We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #74 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cheadle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

For our Ruby Anniversary our daughters booked a few days for us in New York at The Sanctuary Hotel.
When travelling our daughters always seek out the best hotels and wanted the best for us, good choice.
What an experience, beautiful hotel, brilliant staff, great location.
Chocolates in our room, a bottle of champagne complimentary when they found out it was a very special time for us with card congratulating us on our anniversary.
Nothing was too much. Toiletries and towels topped up without any request for them, immaculate plush room with a very comfortable bed and quality linen.
Went up to the bar terrace area on the top floor and had mohitos. they were the best ever. We have tasted mohitos at various locations all over the world but The Sanctuaries were the best.
As we already had reservations for dinner elsewhere we did not eat here but wish we had done.
There is always a next time.
The hotel is so near to Times Square, it made our sight-seeing so much easier and hassle free.
We cannot name anyone out in particular for excellent service as they were all exceptional.
Even when we arrived at 9.45am our room was ready so we could go up freshen up and head out, therefor not wasting a minute of our precious time.
Breakfast was more than adequate with take out cups for water or a hot drink if needed.
Thank you once again for a memorable stay in your beautiful modern hotel with its fantastic location, tucked away but near by all that is going on in New York.

Room Tip: The room we had was below the bar terrace and a little of the sound travelled down, but now enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shashi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,582
    1,084
    242
    69
    27
See reviews for
626
2,058
143
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

It is evident that Sanctuary prides itself in getting to know its guests and the staff are very well trained to ensure a pleasant stay. From Kevin at The Main Door, To Christie at The Front Desk to Edna as the Room Attendant - all made my stay a true delight. What stood out also is that even before my stay, I ordered a parcel through AMAZON and Brandon McMillen offering S.T.A.R Concierge services dealt with this in a truly professional and courteous manner. Upon arrival and after check-in, the parcel was delivered promptly by Kevin the Bell man. I make mention of this as it starts to paint a picture as to how this hotel earns its name as a "Sanctuary!"

Furthermore, Sanctuary is located very conveniently in the heart of NYC. Its proximity to Time Square and access to at least three different subway stations is a huge advantage as this saves in cab fees which is a minimum of USD 5 for a ride. This plus Free internet Wi-Fi and Continental breakfasts, makes Sanctuary good value for money.

When I return on future visits to NYC, I now will not look at any other hotel unless Sanctuary is fully booked.

Needless to say, BROADWAY and its Theatre District is within a hugely entertaining walking distance across Time Square from THE SANCTUARY HOTEL.

Room Tip: Higher floor 9 is close to the in-house HAVEN club and guests should understand that music is played...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUDZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel the last April, overall we were very happy and I would stay there again! The location is excellent as it is very centrally and most attractions are at walking distance. The concierge was always helpful and knowledgeable. Also, all staff was nice and friendly. The rooms were small but stylish and always clean. I didn't get to see the roof garden back then but I am sure it must be wonderful. Breakfast room was always clean and we would be given a good boost for the day. The only reason I am giving 4 out of 5 stars is because when we were leaving we specifically asked to pay with our "passport debit card" and not the one we have given during our booking. Although, they have agreed they have charged anyway the wrong card. The next day we contacted them (mistakes happen) and they said they are going to refund us and charge the other card. A week later nothing has happened and only after we have talked with the manager have they sorted this out. In the meantime we have lost £80 because of currency rates. It did disappoint us as we felt that their service was not as good after we checked out. However, do not hesitate and do book there especially this is your first visit in New York!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanthi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel is gorgeous. THe location is perfect. The beds are extremely comfortable. My husaband and I stayed in a small queen room. The size was fine for two people, it didn't bother me at all. We stayed four nights. The only issue was you could hear anything going on in the hallway and everytime someone left their room it woke us up. The doors would slam. We didn't complain about it to management, but it is something you should be aware of if you are a light sleeper. Jimy was excellent for directions and recommendations. Brandon was especially helpful with our food requests. Overall, we had a great time in NYC, we just didn't rest as peacefully as hoped at night.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room where you can't hear everything going on in the hallway. We stayed on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJsgirl527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

I'm a happy to know you enjoyed the hotel overall. However, I'm sadden by the fact that this experience was tarnished by the noise level from the hallways. We haven't received complaints in regards to hallway noise, but we will certainly look into it.

If you have a chance, I would love for you to contact me so that we can further discuss this matter. Knowing which room you stayed in, would be very helpful for us to address the issue immediately. I can be reached at jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com or (212) 234-7000.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of our honeymoon in July for 3 nights. It had gained points before we even got there as we had emailed to confirm booking and received an email back from Brandon the concierge recommeding restaurants for dinner on our first night and asking if we Wanted him to book one. On arrival we were checked in by Hughes who was very professional and friendly. We were then shown to our room which was small but very plush! We had a card on the bed comgratulating us on our wedding and offering us a bottle of Prosecco. We had a minor problem with the safe in the room which was promptly fixed by the manager (at 8pm!). We then headed out to dinner to the restaurant recommended by the hotel and were shocked and impressed at how close the hotel is to Times Square! The restaurant the hotel sent us to was excellent and offered us champagne and free dessert as Brandon had told them we were on honeymoon. For the rest of the week we dined at restaurants recommended by the concierge Jake. On approaching him for advice he was very helpful and sent us to some excellent places.

Lots of reviews complained about the continental breakfast. We thought it was perfectly good and made use of it every day.

We drank at the roof-top bar on one occasion which was a great experience (if a little expensive). We can't stress enough how good this hotel is. Its decor is very modern and the service from all staff is excellent. We would particularly like to thank Brandon and Jake for assisting in making our first visit to New York so memorable. When we return to NYC we will definitely be trying to book the Sanctuary again and have already recommended it to friends who are going to NYC to get married in October!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALTGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Honestly, Sanctuary ranks up there as one of my most favorite places to stay in NYC. Everything about this hotel was great. Service, location, atmosphere, price..... I can go on. They staff truly get the mean hospitable. They rooms were very nicely done. I initially was put into the handicap access room by mistake. Without hesitation, they moved me in another room and were very accommodating. Its one of those places you check out from and know that you will be back there again. I definitely recommend it to anyone. They don't have a which honestly I could care less about and the restaurant was upstairs at Haven. The food was actually very good. They didn't have room service but I mean your in NYC, you would you want to stay in your room and eat. They only draw back was that they didn't have the espresso bar open when I wanted one, but if that's the only complaint I had, then you must realize how awesome of a place this was to stay. TRULY AWESOME PLACE TO STAY....WORTH EVER PENNY

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gevik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here in late April 2012, We were returning to New York for pleasure and have been to the city several times before.

Location is just perfect as a tourist and you have access to the subway and Times square is a stone throw away (100m) max

The hotel is very dark, in fact nearly black in places, but it was lit very nicely giving a sense of french boudoir.

The room was nice and modern with an open plan view of the shower area, which is a large walk in made off glass. So really this hotel only really works for couples as privacy can only be had in the toilet !!! The room was small, with no real view outside to talk off, but hey we wanted somewhere to sleep, nothing else.

We had an added bonus of free breakfast, hot coffee and rolls, some cerials and muffins and juice. With some fruit. Very good for nothing but if you left it much after 8.30 it was a bit of a job to find a seat.

The hotel had a bar area which closed at 11pm everynight ? very odd for a hotel but not a problem as you have loads of bars across the street.

Overall I really enjoyed the stay and its a great place for the tourist in New York.

Staff let us check out at 5pm on our last day as our return flight wasnt until 9pm, so very good service all round.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,178 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#20 of 466 in New York City
2,362 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 466 in New York City
2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#71 of 466 in New York City
897 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 466 in New York City
3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing