We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #70 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I loved this place. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The decor was very cool, a bit on the dark side, but I don't mind. comfortable bed and awesome rain shower. Of course great location, we used the subway for most of our transportation, which is super close and accessible from the hotel. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed at during our 3 week trip in the states, but worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Sanctuary Hotel.

We try and offer great value with amenities such as, complimentary continental breakfast, free wifi and complimentary day passes to Equinox gym. Additionally, the decor is designed with the intent to create an inviting, warm and tranquil atmosphere that is representative of the Sanctuary name.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope that you will be back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,054)
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Hotel New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,981 - 2,987 of 4,055 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by work colleague and was brilliant . Times Square round the corner and so easy to get around to all the sights. Jacob and STAR team readily available to help at any time and when we showed a list of restuarants we had Jacob told us the best one and phoned ahead to book us for dinner . Reception and doormen always greeted us with a smile . Rooms are lovely I think my room was exceptional and was much bigger than most . Haven rooftop bar served cocktails before we went to a show. We were able to leave our luggage in safe room on last day and Jules organised taxi for airport whilst we shopped . Great team and fantastic hotel .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cars51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband & I visited New York as a treat for ourselves after my cancer treatment so were looking for somewhere special to stay.
We wanted a base that was modern and centrally situated but at a reasonable price and definately got what we were looking for. The hotel's name is very apt, it really was our sanctuary in the middle of the madness that is New York. Walk out the front door, turn left and at the end of the street is Times Square and, in fact, all the major Midtown sites are within reasonable walking distance.
The decor of the hotel is modern & chic and the dimmed lighting creates a relaxed atmosphere as soon as you walk in. We opted for a Superior King room & so glad we did. We caught sight of 1 of the smaller rooms & they're very compact. I read some of the other reviews critisizing the size of the rooms & after seeing them for myself, thought the negative comments were laughable - who on earth goes to NYC to sit in their hotel room? The Superior King gave us enough room to stow our luggage, relax when we needed to in the most comfortable bed and it was very clean and beautifully decorated. We got an excellent room for a great price and were exceptionally happy.
I would recommend making time to visit the rooftop terrace, Haven. We spent a great evening there after seeing a night on Broadway and their yummy cocktails are a must! The funky decor and good tunes playing made for a very chilled out night.
Another few things that stood out from other reviews were the lifts/elevators & the breakfast room. Re the lifts, there was only 1 operational & on the odd occasion there was a wait - but a small one of no more than a few minutes. Why are people in such a hurry that they can't afford a few minutes to patiently wait & if they've urgent business, use the stairs, the hotel is only 9 or 10 floors high! The breakfast room does only offer a basic continental breakfast - bagels, cereals, breads, coffee, juices etc but this is more than sufficient. A nice, light breakfast was a great start to the day as lunch & dinner were often 3 course events in some great eateries around NYC.
The highlight of our stay however, were the S.T.A.R managers, Jacob & Freddie. They helped us organise a fabulous night out on Broadway - securing us tickets for Wicked (10 rows from the stage!) and recommending & booking a gorgeous Italian restaurant, Azalea. Everything was almost ruined by our bank back home but Jacob went above & beyond for us to ensure we had the night we wanted. My husband overheard another guest speaking to Jacob, asking if he knew of a store where he could get a particular camera as a gift for his wife. Jacob asked him to leave it with him & after the guest had left, my husband heard him talking about what internet search results he'd found for stores stocking the camera! How many hotels offer that kind of service? Every member of staff we encountered was professional and friendly but Jacob & Freddie definately were the stars for us. (Be sure to keep an ear out for Freddie's laugh, fabulous :D) They really made us feel like we were VIP's and that nothing was too much trouble.
A huge thank you to The Sanctuary for making our dream holiday perfect x

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynsMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of us on tripadvisor.

Our staff make every effort to present each guest with a memorable stay and I'm very happy that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Knowing that you felt VIP treatment from us, puts a smile on all our faces. We hope that you return soon so that you can experience even more of what we have to offer.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The location of this hotel is super - less than a block from Times Square!  The decor is gorgeous, but it's the staff that makes this property really special.  Everyone was so friendly, and super-helpful.  Genuinely interested in making sure you have a great stay.  The room was beautifully decorated, although small (even by NY standards).  Breakfast was great!  All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattipuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about us.

During your next visit, I'd like to suggest our Deluxe rooms. With the upgraded amenities and additional space, I trust that it would make your experience even better.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I took my daughter to NYC to celebrate her 18th Birthday, therefore I wanted a special hotel. Our travel agent sure chose the perfect hotel to make my babygirl feel very special! From the moment we walked in, Jimmy and Lauren made us feel like VIPs. While we were unpacking and getting situated, Jimmy came to our room with a special treat and birthday card personally signed by the whole staff for the birthday girl. So thoughtful!

The location could not have been any more perfect. We were close and convenient to Times Square, the theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Plaza,... everything! Sweet Brandon helped us choose the perfect restaurant for a celebration dinner after seeing a show on our first night in the city. He was so kind and eager to help to make our stay special.

Our room was spotless and gorgeous! Our view was not amazing, but hey, It's New York City - I wasn't expecting an "ocean view". We had a building and fire escape out our window, but again... it's the city! We were extremely pleased with our room.

The breakfast was perfect. It had everything we could have wanted in the morning to start us off ready for our adventures in the city. I highly recommend The Sanctuary to anyone wanting to feel special. I've stayed in the chain hotels in NYC before, but nothing compares to this special little boutique hotel and the special staff running it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

We are delighted to know that we were able to make you and your daughter's experience so special. We make every effort to create a unique and memorable experience for everyone.

Jimmy will be happy to read your comments in regards to the services that he provided.

We sincerely hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Fantastic location 1 block from Times square. Less than a mile from Central Park. Only a couple blocks from Rockefeller Center. Nice continental breakfast in the am. The staff was kind and helpful. The rooftop deck is AMAZING ! The rooms are small but clean and sexy. Only slept in room and enjoyed New York. Spent 6 nights and did not want to leave. You cannot beat this place for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm happy to know that you were able to experience our new rooftop lounge. We appreciate your comments regarding your 6 night stay with us and hope that your next visit will be even better.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 468 in New York City
3,223 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,391 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 468 in New York City
409 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 468 in New York City
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £192 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing