We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to NYC - excellent stay and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #73 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit to NYC - excellent stay and hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Arrived at the sanctuary hotel on the 22nd February for 6 nights this was our first time in New York but will not be our last., we checked in with no fuss and from that moment on, the staff were very helpful and always pleased to help. A special mention to Brandon and his help whilst we were trying to navigate the streets of NYC , even the taxi driver ( paddy) booked by the hotel were first class. A fantastic city & experience that we will not forget, made better by the sanctuary hotel and its staff.
Thanks
Dave and Sally Roffe

Room Tip: Back and Side rooms are quieter than the front, but the ones on the front are a higher standard. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for providing us with such great feedback regarding your visit.

We pride ourselves in creating a memorable experience for all our guests. Knowing that we were able to do that for you, brings smiles to all our faces. I will definitely share your comments with Brandon and the rest of the staff.

We hope to see you again soon for another wonderful stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,560
    1,068
    240
    68
    26
See reviews for
615
2,036
141
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We (two adults, five children aged 10 to 17) stayed at the Sanctuary from March 2nd until 6th. On the plus side: great location, just a few yards away from Times Square; very comfortable; perfectly clean; very nice restaurant on the roof; very good service, very good music (mostly jazz) playing. On the minus side: quite dark (I have severe myopia, not very good in darkness): rooms relatively small (but be aware that my 14 year one son is 6 foot tall and is a lineman in his high-school football team); breakfast might have been more elaborated (but at least, it was included). But above all, the major reason why we are so enthusiastic about the Sanctuary is named Brandon: a young actor, working at the reception, who provides expert touristic advice. This guy takes the pulse of the City. No, the chinese pulse (you know, what acupuncteurs do, while palpating your wrist forever). Despite the fact that we are reasonably familiar with NY and we had brought very good touristic guides, none could provide advise that personalized and that constantly updated. Overall, a great experience, particularly if you rely on Brandon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

We appreciate the feedback and will certainly work on the suggestions that you pointed out. Here at the Sanctuary, we continuously work on creating a better guest experience. Our goal is to always create a unique and memorable stay for everyone.

We would love to have you back for a another delightful stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

It's really an amazing experience in this hotel. Absolutely I will recommend my friends to stay here also. Just it's breakfast is not so good. The place is so good, very near timesquire. I did
love this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HUANG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Knowing that you will recommend us to your friends is one of the biggest compliments one can receive.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

It's my second night at the Sanctuary and I have t say it was the best choice I could have made. Love the Hotel, the staff is fantastic, they make this hotel what it is. The location is great, roof top lounge fun. Coming back to this Hotel for sure next time in NY!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
We appreciate the comments and are glad that you are enjoying your time with us.

We hope that you enjoy the remainder of your stay and would love to welcome you back in the future to your new home away from home.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

This was my first time to NY and I can promise that it wont be my last and apart from NY being an amazing city The Sanctuary had a lot to do with it.

The service is first class. From meeting me in my cab to the refreshing hot towel i was offered on check in to freshen up.
My room was lovely. i think i was given an upgrade as we had a private bathroom more like a wetroom as it was massive. the shower was amazing i could have stood in there all day. our room was also quite big. Going by other reviews i was expecting a shoe box but was plesently suprised with the amount of space we had.

The bed was something else. Super comfortable sooo nice. The room was cleaned every day with the option of having the linen changed daily.

The breakfast was lovely. we had breakfast every morning before heading out to see the sights and it filled me. always enought to pick from and im a fussy eater.

The location was perfect right in the heart of times square so handy to everything.

Always a warm friendly welcome when coming back to the hotel. the wifi was a real bonus as it enabled me to keep contact with everyone back home in ireland without spending a fortune on phone calls.

All in a fab hotel that i will certinly be visiting again :-):-):-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOUGAL_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Sanctuary Hotel.

We truly appreciate when guest of ours take the time to provide us with great feedback. Many guests such as yourself enjoy the warm and inviting comfort of our rooms, especially the rainfall showers that you are describing.

We make every effort to tailor the experience for the individual needs of each hotel guest and I'm delighted to hear that you felt that our service was "first class".

We hope to have you back with us in the near future for another pleasant visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed at this boutique hotel to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday. Great location, trendy hotel and decor and best of all excellent service. The concierge, Jacob, particularly went the extra mile time and time again and we could not have been more grateful to him! The only thing worth noting is that we booked an upgraded Queen room while the King room is REALLY worth the upgrade as we were not impressed with the Queen room we were initially given. When trying to mend this situation the front desk staff was not as helpful or accommodating as we would have liked, however Jacob was really able to turn our whole trip around by his kind gestures. Also loved the touch of the attentive bellmen/doormen who welcome you back each time as well as anticipate when you are departing and arriving to get the doors for you. Last time I stayed there the hotel itself stood out, our more recent stay, the excellent service was the highlight.

Room Tip: The Queen rooms can be quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanandRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and I'm glad to know that you chose the Sanctuary Hotel as the place to celebrate your husband's 30th birthday.

It's always great when guests of ours take the time to provide us with feedback. We utilize this feedback as a tool to continuously improve upon the services that are provided.

I'm happy to know that Jacob was able to turn things around for you and accommodate your visit in the best way possible. We would love to welcome you back in the near future to your new home away from home.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I am normally, not accustomed to writing reviews. However, because I had such a great experience during my recent stay at the Sanctuary, I felt that it was very deserving. Being an officer of the NYPD, I frequent the Times Square Area daily. It wasn’t until recently that I discovered that this hotel existed even after walking by this block every day. From the outside, you would not think of it as a hotel and more of a high end restaurant or lounge. They do not have huge signs, advertisements or any indication that they are a hotel like a Marriot or Hilton would. They are definitely a discrete retreat, which is something they seem to pride themselves on.
Beyond the grand entrance of the large wooden doors is a real hidden gem that takes you away from the hectic streets of the very high traffic area. I have to say that living in NYC, being welcomed by such a friendly staff is very refreshing. Everyone seemed to genuinely care.
I stayed here in preparation of providing support for the area due to a potential storm that was about to hit the area. No matter how the outside streets were, being at the Sanctuary was like being in a different world.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby47st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for providing us with such great feedback regarding your stay.

Guest satisfaction is one of our main focuses and we are delighted that our friendly staff exceeded your expectations. The goal is to always present our guests with a genuine and welcoming atmosphere.

We do indeed pride ourselves in creating a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We would also like to thank you and NYPD for doing a great job in keeping our city area safe.

We would love to have you stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#57 of 468 in New York City
3,158 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 468 in New York City
2,349 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 468 in New York City
868 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is a boutique luxury lifestyle design hotel conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. A hidden gem with very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Continental Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing