We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only because of the location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #71 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Disappointing... You'll discover that the "Sanctuary" theme is mostly a facade (with very very dark corridors). Great location, really nice continental breakfast, Jimmy, Lauren and Juan at the front desk were cheerful and fun, but all the other things are average... I don't think its worth the price they are charging...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

Although, I'm very delighted to know that you felt that our staff was above superior, I am sadden by the fact that you didn't fully enjoy your time with us. Many of our guests do enjoy all the variety of danishes, croissants, pastries, eggs, fruits, and yogurts, along with all the juices and coffee we provide. We always try to provide more than just your standard continental breakfast and are continuously looking for ways to improve.

We do try and create an atmosphere that is warm, inviting and tranquil which reflects the Sanctuary Hotel name. I'm sorry if you felt that it was dark. We will look into this and see if adjustments can be made.

We appreciate your feedback.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,062 - 3,068 of 4,141 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mauro T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Great service and nice, though very small, rooms. Breakfast was good, and the staff was very accommodating of dietary restrictions. Extremely well situated near Times Square, yet quiet and peaceful. The bar got a bit loud and busy, but there was no noise up in the rooms.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank DeborahD449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Thank you for posting a review about us on tripadvisor.

I'd like to apologize if the bar noise caused any inconvenience with your stay. We appreciate the feedback and hope that your next visit will be flawless.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

From the moment we entered the Sanctuary we knew that we had made the right choice of hotel.
The staff were amazing and so helpful ,a special word of thanks to Billy and Hughes .
The hotel lives up to its name and after a long day of sightseeing/shopping in the city it was a haven to retreat to and recharge ready for the evening
.The central location is a bonus being close to the theatre district, subways and many sights.
The king deuxe room was fabulous,really clean and stylishly decorated and had views onto the street without being noisy.
The inclusive buffet breakfast was more than adequate and a good start to the day.
The rooftop bar is great and has amazing cocktails and views
This will certainly be our New York hotel for future visits as it ticks all of the boxes - a special hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DACJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us. We appreciate all feedback, as we use it as a tool to constantly improve upon the services that we provide.

We hope that your next stay will be just as good.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hotel is in a great location. The service was great. The place was very clean. The rooms was very tiny for the price. You can stay at another hotel for less money and be more comfortable in your room. No room for your bags, no room to put your toiletries,

Room Tip: Rooms are very tiny for the price. If you do not like being in tight quarters then these rooms are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLiccion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback

I am sorry to hear that the size of your room did not meet your expectations. I'd like to point out that, we do have deluxe room types that may be more suitable for your needs. With the upgraded amenities and additional space, I trust that it would provide you with a more comfortable stay.

As with the majority of New York City hotels, the Sanctuary has standard rooms that some may considered small. However, We always ensure that we are competitively priced and offer additional value that most hotels charge for. We offer complimentary wifi, breakfast and gym passes to "Equinox". Along with our well known service, we believe that we offer a great value.

We would love to have you back with us in the future. Please contact me directly so that I may personally assist you with your reservation and ensure that you have a comfortable visit. I can be reached by emailing Jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is the perfect hotel for an overnight stay-cation! I booked a queen room for my husband's birthday. We started the evening with exquisite cocktails and tuna tartar at the rooftop lounge, which is trendy without being pretentious. Our room was tiny, as I expected, but had everything we needed to relax. Rain shower, soft and firm pillows, stocked minibar with snacks, duvet--no gross bedspread, dimable chandelier. The air conditioning wasn't quite cool enough at times and the "closet" was hilariously small, but I'm not complaining. This is not a place to spend a week, especially if you expect square footage. It's the perfect setting for a night away from real life.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelsquirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Hotel is very nice ... warm staff, comfortable surroundings ... rooms are small, but perfectly fine ... bathroom is not separate from room ... perfectly acceptable when you are traveling alone.

Lobby is intimate, mood lighting, great coffee bar ... but no where to go with a customer to have a meeting without background music.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

We appreciate the feedback and will certainly address your concerns in regards to the background music.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#84 of 471 in New York City
3,317 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#26 of 471 in New York City
2,454 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#107 of 471 in New York City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 471 in New York City
3,308 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £124 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing