We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #71 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Great hotel providing the comfort in the city. The room had everything I needed and provided a perfect opportunity to wind down. There is a roof top bar that came highly recommended but sadly I never got the opportunity to try it out for myself. The hotel is perfectly located for great restaurants, theatres and other attractions the city offers.

Special thanks to Julio who took the time to make sure I was well looked after during my stay.

The hotel comes highly recommended and I look forward to returning.

Many thanks for making this a perfect holiday

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,582
    1,084
    242
    69
    27
See reviews for
626
2,058
143
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

First the good stuff. Staff is great, very friendly and helpful. Location is great if you want to be in the heart of Time Square. Rooms are very small - but nice. Likely a nice stay if you're on vacation in NY.

I was traveling on business however and had several annoyances that would keep me from coming back. The 2 big problems were 1) the internet is unusably slow and 2) I couldn't get cell reception in my room. This really made it hard to get any work done. I ended up taking conference calls in front of the hotel on the street and sending emails or Skype was just not possible. Would be worth installing some cell coverage boosters and upgrading the network.

There were some other little nit-picky things that hurt my experience as well such as no iron in the room (dress shirt for business). TV wasn't working. The A/C in the room didn't really have cold air.

Room Tip: Inside rooms have no natural light at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FreqTraveler416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sanctuary. We arrived before check-in so the hotel secured our bags so that we could start exploring the city. The hotel is located in the heart of Times Square. It was the perfect location. We took the Greyhound Bus Tour and the pick-up location for the bus was just 1/2 block from the hotel. It's also just a few blocks from the theater district...a very manageable walk. Our room at the Sanctuary (king) was small, but this is to be expected in NYC. I was traveling with my mother and 13 year-old daughter and we all managed to fit in the room and in one bed! We were so exhausted at night that we all slept well. The hotels offers a free continental breakfast which included apples, oranges cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, sweet rolls, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea, OJ, and milk. My only complaint was that housekeeping never left enough clean towels. One day they left only one towel and the next day just two. We had to call the front desk daily to request more towels, which were generally promptly delivered. Why couldn't or isn't housekeeping informed of the number of guests in each room. Other than that minor issue, we had a great time. I would definitely stay at the Sanctuary again...I've already recommended it to a friend whi is traveling to NYC in August.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LGW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitória
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Great hotel! Wonderfull location! Best service! Everybody very friendly! Thanks for everything guys of the Sanctuary hotel!
Carolina Machado
Marcos Braga Machado
Leonardo Abou Kamel Machado

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolmachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed at the FABULOUS Sanctuary Hotel on Sunday, July 15th as my art is being shown on 13 major electronic billboards in Times Square for the month of July: http://www.artistswanted.org/site/news/times-square-moment-a-digital-gallery-featuring-vicki-dasilva-surabhi-saraf-and-elly-cho/ nightly at 11:57pm, so we needed a place to crash. From the entry to the exit our experience was met by courteous, attentive staff, a luxury design, a hip, modern NYC hotel that goes above and beyond to satisfy their guests. Can't wait to return!!! Thanks AWESOME SANCTUARY with cool art!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiDaSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

What a great boutique hotel in the theater district! The rooms are small but really nicely decorated (and let's face it---you're not living there. It's NYC--get out and take in the city). Everything was clean and in working order. Interesting open bathroom layout but it works well. They do have a very small room for the toilet (with the door closed, it felt a bit claustrophobic). The rooftop bar and lounge is lovely and relaxing. They also have another bar/lounge. They offer a free breakfast in the morning which was a nice added touch. They have no restaurant in the hotel but they are building one. It is close to the theaters, Times Square and tons of great restaurants. I would DEFINITELY stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really appreciate the feedback and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our restaurant will be opening this fall, and it will be an exciting addition to the property (along with our recent grand opening of our rooftop bar "Haven").

I hope to have you back soon so that you can experience even more of what the Sanctuary Hotel has to offer.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

İt was very nice hotel. A staff is friendly and helpful. İ recommend everbody . Location is great. The room is very clean and has a new furniture.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozi1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,176 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
2,360 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#70 of 467 in New York City
897 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
3,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing