We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic NYC Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #75 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Skokie, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic NYC Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at Sanctuary Hotel for one night on April 5th while in town to see a show. The service was fantastic, the rooftop restaurant/bar was beautiful and my suite was amazing. It is just steps from Times Square, the theater district and lots of shopping and restaurants. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly with everything from late check out to suggesting restaurants to making up the pullout couch. The only drawback was the noise from the street until late into the night, but, I guess that is just NYC. I will stay here every time I go to NYC!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,597
    1,087
    243
    69
    27
See reviews for
632
2,066
144
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The service was fantastic and the location was very convenient to the theaters and shopping. The room was on the small side, but very updated and comfortable. We stayed on the third floor and had no problem with noise from the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our goal is to always provide each guest with a unique and memorable visit.

We would love to see you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

First time stay, and was amazed with the service, atmosphere, and all of the staff. This is now my new stay when my husband and I have a weekend trip! They made this birthday unforgettable!! THANK YOU!! Shout out to the twins! Rooftop bar is a must for cocktails!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sosa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We thank you for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback. Knowing that you had an "incredible" stay at The Sanctuary Hotel, brings smiles to all our faces.

We would love to see you back with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I loved my stay at the hotel. As soon as you walk in it feels like a sanctuary, dim lights, nice music, fireplace, nice seating. The staff is super friendly and willing to help as soon as they see you. When we got up to the room it was so beautiful. We stayed in a Deluxe King and I couldn't ask for anything better.
The location of the hotel is great because its down the block from the main Times Square avenue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms. We can't wait to have you back for another visit!

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We sought a sensible and good hotel near Time Square and that we found with the Sancturay Hotel. The hotel is small and homey. The room, toward the backyard, was quiet and customizable small. We stayed four nights and slept well in good beds. Cleaning was satisfactory. The reception desk is fancy and smart design, which I liked. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. Hotel has its own restaurant/bar on the roof. Unfortunately, it was very cold in NYC, so we did not get full enjoyment of these opportunities. The breakfast is very simple and not very exciting.
Access on the Internet are present, but I would like the link works directly (smarter) and not through the hotel's own site. It is annoying.

Room Tip: Rooms toward backyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gunnar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your experience here. We are sorry that New York City was too cold for your liking and hope to see you back again during the warmer months for an even better visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This place really is a sanctuary in the heart of New York City.

My husband and I recently visited New York for 4 days on our honeymoon, and the Sanctuary was a great base to view the city from. Literally 200 yards away from the hub of Times Square and Rockerfella Center, it was a great central spot from which it was really easy to get around from.

The staff were fantastic, really helpful - and from what I can gather, really helpful before we even arrived. My husband had been liaising with the STAR concierge to arrange dinner reservations and make special plans, all of which were executed fantastically. Staff recognised us and were eager to assist us with whatever we needed which was great!

The restaurant on the top floor was great. In the morning, the breakfast buffet had all anyone would need to set themselves up for the day - take-away coffees included! There was porridge, eggs, toast, bagels, croissants, cereals, jams - fantastic for setting you up for a days sightseeing.

In the evening, the vibe changed into quite a funky venue, with live music and the food looked great - we should've stayed to eat here one night - but there's so much choice in New York, we thought we should venture out!

The rooms really were tiny, but completely functional and well designed too. They were serviced every morning, and were clean. The beds were comfortable, the room was quiet and dark, but very, very dry! We needed large bottles of water to keep us well hydrated. As it was really cold outside, the heating was obviously whacked up inside, which meant dry mouths in the morning.

Overall, good accommodation with great staff in a great location makes the Sanctuary a hotel I would recommend to others, and return back to in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beck533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It's comments such as yours that help us continue to strive for excellence.

We take great pride in the design and attention of our rooms. Knowing that you enjoyed and appreciated it, let's us know that we are moving in the right direction.

We thank you for staying at The Sanctuary Hotel New York and will take your comments into the highest of consideration. We would love for you to return again and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed at the Sanctuary with my Mum and brother for four nights and can honestly say it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. From the first moment when Julio helped us from the taxi, all staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is stylish and very comfortable. Haven rooftop bar and restaurant was a great experience both for breakfast, where the choice of food was delicious and evening for dinner, food equally delicious . The atmosphere was both lively and relaxing. The location is excellent, so close to Times Square, Rockefeller Centre etc. We have only been home a week and are already planning our next visit! Love it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEVERLEY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We are happy to know that you had such a wonderful experience with us at The Sanctuary Hotel.

Feedback such as yours is always appreciated and we would love to see you back with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,190 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,374 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#72 of 467 in New York City
935 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#71 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing