We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed at this boutique hotel to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday. Great location, trendy hotel and decor and best of all excellent service. The concierge, Jacob, particularly went the extra mile time and time again and we could not have been more grateful to him! The only thing worth noting is that we booked an upgraded Queen room while the King room is REALLY worth the upgrade as we were not impressed with the Queen room we were initially given. When trying to mend this situation the front desk staff was not as helpful or accommodating as we would have liked, however Jacob was really able to turn our whole trip around by his kind gestures. Also loved the touch of the attentive bellmen/doormen who welcome you back each time as well as anticipate when you are departing and arriving to get the doors for you. Last time I stayed there the hotel itself stood out, our more recent stay, the excellent service was the highlight.

Room Tip: The Queen rooms can be quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanandRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and I'm glad to know that you chose the Sanctuary Hotel as the place to celebrate your husband's 30th birthday.

It's always great when guests of ours take the time to provide us with feedback. We utilize this feedback as a tool to continuously improve upon the services that are provided.

I'm happy to know that Jacob was able to turn things around for you and accommodate your visit in the best way possible. We would love to welcome you back in the near future to your new home away from home.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,583
    1,084
    242
    69
    27
See reviews for
626
2,059
143
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I am normally, not accustomed to writing reviews. However, because I had such a great experience during my recent stay at the Sanctuary, I felt that it was very deserving. Being an officer of the NYPD, I frequent the Times Square Area daily. It wasn’t until recently that I discovered that this hotel existed even after walking by this block every day. From the outside, you would not think of it as a hotel and more of a high end restaurant or lounge. They do not have huge signs, advertisements or any indication that they are a hotel like a Marriot or Hilton would. They are definitely a discrete retreat, which is something they seem to pride themselves on.
Beyond the grand entrance of the large wooden doors is a real hidden gem that takes you away from the hectic streets of the very high traffic area. I have to say that living in NYC, being welcomed by such a friendly staff is very refreshing. Everyone seemed to genuinely care.
I stayed here in preparation of providing support for the area due to a potential storm that was about to hit the area. No matter how the outside streets were, being at the Sanctuary was like being in a different world.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby47st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for providing us with such great feedback regarding your stay.

Guest satisfaction is one of our main focuses and we are delighted that our friendly staff exceeded your expectations. The goal is to always present our guests with a genuine and welcoming atmosphere.

We do indeed pride ourselves in creating a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We would also like to thank you and NYPD for doing a great job in keeping our city area safe.

We would love to have you stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburg, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We have not arrived yet but the STAR Managers have been wonderful! Answering stupid questions and giving us helpful tips to make our trip to NY wonderful. Hopefully the hotel will be as excellent as it's customer service!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cavin5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
We are excited to have you stay with us and thank you for providing us with feedback even before your stay. We look forward to your wonderful experience at the Sanctuary Hotel.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This was my first stay at this boutique hotel and it definitely was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is ultra-clean, the decor is nice and the service was outstanding. The proximity to Times Square and the theater district makes it very convenient. Service was excellent - everyone was extremely helpful. The rooms have everything you need, but they are small. If you can trade location, cleanliness and service for size, this is a perfectly reasonably price option.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CesarG297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit.

Our rooms are designed with the intent to maximize use of space why creating a warm and welcoming environment. For your next visit, I would suggest our deluxe rooms. With the upgraded amenities and additional space, I believe that it will provide and even more enjoyable stay for you.

We would love to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Recently spent four nights at The Sanctuary and, as usual, it was great. The location is fantastic - in the heart of midtown next to Times Square and the theater district; close to Rockefeller Center, 5th Avenue, and the subway. It has a great design aesthetic, lots of amenities, and every member of the staff is super friendly and professional. The rooms are small, but are ingeniously designed so they are very comfortable (with high end linens and bath products, flat screen TV and free wifi). The rooftop bar was fun - and would probably be even more enjoyable when the weather gets warmer; and the continental breakfast (included) is also very nice. While I was there they had a Superbowl Party, and although I did not have reservations, when the owner found out I was staying at the hotel, my niece and I were invited to attend and given a very nice table. I have stayed here before and would definitely stay here again - and have recommend it to several friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AhVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
We appreciate the feedback and thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us. The owners will be happy to read about your comments as well.

We hope to have you back for the next Superbowl party...or maybe sooner.

Best Wishes,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We were greeted warmly on every occasion by the kind and efficient staff. The beds were comfortable and the modern bathroom was small but adequate. The central location and close proximity to Times Square and the subway made it easy to get around. Breakfast was a bit dull except for the fresh orange juice which was fresh. We would have appreciated a kettle to have been able to make tea and coffee but the chilled water at the front desk was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are constantly thinking of ways to improve the services that we provide for our guests. This is why feedback is so important to us. We appreciate your comments and look at alternatives to spice up our complimentary breakfast.

We would love to have you back with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Just got back from a 5 night stay at The Sanctuary and it genuinely really exceeded all my expectations. The hotel is in a fantastic location (right in the heart of midtown right by Times Square) and is a really cool place with great rooms and a great rooftop bar. However, it was the STAR managers that really set this hotel apart from others i've stayed in, in terms of delivering phenomenal customer service and going above and beyond to ensure that my girlfriend and I had a truly memorable trip to NYC.

STAR directors Jacob and Brandon were absolute experts in recommending amazing places for us to go (tailored to our tastes/requests) and they were attentive and really helpful at all times - We really want to thank both of them for making our stay so perfect and we'll definitely be back again soon. It was so refreshing to receive personalised customer service of this standard. The hotel is really cool but there are lots of cool hotels in NYC, what sets this apart is the team of people who work there and their commitment to delivering world class customer service. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your recent visit.

We pride ourselves in our S.T.A.R. (Service Tailored to Any Request) philosophy. Our goal is to always create an experience that is unique and memorable to each individual. Knowing that we were able to accomplish this with you brings smiles to all our faces.

I will certainly share your feedback with Brandon, Jacob and the rest of the staff. We would love to have you back for another visit and be that home away from home for you.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,181 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#20 of 467 in New York City
2,362 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#70 of 467 in New York City
899 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
3,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing