We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #71 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay in central Manhattan. Near to all of the wonderful attractions, cafes and restaurants. From my first arrival and the happy welcome by the Reception staff, to my last goodbye I felt at home and well looked after. I stayed in a superior room and although small it was perfectly formed and more than adequate. Loved the chandelier, gave a touch of opulence. After a night at the Philharmonic I thoroughly enjoyed my supper on the roof terrace. Even though it was very cold outside, the inside was toasty and pleasant.
I will happily recommend this hotel far and wide.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deeannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We are happy to know that you had the time to experience our rooftop lounge Haven. We strive to provide our guests with the very best options and services possible.

Knowing that you feel taken care of to the very last minute of your departure, brings smiles to all our faces.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,582
    1,083
    242
    69
    27
See reviews for
625
2,058
143
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The friendliest and most helpful staff I have experienced. They made our stay so enjoyable and were great for handy hints and places to go.

Great location right next to Times Square with no street noise or lights. Rooms were small but had everything we needed and clean and comfortable.

The only downside was the breakfast which was limited but for a quick bite to eat before sightseeing it was OK.

Overall a great stay and trip and would return for the friendly staff alone! :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLHearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Comments from our guests is very important to us. We utilize the feedback as a tool to improve upon the services that are provided for our guests.

We are always looking for additional options to improve on our complimentary breakfast and will continuously do so.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

All the members of the staff at Sanctuary deserve Congeniality awards.
Always a smile, a friendly word and pleasant conversation.
Free and generous continental breakfasts served in a modern room with every morning news show beaming from the TV screens on the walls, (don't worry, no sound)

Rooms are smallish, but hey, it's NYC. Perfectly adequate, very quiet, bed was extremely comfortable, water pressure perfect, bathroom amenities, all there.

Perfectly located about 5 blocks from Rockefeller Center. I worked out at the Equinox health club (Sanctuary has an agreement with this lovely club) at Roc Center every day. Very nice place to work out with an entire floor of equipment, so many classes, full service.

I would definitely return to Sanctuary. Terrific bang for your buck at this beautifully maintained, lovely little hotel. So many personal touches. Kudos to the staff and management.

Room Tip: My room was in the back and was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for providing us with such wonderful feedback.

We appreciate the "congeniality award". The staff strive to provide our guest with an interaction that is warm and genuine. Our goal is to create an experience that is unique and memorable.

Many guests such as yourself, enjoy our partnership with the luxurious Equinox gym. We feel that the facilities is reflective of the high standards that we set forth for our guests.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, please think of the Sanctuary Hotel

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyubertsy, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed for 1 night only. Location & service was superb! It was our second hotel in NY - way much better than Double Tree by Hilton. Great leather design, mini-bar, complementary breakfast, lime water at the reception

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val_Guylish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to post a good review about your recent stay.

Although your visit was short, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it.

We would love to have you back, so that you can experience even more of what we have to offer.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Such a wonderful experience for my daughter and me as we celebrated her 20th birthday in the city! Everything about this hotel was splendid from the hospitality at the front door on arrival, to check-in, to help from the concierge, to arrangements for our transportation to the airport on departure. The staff was delightful upon every encounter. The room was perfect for the two of us and the bed was so comfy! We loved the trendy and stylish decor of the hotel and the special attention we received from the staff. Without a doubt, we will stay here on our next visit. What a jewel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sanctuary Hotel as the place to celebrate your 20th birthday. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us.

We hope to have you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Fantastic experience!! Front desk staff extremely helpful and friendly. We were able to check in early and they held our bags while we toured city after check out.
It was my wife's 40th Bday and they sent up a card signed by all staff and also added a box of specialty chocolates.
Bedroom was a little small, but very comfortable and the bed was fabulous!
Modern touches everywhere. Very close to Times Square and Rock Centre. NHL store is next door for those hockey fans.
Will return!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms look out over a building and have no natural light as a result. Can feel a little dark, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cactus222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We are excited to hear that you and your wife enjoyed her birthday celebration with us at the Sanctuary Hotel.

We feel that it is the personal touches that create the special moments for our guests and we are glad that it meant something to you.

We would love to have you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed from 7th to 12th March with my eleven year old daughter, and we both loved it! We had a Queen superior room, and it was spacious with a nice interior. The bed was great! The staff was also amazing, always a nice word and a smile. My daughter was really impressed when the waitress at Haven remembered her from the night before and what she liked to drink, and wanted me to say Alicia (we think the name is) is very nice and pretty! We ate at Haven two nights, and the food was very good. We only had breakfast one morning, we are late sleepers so missed it the other days, but we enjoyed that as well.

The location was also very good, we walked everywhere and only indulged in a taxi after a shopping spree in SoHo. I will recommend this hotel to friends, and if I ever go to NYC again I will definitly stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingeraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We are delighted to hear that you and your daughter had such an enjoyable stay.

Alicia and the rest of the staff will be so happy to read about your comments.

We hope to have you both back for another return visit in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,173 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
2,360 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#70 of 467 in New York City
897 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
3,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing