We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #75 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Trieste
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during our last trip to New York in May. We chose it after seeing all the positive reviews given on trip advisor and because the price was quite attractive compared to other hotels in the same area. Moreover it included breakfast and wi-fi.
Pros: location, staff friendlieness and mood in the hotel
Cons: the rooms are lacking a little bit of extra space. If you do not care about having a very spacious room then it is ok. Breakfast could be improved.

Overall our experience was great and we really felt at home during our stay. Compared to the hilton new york which is huge and was much more expensive we really felt this hotel was a good value for our money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giovanin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us.

Here at the Sanctuary Hotel, we strive is to create a unique boutique property where personal attention is focused on each guest. Creating an atmosphere that is genuine, warm and inviting, we focus on the details of each individual.

Our goal is to not treat guests as if they were just another number (like how the bigger chain hotels might), but create a memorable experience tailored to each individual's need.

We hope that to see you in the near future and would love to welcome you back to your second home.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,597
    1,088
    243
    69
    27
See reviews for
632
2,067
144
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

we stayed in Sanctuary Hotel New York for 7 nights and liked it very much.
very nice hotel, very clean, very nice staff and great location.
room a little small (and no closet in room) but very comfy bed.
very nice bar on the roof
recomend it to everybody

Room Tip: don't take a room on the last floor since the bar is on the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara0640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband & I travelled to N Y for my birthday & on arrival found chocolates & a card signed by the staff members in our room which we felt was a nice touch, the room was lovely, a little on the small side but very stylish, the shower was masive i didn,t want to get out !!! Breakfast was fine very relaxing with tasteful music playing, The hotel was in a brilliant position a few minutes from time square. a few yards from the hotel is an irish bar called Langans, we stopped in there many a time as the staff are very friendly, the beers good too & my husband reckons the steak he had was one of the best. The doorman at the hotel called Julio was brilliant he looked up places for us & let us borrow his personel umberella when it started raining, he even made us a cup of tea, what a star ! We would definately return, the only thing that would have made it better still would be tea & coffee fascilties in the room instead of going down to the breakfast room & fetching one up.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexMrsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
We are glad that you chose the Sanctuary Hotel as the place to celebrate your birthday.

Julio will be very excited to read about your comments. He really puts forth great effort to go above and beyond for everyone.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to have you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I went with my sister and my mom and her best friend to NYC for Mom's birthday. Check in was friendly and easy and they brought us chocolates and a birthday card from the staff to her once we got settled into the room, which was really sweet.
Speaking of sweet we stayed in room 901 a.k.a. the Sweet Suite. Which was spacious and well-appointed. However, I dont think they were used to that room being used by four gals from Texas, mainly honey mooners i bet. We had to ask for sheets for the pull out couch, and then a comforter becuse they forgot to bring it with the sheets. There was an ice bucket in the room but you had to call the front desk to actually get any ice... Theere was a coffeemaker, but we had to keep calling down for one thong or another, coffee, mugs, creamer...but all that is by minor.
Breakfast each morning was tasty and the music wonderful, and the lobby is dark and hip, but not annoyingly so. However there's really no point in hanging out in the lobby's bar because Haven is now open on their roof. The view is pretty, so are the patrons, the food looked and smelled great but we didn't order any, we focused more on the cocktails which I can Assure you were awesome. The dj really needs to be mentioned really cool remixes made us want to dance and some others had already given in.
Overall a wonderful place to stay, cool, clean organized, well located, near to everything but not in the middle of it. Yet what makes this place is the staff, the doormen, the bar staff, the concierge. they are always there and ready to help you, a taxi, directions, making your dinner reservations at a place that you can't get a table on your own, and no joke, scold a lady for trying to carry her own bag. So if you make the trip, just do yourself a favor and turn your trip over to Jimmy and Jacob, the latter of which never steered us wrong once, especially on where to eat.

Thanks Sanctuary!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for writing such a detail review about your visit to the Sanctuary Hotel.

The staff really appreciate the feedback. Jimmy and Jacob will especially be delighted to read about your comments in regards to the services that they provided for you.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, we hope that you think of the Sanctuary.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hotel was really slick!!! Loved the style very sheik ~Everything about our stay was perfect! Hotel was super clean and staff was outstanding. S.T.A.R. and desk staff could NOT have done better. European styled rooms, very comfortable beds with reallllly cool showers. I also cant talk enough about the perfect location. THIS hotel is in the perfect location!!! Close to everything but still super quiet. Only 1/2 block away from the center of Times Square and the subway entrance. The rooftop bar "Haven" was also intimate with a great atmosphere and the continental breakfast was a nice feature. This hotel is also only a short walk from some great "local/non-touristy" restaurants. Caesar at the desk recommended a restaurant named "Room Service" (690 9th between 47th-49th) for late night Thai food~GREAT choice for us! This was THE SPOT! Great food, atmosphere and reasonably priced for a NYC/Times Square area restaurant. On the way there we saw a little corner pizza/salad joint (crave or carve near 47th and 8th) that we went back too for lunch the next day. Also great service and food and reasonably priced for lunch on the go. All I can say is we'll be back. Thanks for the GREAT stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for providing us with such great feedback.

Our S.T.A.R. team really does put forth great effort to meet every guest need. Many like yourself have commented on how wonderful our glass encased showers are. Along with the plush pillow-top mattresses, the goal is to always provide each guest with a room that is both comfortable and inviting.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Service, service, service....this is what separates the good from the great and the Sanctuary offers the absolute best from everyone that works there.

It truly is a great place to come back to after an exciting day in the city and the new roof top bar "Haven" is just beautiful. I absolutely love the place and will return again as soon as I am able. Ask yourself when was the last time that you stayed in a hotel in a major city and were greeted by your first name every time you saw a member of staff.

They took our special occasion and made it priceless. Special accolades to Jacob for being the very best concierge in the business!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick-from-britain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
I am happy to hear that you took the opportunity to experience our new rooftop bar Haven.

Our focus is to always exceed our guest's expectations and I am happy that we were able to succeed with you.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed at the Sanctuary in early June. The hotel is ideally located off of Time Square on a surprisingly quiet street. Rooms are small but that's par for the course in NYC. I was a little annoyed that for a 4 star hotel, the flat screen TV had hardly any channels. I realize I am in NYC and didn't watch TV much, however this TV didn't even have ESPN, and I wanted to catch some of the French Open. I was also annoyed that there were no vending machines or ice machines on each floor, so if I wanted ice I would have to call someone and then tip them because I didn't spend enough money paying for a room! Obviously, the hotel wants you to raid the mini bar, but with Duane Reede nearby, you can just buy a beverage or snacks there.

The best aspect of this hotel, and why I would come back is the service. The hotel workers were outstanding. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Another reason I would come back is the clean, wonderful stairwells. I don't like elevators, so if I can avoid them I will. I have never seen a hotel with such beautiful stairwells, usually they are dirty and dark. The continental breakfast was a very nice touch as well.

Your room key card powered the electricity in the room which I had never seen before, but that's how it's done in Europe.

As for nearby eats, there's a Mediterranean restaurant next door which I tried. The food was good, but I wouldn't recommend it if you are like me and hate when restaurants decide to keep the windows and doors open on a warm evening instead of putting on the air conditioning, so that you have to swat away multiple flies from landing on your food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skat8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such thorough feedback.

I'd like to apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with regards to having ice brought to you. We make every effort to maximize use of space. By having ice machines on the guest floors, we would limit ourselves in terms of space needed in the hallways to service guests and having a comfortable flow of traffic. We would rather happily provide the service for our guests and bring needed items such as ice to their room any time there is a request for it. I apologize if it made you feel an obligation to tip, as this is certainly not what our staff are trained to promote. The effort of the staff is to simply execute the service that is requested.

We appreciate your comments and I will be sure to share your great review with the staff. They will be delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,194 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#24 of 467 in New York City
2,374 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#71 of 467 in New York City
937 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#72 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing