We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #75 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here for our 10th anniversary last weekend. I emailed in advance to arrange flowers and champagne and was upgraded to a deluxe king room for our special occasion. I thought that was a really nice touch but that was only the beginning of what was the best weekend away we have ever experienced. Jeremy, Jacob and Brandon were so helpful, knowledgable and all round nice guys that help us with anything we wanted to do. The hotel just has the feeling of pure relaxation with a twist of cool and funky. Every member of staff knew it was out anniversary and made the effort to congratulate us. I'm still smiling a week on and we WILL be back to visit everyone at the sanctuary very very soon. Thank you everyone so much for an amazing weekend with you all. Mr & Mrs Evans

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crasher1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
We are delighted to know that you and your wife enjoyed your 10 year anniversary celebration at the Sanctuary Hotel.

it was our pleasure to have had the opportunity to make things special for the both of you. Our goal is to always create a unique and memorable experience for everyone.

We would love to have you back with us soon, that you can experience even more of what we have to offer.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,597
    1,088
    243
    69
    27
See reviews for
632
2,067
144
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My daughter and I stayed in a deluxe queen room on the second floor for a two-night visit. We would definitely choose to stay here again. Excellent, safe location very close to 5th Ave shopping, theaters, Rock Center, etc. Linens and bed very comfortable. Attractive, modern bathroom. Consistently friendly and helpful staff. Complimentary continental breakfast is a plus. We were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSAR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm glad to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your recent visit. Knowing that you felt that the Sanctuary Hotel was the right choice, brings smiles to all our faces.

We would love to have you back for another visit in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I used to walk by this hotel on my way to/from Times Square. It was the Portland Hotel then, I thought it had a nice facade, but I was a bit afraid to go in, as it wasn't in the best of neighborhoods.
What a change! The hotel, while small, is excellently apppointed with great and helpful staff. Our room was a "Superior Queen" which doesn't say much because there isn't anything less than that. It was well priced though, and while small, bordering on tiny, it had plenty of room and was beautifully decorated. The linens were quite nice and, if requested, changed daily. Some, like me occassionally prefer to be non-conservationist while on vacation.
If you like midtown and the theatre district, this is the place for you. It is convenient to all subway and bus lines if you want to go somewhere else, and avoid taxi fares.
I would look at the size of the different rooms, and make sure, if you are a bit claustrophobic, that you will be satisfied with the smallest, if you are looking for price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your review.

We always appreciate when guests of ours take the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. I'm sincerely glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

I would love for you to come back and try our deluxe rooms. With the additional space and upgraded amenities, I believe that it would make your stay even more enjoyable. For reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I can be reached at jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is a great little boutique hotel literally seconds from time square and close to the shops on 5th which was exactly what I was looking for for this trip. Travelling with my Mum for her birthday and we were greeted with mini cupcakes and a signed birthday card from all the staff this was such a nice touch. Throughout the stay the staff were very friendly.
We had a great room and it was by no means small by NYC standards it had 2 very comfy Queen size beds in, an average size bathroom for NYC and just about enough room for all of our luggage and shopping with room to walk around it too.
Typically with an NYC stay we were hardly in the room and this room was way beyond adequate.
The bar on the roof was nice for sundowners or a quick cocktail and is an great plus point of the hotel.
Breakfast is basic but serves a purpose.

I highly recommend this hotel as a central, well priced high quality option in NYC!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saratogadxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed here on a 3 day business gig where I was out of the room more than I was in it: perfect location, amazingly quiet, even in a room facing the street, great bed, pillows and blankets (no velux here or foam pillows, YAY!), truly aiming to serve their guests. Great breakfast and loved the free pass to Equinox...the best gym in NYC. Lovely appointments, especially black out shades!

I would request a few more things, starting at the front door: there are no banisters or railings...and if you are a bit limited in movement like I am, you like a bit more support. This can't be hard to do, and when I commented on this to the evening doorman, he just laughed.

And in the room: how hard is it to have a coffee maker? And if I were trying to work, the high desk and chair would not have worked for me, particularly because there are no outlets nearby. And lastly, the room is very "bed-centric", i.e: there is really no where else to sit except for on the bed. I was in a deluxe king; having a comfortable arm chair would have been great.

I would stay here again if I wanted a true retreat space, not a working space.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of some of our amenities such as complimentary passes to Equinox gym and breakfast. Knowing how much you enjoyed your time with us, brings smiles to all our faces.

We are always looking for ways to improve our product and services that we provide. I will certainly look into your suggestions.

We would love to have you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Great location at Times square, found the hotel very dark, sometimes couldn't see the floor button on the lift! Room very compact although OK. There was no information about the hotel and its services which we thought was a bit odd, and - being English we were very disappointed in there being no tea or coffee making facilities! Hotel staff efficient and helpful - particularly one of the concierges.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nattyLeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
I‘d like to sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The staff put so much effort in providing our guests with a memorable experience and it saddens me that we were not able to do that with you.

We pride ourselves in being an authentic Manhattan lifestyle boutique hotel, with European inspired hospitality. As you see from our reviews, guests appreciate that we simply strive to provide them with intimate, genuine and personalized service, creating a "home away from home" atmosphere.

Our rooms are designed with the intent of maximizing use of space and most important…comfort. Should you ever decide to give us another opportunity in the future, I would suggest our Deluxe rooms. I feel that with the additional space and upgraded amenities, it would be a more suitable accommodation that you are looking for.

Additionally, the design of not having coffee machines in our rooms, is because we believe in "bringing service to our guests". At any time that guest would like coffee or tea, we will deliver a fresh cup to their room.

Rest assured, that i will certainly address my staff with the issues and concerns that you pointed out. I would love the opportunity to further discuss this matter with you and can be reached at jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I was nothing less than pleased. From the time I arrived I was greeted by smiling and pleasant staff. This includes the doorman, to front desk staff to concierge. I was very pleased with all the small personal touches (cupcakes, as we were celebrating our anniversary), the ambiance, the continental breakfast was a nice surprise ( it was fresh and continually being replenished), the bed and bedding was very comfortable, the gym experience was also amazing. I have stayed several places in NYC and I have to say I will definitely come back to Sanctuary. Please be sure to applaud all staff working on February 24th and 25th, 2013. They take pride in what they do. Thank you.

Warmest regards,
Melissa

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,194 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#24 of 467 in New York City
2,374 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#71 of 467 in New York City
936 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#72 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing