We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,227)
Filter reviews
4,227 results
Traveller rating
2,719
1,142
267
71
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,719
1,142
267
71
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barhaven rooftoptimes squarenew yorkcontinental breakfastrooms are smallbagelsdoor staffcupcakesour honeymoonbrick wallperfect locationconcierge servicerockefeller centerfantastic hotelbig applearound the corner
Filter
Updating list...
2,010 - 2,015 of 4,227 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

First time stay, and was amazed with the service, atmosphere, and all of the staff. This is now my new stay when my husband and I have a weekend trip! They made this birthday unforgettable!! THANK YOU!! Shout out to the twins! Rooftop bar is a must for cocktails!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sosa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We thank you for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback. Knowing that you had an "incredible" stay at The Sanctuary Hotel, brings smiles to all our faces.

We would love to see you back with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I loved my stay at the hotel. As soon as you walk in it feels like a sanctuary, dim lights, nice music, fireplace, nice seating. The staff is super friendly and willing to help as soon as they see you. When we got up to the room it was so beautiful. We stayed in a Deluxe King and I couldn't ask for anything better.
The location of the hotel is great because its down the block from the main Times Square avenue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms. We can't wait to have you back for another visit!

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We sought a sensible and good hotel near Time Square and that we found with the Sancturay Hotel. The hotel is small and homey. The room, toward the backyard, was quiet and customizable small. We stayed four nights and slept well in good beds. Cleaning was satisfactory. The reception desk is fancy and smart design, which I liked. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. Hotel has its own restaurant/bar on the roof. Unfortunately, it was very cold in NYC, so we did not get full enjoyment of these opportunities. The breakfast is very simple and not very exciting.
Access on the Internet are present, but I would like the link works directly (smarter) and not through the hotel's own site. It is annoying.

Room Tip: Rooms toward backyard are quieter
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gunnar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your experience here. We are sorry that New York City was too cold for your liking and hope to see you back again during the warmer months for an even better visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This place really is a sanctuary in the heart of New York City.

My husband and I recently visited New York for 4 days on our honeymoon, and the Sanctuary was a great base to view the city from. Literally 200 yards away from the hub of Times Square and Rockerfella Center, it was a great central spot from which it was really easy to get around from.

The staff were fantastic, really helpful - and from what I can gather, really helpful before we even arrived. My husband had been liaising with the STAR concierge to arrange dinner reservations and make special plans, all of which were executed fantastically. Staff recognised us and were eager to assist us with whatever we needed which was great!

The restaurant on the top floor was great. In the morning, the breakfast buffet had all anyone would need to set themselves up for the day - take-away coffees included! There was porridge, eggs, toast, bagels, croissants, cereals, jams - fantastic for setting you up for a days sightseeing.

In the evening, the vibe changed into quite a funky venue, with live music and the food looked great - we should've stayed to eat here one night - but there's so much choice in New York, we thought we should venture out!

The rooms really were tiny, but completely functional and well designed too. They were serviced every morning, and were clean. The beds were comfortable, the room was quiet and dark, but very, very dry! We needed large bottles of water to keep us well hydrated. As it was really cold outside, the heating was obviously whacked up inside, which meant dry mouths in the morning.

Overall, good accommodation with great staff in a great location makes the Sanctuary a hotel I would recommend to others, and return back to in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beck533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It's comments such as yours that help us continue to strive for excellence.

We take great pride in the design and attention of our rooms. Knowing that you enjoyed and appreciated it, let's us know that we are moving in the right direction.

We thank you for staying at The Sanctuary Hotel New York and will take your comments into the highest of consideration. We would love for you to return again and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed at the Sanctuary with my Mum and brother for four nights and can honestly say it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. From the first moment when Julio helped us from the taxi, all staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is stylish and very comfortable. Haven rooftop bar and restaurant was a great experience both for breakfast, where the choice of food was delicious and evening for dinner, food equally delicious . The atmosphere was both lively and relaxing. The location is excellent, so close to Times Square, Rockefeller Centre etc. We have only been home a week and are already planning our next visit! Love it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEVERLEY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

We are happy to know that you had such a wonderful experience with us at The Sanctuary Hotel.

Feedback such as yours is always appreciated and we would love to see you back with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews