We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Maryland
1 review
“Good value for the location”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Can't beat the location for proximity to the big travel spot. Clean, well appointed modern rooms. All staff was professional and customer orientied. Parking was easy and across the street. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJohnsonMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,547
    1,058
    236
    68
    25
See reviews for
611
2,019
141
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The room was beautiful, all the people who work in the hotel strive to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful, lots of different foods to choose from.
I loved the free drink that was offered on arrival and the restaurant on the top floor. It was so convenient to have it there and the food was top

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
I'm glad that you had the opportunity to experience our rooftop restaurant Haven.

We would love to have you back for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moosic, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed only one night, but I'd definitely go back. Cool boutique hotel with a great bar on top! The rooms are tight, but well laid out. The service was friendly & hotel was very inviting! Walkable from the theater district as well as Times Square. Overall, we enjoyed our brief stay there & look forward to returning!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria_wheatley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are delighted to hear that you found us cool.

We would love to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Sanctuary. The location for the theaters and subway entrances is a 10 out of 10 -- all were just a quick walk away (less than 9 minutes, one 4 minutes). You walk into the hotel to a cozy warm, soft jazzy ambience. The staff is always smiling very Friendly, Efficient and accommodating. The rooms are small and we liked the layout with no wasted space (easy to find the wc in the pitch dark!) -- yet the shower is huge and gorgeous. The decor is understated elegance with a lovely large crystal chandelier that crowns the room. We weren't looking for a "breakfast restaurant" but a nutritious one that's quick yet sufficient so we can get in and out and on our way and we were very satisfied: an array of cereals (one gluten free that I especially appreciated), granola, Greek-style yogurt, fresh chopped strawberries, breads (one gluten-free), bowls of bananas & oranges, bagels & cream cheese, delicious scrambled eggs, boiled eggs as well, orange juice, an assortment of milks-sweeteners and the coffee was Excellent. The friendly breakfast staff kept things humming with clean tables and food and drink replenishing. We liked the way the Sanctuary handles television: you can watch or ignore the multiple giant screens for the major networks side by side and all in word display, no sound. The breakfast room is large with soft muted lighting to assist your transition to waking up to begin the day. We also really liked the Haven restaurant on the rooftop -- we visited twice and found the food to be very pleasing -- and oh, the great views! The "beat" of the place is Fun and Very Lively yet comfortably cozy. The staff there were also very friendly and accommodating and the service very efficient. The Sanctuary is true its name -- it did achieve the feeling that out of the chilling winter weather and high-energy super bustling activity of The City, you had a sanctuary to come back to each day, and you looked forward to your return. We felt enveloped in the warmth of the place -- a sense of "being home" -- safe and happy.

Room Tip: They have suites if you prefer a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
I am delighted to hear that we were able to create a new home away from home for you. We pride ourselves in being a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Should your travels bring you back to New York City, please think of The Sanctuary Hotel. We would love to have you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Very central location in midtown one minute from times square. Average quality rooms but quite small. Breakfast poor and limited restaurant services during the day. No gym. Staff helpful. Expensive, could not be described as good value.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dromsoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is the ONLY hotel I will EVER stay in when I visit NYC!--and the BEST value for your $!! The staff are so friendly, and can't do enough for you, the hotel is perfectly located right in the heart of Times SQ, and is spotlessly clean, cozy and swish. Free wifi, free breakfast, and the beds are just heaven sent! What more can I say? It is a true "Sanctuary" in the City. If you want a first class experience--STAY HERE!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are excited to hear that your first class experience at The Sanctuary Hotel was so memorable.

As the weather gets warmer, we would love to see you back with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I telephoned this hotel prior to our visit explaining both my sister and I were disabled and needed mobility scooters to get around. We were assured that was not a problem as the hotel is suitable for disabled people and they even recommended 'Big AppleMobility Corp' for scooter rental. We followed their recommendation and rented the scooters, which would be delivered to the hotel. On our arrival we discovered that there were steep steps on entry. We began then to think, how would it be possible to use mobility scooters? Do they have another entrance/exit with a ramp? After all, we were told there would be no problem with scooters. What LIARS they were. There was no ramp, the doormen (who were lovely) had to physically lift the heavy scooters in and out, the hallways were so narrow that the scooters could get through and no more leaving no space to turn to get into the room. The lift could only take one scooter as it was too small. The room we were given was so small it didn't even have a window let alone room for a scooter. We had to upgrade to a bigger room as I felt clostrophobic. Stay away from here if you are disabled, they'll take your money and leave you to get on with it. DO NOT EVEN GO NEAR there recommended 'Big AppleMobility Corp' as both the scooters were delivered with so many faults we were almost killed. They broke down after 5minutes and had to be returned. They could not give us replacements as they didn't have any more, instead they would try and repair them and it would be the next day before we could get them back. They refused to give our money back so we were stuck in the hotel room. The next day, after numerous phone calls and threats, we still never got the scooters, but they did give a full refund that evening. That was no good to us as we were only there for two days and were leaving in the morning, so our two days stay in New York were spent stuck in a hotel room. The hotel refused to take any responsibility for recommending the mobility company and after much discussion with the hotel manager, Jeffrey Poon, we were offered another two nights stay at a reduced price of $300 over and above the money we had already paid. We refused his offer as our trip had already cost us over $800. We left the hotel in tears. We would never advise anyone to stay at the Sanctuary Hotel. If this is how they treat disabled people how would they treat able bodied people. They lied to us and took our money under false pretences, and we wish someone had had our experience and written a review because we would never have booked. There are plenty of other hotels in this area to choose from so BEWARE of this one.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Charlotte400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit.

We are very sorry that your experience did not meet expectations. The staff make every effort to provide the best services possible for all our guests and I must apologize that we were not able to do that for you.

However, I'd like to clarify that it was the hotel that contacted this company to obtain your full refund when they were not willing to do that for you. We made multiple phone calls to management and ownership before they finally agreed to reimburse you.

Please understand that certain issues are not within the hotel's control, but we still make every effort to assist our guests in every way. Besides obtaining the full refund for you, you requested that the hotel provide you with 2 additional complimentary nights, otherwise you would express your displease with all review sights. As a gesture of goodwill, we offered a very discounted rate of $150 a night for the next 2 nights on top of the complimentary upgrade that was already given to you upon check-in.

We pride ourselves in being an authentic lifestyle boutique hotel, with European inspired hospitality. As you see from our reviews, guests appreciate that we simply strive to provide them with intimate, genuine and personalized service. We wish that the Sanctuary Hotel could be the ideal choice for everyone. However, we understand that different guests have different needs, and that is why we put so much emphasis on creating a stay that is tailored to each individual.

Your concerns will certainly be addressed and efforts will be made to ensure that our future guests do not share the same opinion.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is a boutique luxury lifestyle design hotel conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. A hidden gem with very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Continental Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing