We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!!!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

As a single female traveller I was delighted with the location of this hotel, just off Times Square and radio city hall. Also a short walk from my favorite building, grand central!
The staff where amazingly helpful and gave me plenty suggestions of places to visit and places to eat. All in all it's a great hotel and I would 100% stay here again and would highly recommend it!!
Thank you to all the wonderful staff!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikipoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
I'm delighted to know that the staff were so helpful with their suggestions. We make every effort to ensure our guests leave with a memorable and unique experience, and I'm glad that we can do that with you.

We hope to have you back for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,547
    1,058
    236
    68
    25
See reviews for
611
2,019
141
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sancuary for our 10 year wedding anniversary trip to NYC. The hotel is simply beautiful--very well appointed with a modern vibe. The room is lovely and cozy. The bed was SO comfortable and the shower was amazing. The location was perfect and the customer service is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fantonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
I'm happy to know that you and your husband had such a wonderful time with us. Thank you for choosing The Sanctuary Hotel as the place to celebrate your anniversary trip.

We hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Sanctuary Hotel New York pulled out all the stops when I requested romance for my girlfriend and I celebrating our one-year anniversary.
They did everything in their power to fulfil my wishes, including our favourite drinks waiting for us in our room (which they gave us a complimentary upgrade on) and a wonderful restaurant reserved on our behalf! The S.T.A.R. service provided by Jacob Schwartz was nothing short of stellar. He gave me detailed information regarding his initial, most romantic restaurant recommendations, offered to call us a cab when it looked like we might be running late for dinner and was kind, courteous and complimentary during every interaction we shared with him.
Even though one of my requests could not be carried out, Jacob more than made up for it with a bottle of Cava at no extra charge! We also received complimentary glasses of prosecco at the hotel's wonderful, heated rooftop bar.

There was a nice view of the streets below from our room on the sixth floor and noise was not a problem in the slightest. The "peekaboo" shower is also plenty spacious with great water pressure and the bathroom amenities (shower gel, shampoo) are far beyond the standard hotel fare. We slept soundly in our exceedingly comfortable king size bed and the included Wi-Fi/breakfast buffet the next morning was great too - just the icing on the cake of such a phenomenal stay.

Although designed with couples in mind, I'd recommend the Sanctuary to anyone looking for an ideally located, beautiful haven of a hotel that puts other similarly priced places to shame.
With gorgeous design from the front doors to the top floors and superb, stylish service to boot - you can't go wrong with a stay at the Sanctuary.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe king. You'll really appreciate that extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your recent stay at The Sanctuary Hotel.

We are excited to know that you felt we were the best place you have stayed in New York. Comments like these brings smiles to all our faces.

We would love the chance to welcome you back to your new home away from home in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonial Heights, Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Here's the thing about the Sanctuary--it is a remodeled version of a much older hotel, the Portland Square Hotel. The facade appears all-new and the lobby is very new and elegant. The concierge desk even has a well-apportioned bar. Dark and plush with modern gas flames, the lobby sets the stage for a fun NYC stay with soft alternative rock as the auditory motif. Staff were incredibly friendly, eternally young and hip.

The hallways belie the history of the hotel; in true hipster fashion these have been left unremodeled and evoke the earlier history of the typical NYC hotel with iron bannisters and tiny elevators. The rooms themselves have been completely redone in modern minimalist design. I stayed in a single Queen. A very large big-screen TV hangs across from the bed, which is 2.5 feet from the door. The room was very small, but comfortable. Refrigerator full of drinks and a mini bar with snacks for sale, only slightly inflated in cost. There was even an "adult intimacy kit" for sale in the minibar in case you happen to meet someone in the bar upstairs, I guess. The bathroom is very modern. If you travel with someone, I hope it is someone with whom you hold no secrets as there is very little opportunity for privacy except in the commode.

The HAVEN Bar and Restaurant is tented in the winter, and open in the summer. The Sanctuary is only 9 floors so the rooftop bar is lower than most of the buildings around it. This offers a very cool city view that you won't see every day. The staff are again extremely engaging, young and beautiful. The DJ plays an eclectic list of alt-rock with a twist; when I was there every song was not the "usual" version but rather one done by another band or an unplugged version. It was very entertaining, actually.

The food in the restaurant is off-the-hook; the Sanctuary Chicken may be one of the best Burre-Blanc chicken dishes I've ever had, and the Beef Carpaccio was amazing as an appetizer.

Other perks: a breakfast buffet that is included in the price of the room, and easy walking to Times Square and Rockefeller Center. I was working at SiriusXM and the walk was less than a minute to the studio.

Cons: small rooms, mattress maybe overly firm. If you need extra space, book the suite.
Pros: very clean, no bedbugs, friendly staff, hip environment, great food, comfortable, modern yet heritage at the same time (nice balance).

They're doing some renovation now, but it appears cosmetic and in the breakfast area mostly.

Room Tip: Book a suite if you're claustrophobic or just need some extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LobstaJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We always appreciate when guests take the time out of their busy schedule to provide us with such detailed feedback.

I'm delighted to hear that your overall experience was such a great one. We would love to have you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A Very well run hotel-perfectly located for walking to the theater of 5th Avenue.
All the Staff were very friendly and professional and went out of their way to make our stay a positive experience. We required a room change and there was NO hesitancy from the folks at the front desk.
Breakfast was much more than continental- Great Coffee!!
Our room was very adequate ,quiet and clean. The Concierge personnel we talked with were quite helpful and had excellent suggestions
We are planning to return when next we visit Manhattan

Room Tip: Stay in rooms away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We hope to have you back in the near future for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel is very pretty. The rooms are pleasant. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The only problem I experienced was the street noise. Our room was incredibly loud with people fighting on the street ALL NIGHT. And then, on a Sunday, there was street construction that started at 6am. I completely understand that the City has to improve their roads at all hours. What I don't understand is why, at the price The Sanctuary charges, don't they have sound proof windows. Because I am a light sleeper and the noise was non stop, I will not stay at this hotel again. The roof top garden was really, really pleasant. The breakfast was not so great but included in the room rate so it was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenandblue63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Our stay in the sanctuary was amazing. The rooms are incredibly small, but they were clean and luxurious. I don't like the fact that the bathroom was in the closet, but it is central in regards to location and comfortable

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittLynn617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
I am happy to know that your overall experience here at The Sanctuary Hotel was great.

We hope to have you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is a boutique luxury lifestyle design hotel conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. A hidden gem with very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Continental Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing