We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,228)
Filter reviews
4,228 results
Traveller rating
2,719
1,143
267
71
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,719
1,143
267
71
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barhaven rooftoptimes squarenew yorkcontinental breakfastrooms are smallbagelsdoor staffcupcakesour honeymoonbrick wallperfect locationconcierge servicerockefeller centerfantastic hotelbig applearound the corner
Filter
Updating list...
2,112 - 2,117 of 4,228 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were looking for a good location near the Gershwin Theatre that wasn't too expensive.We only stayed one night but the minute we walked in the door the whole staff could not do enough for us.The room was very compact but efficient,nicely decorated and comfortable.We really couldn't here outside noise.There is a little banging on the inside but you understand where it comes from when you close the bathroom door or the shower door.They close super easy and tend to get away from you.The location to times square is terrific.The La Masseria is a wonderful restaurant a few blocks up that the concierge recommended to us.They whole staff was wonderful.We will definitely stay there again without question.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

We sincerely appreciate the great feedback.

Every guest to us is a VIP and we like to roll out the red carpet for everyone. We hope to have you back for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

From the first minute to the last minute this was the best hotel I have stayed in.
We arrived just after 3pm and had to wait around 30 seconds for our room as it was still being cleaned but were offered a complimentary drink of wine/whiskey or beer. From that moment we knew this hotel was something else!
Seconds from Times Square the location is perfect.
All the staff are so helpful and I must mention Jimmy. He set up a few thinks for me during my stay and was always pointing us in the right direction for food and things too do.
The only hotel I will be staying in when I return to NYC.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigmcgeefella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us. Feedback such as yours, brings smiles to all our faces.

We hope to have you back with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Sanctuary is a fantastic place to stay! Staff is extremely friendly and ensures that your needs are met in a timely manner. Excellent location to Times Square, Roc Center and Central Park. Will continue to stay here for work and when in town with my kids.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your great feedback.

We appreciate when guests take the time to write a review and would love to continue to welcome you back to your home away from home.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Highly recommended. It was a true Sanctuary from the hectic Times Square just around the corner.
Great bed and lovely shower made it the perfect spot to rest and recuperate after sight-seeing around New York.
Times Square, Broadway, Museum Of Modern Arts, 5th Avenue, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building, Grand Central Station - all easily in walking distance. Great location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Perfect location for Times Square, Rockerfeller centre, Radiocity music hall etc etc! The staff are amazing and always willing to go the extra mile with a smile! I love the oriental décor. The concierge, Jimmy, was so helpful and knowledgeable. On my birthday, a lady from the front desk helped my husband carry up coffee so I could have breakfast in bed! The bar on the roof is amazing! For winter they enclose it and hang snowflake decorations. The restaurant food was amazing. Both the lamb chops and the bouillabaisse were amazing! Loved everything about this hotel. The room we had was small, but we did fit in fine with 2 large suitcases. Next time, I will definitely book a larger room. The bathroom makes good use of limited space.

The only downside is the church bells from the church next door disturbing your sleep in the morning, but there isn't anything the hotel can do about that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SashSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us.

Many guests such as yourself, enjoy the transformation of the rooftop restaurant during the winter season. It is our winter wonderland.

I'm glad that we were able to exceed your expectations and hope to have you back with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews