See reviews for
1,423
1,302
161
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

At the time we went it was just getting renovated and it looked fantastic they're was lots of building work happening around us but could see it was emerging into a 5 star hotel. This hotel is in a great location around the corner from the museums and central park itself. The rooms were very tidy and everything was decorated nice.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Nick O,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed both our newly renovated décor and central location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon.

Best regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, close to everything and a couple blocks from Central Park. The dining room served a very lovely brunch and we had a very attentive waiter, an excellent welcome and excellent service overall . We were very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3966John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear 3966John,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

It has been three years in a row that I stayed at Park Central after staying at different hotels in the same area, and without any doubt the next stay will be there as well. In my opinion ideally located near Central Park you will find very nice, comfortable rooms in a hotel with friendly staff at a very reasonable rate.
Everything nearby, great to have your morning run in Central Park, good advice and help from the staff... Excellent!

Room Tip: My recommendation is to ask for a room some floors up (as from 10 for example) to have the minimum o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBultinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear JanBultinck,

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and I am so happy to hear that we consistently provide a wonderful stay for you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central on your next NYC adventure!

Best regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location between central park and times square. The hotel was clean, but the staff was not too friendly. Overall it was a good hotel and it was perfect for site seeing in New York for the first time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Mark P,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our perfect location. I am so sorry you did not experience friendly service during your stay. We strive to create an environment where our guests can honestly state they received unparalleled service, and to see we failed to meet both of our expectations is extremely troubling. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central and show you a truly memorable experience.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed 5 nights at Park Central, NYC. Room was small but, clean and fresh. Our room was boxed in - window view was of a brick wall, and more hotel rooms on both sides, but this made for a very very quiet room. :) Room did not have microwave, fridge, or coffee in room, that is probably typical of a New York hotel.
Location was fantastic. Within walking distance to Central Park, 5th Ave/Park Ave, Rock Center, Times Square, Theater District, Hells Kitchen, more! We put on the miles, but enjoyed being able to get around so easily on foot. Subway/Train located just across the street. Lot's of restaurant options nearby. McGees (Maclarens pub from How I Met Your Mother), just a block away - big hit for my daughter.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your marvelous experience with us. I am delighted to hear we provided a wonderful stay for your family. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon.

Best regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We couldn't have picked a better location for our New York stay. 5 minutes walk north to Central Park and 10 minutes south to Times Square. The Hotel is very comfortable, has a coffee shop in the foyer, polite and courteous reception staff. The elevator was a problem, slow and when we stayed only one was working, which meant a bit of a wait.
Our room was wonderful. Plenty of space (especially for New York hotels) and our bed was very comfortable. Tastefully decorated. We certainly would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 55th St are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbyt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Robbyt19,

Thank you for your fantastic review and recommendation. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our central location, comfortable guestrooms and courteous Team Members. I am so sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced by our elevators during your stay. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon.

Best regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,859 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,839 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#323 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,662 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel New York

Property: Park Central Hotel New York
Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
#207 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Central Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing