We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #61 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Sanctuary is only a block from Times Square, putting us right in the middle of things, especially access to the metro which we used every day. It is also just 2 blocks from Rockefeller Center. Staff were excellent and helpful, the room was beautiful and well designed, with a good-quality t.v. and nice selection of channels. Breakfast offered a variety of items, all delicious, with helpful staff on hand. It is also quiet at night, as 47th Street is not a major artery. We would definitely book this hotel again. It is a bit pricey, but you get good value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonh141969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit.

Comment such as yours is always appreciated and we would love to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,530
    1,049
    235
    67
    23
See reviews for
611
1,998
140
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We visited NYC for a "long week-end" with my Wife. Sanctuary Hotel was a perfect place for our stay: To see the sights, feel the city center vibe and do the shops - and not waste any time commuting. This is why I gave it the full 5 stars, it was so conveniently located plus a haven for relaxing after (or even during) a heavy touristic day. The staff were very friendly and active to help, especially Jacob the concierge.

Room Tip: Street noise - location very close to Times Square - is of course an issue during the night (party p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaakko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I am glad to hear that the staff was able to create such an amazing experience for you.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a wonderful time in NYC celebrating my daughter Kim's 21st birthday! The Sanctuary Hotel was a fab place to stay for location, comfort and friendliness. The staff were amazing, all very helpful. A little surprise Kim arranged at the start of our stay did not work out as planned, however, Jacob more than made up for it by personally delivering our special champagne and fruit in true "butler style" to our room on our last night so a big thank you to Jacob for everything he did to make our stay so memorable!! We would certainly not hesitate to recommend the Sanctuary Hotel and would love to return at some point in the future!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We are so excited to know that you and your daughter enjoyed your special celebration at The Sanctuary Hotel. Feedback such as yours, brings smiles to all our faces.

We would love to see you back with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The staff was wonderful, and it's a very pretty hotel. The hotel was sold out except for a block of rooms from GetARoom. They turned out to be on the 2nd floor (not the hotel's fault). It was noisy. My room was right over the bar/restaurant, and the music went on until about 2. The room was incredibly small, with the shower and sink facilities one step from the bed. Despite its small size, it was difficult to regulate and maintain a steady temperature, and the air conditioning, which was loud, was constantly on and off.

The shower is treacherous. I held on for dear life the entire time because it was so slippery.

The bar on the ground floor is very pretty and quiet. The rooftop bar was very lively, but set up more like restaurant than a place to relax and have a drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GabrielleB0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We spent four nights here in celebration of our Ruby Wedding Anniversary, along with two friends also celebrating their 40th. In the room was a lovely card, personally signed, inviting us to enjoy a bottle of Cava whenever we wanted - a very thoughtful gesture on The Sanctuary's part.

The staff on reception and the concierge(s) who advised us on various directions, tips etc were second to none.

We were extremely impressed with the ambience of this small hotel and it's location is perfect. As New York first-timers we all felt that we had the best time, enhanced by the lovely staff at The Sanctuary, so a big thank you to you all.

Particularly loved the "Zen" atmosphere with all the statues and it was literally a "sanctuary" from the hustle and bustle of central New York.

Thank you to everyone who made our trip so special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueT190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We appreciate the wonderful feedback and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to your Sanctuary.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights with an 18mnth baby boy. The service at this hotel was amazing. Being met at the front door and having bags carried to room as we checked in was really helpful especially when you are trying to juggle checking in and a fidgety baby! offering a drink was a nice touch and made you relax after the journey.

The room was clean and well laid out, as other have said space is a premium but then you are right next to Time square. A suggestion to the hotel would be to raise the beds a little so you could store cases/bags under the bed. Others have said about noise from the roof/street. I booked the old fashioned way on the telephone and asked for a quieter room as we were travelling with a baby. We were given a room on the 7th floor at the back. This means you don't get a great view but it was quiet. You can hear the faint noise of the city and rooftop but not enough to disturb sleep. A really nice touch was to arrive in the room and find the travel cot was already setup. Meaning we could if needed put the baby straight down.

We tested the S.T.A.R service straight away by asking if a chair could be removed from the room to give us more space, this was done quickly and without any hassle.

Breakfast for us was in the new Tender restaurant downstairs, I'm not sure if they still do breakfast on the rooftop which I think would have been nicer. As others have said they do need to invest in another toaster or one of the rotary type ones as you do have to wait sometimes! A note for parents travelling with little ones, at the moment the hotel doesn't have a high chair. It is something I have suggested they invest in and I'm sure it will happen :)

We ate a couple of times on the Haven rooftop, it's a really nice place to have a meal and the food is excellent. The staff were great with the baby, keeping him entertained while the parents finished their meal! It's also a good place to go for a drink after a busy day of sightseeing.

The décor and feel of the hotel really do set it apart from others, I can see why some people have said it's a bit of a nightclub vibe but it's also very cool :)

Special mention must go to the reception and door staff who were really helpful, lifting the buggy(stroller) up the steps when we came back and answering our many questions. The four nights were the end of a two week holiday in America and have left us with really great memories. The staff made staying in New York effortless, suggesting things we could see and do.

Check out was simple and the hotel stored our bags while we enjoyed our last morning in the city, we didn't even have to move them from the room. A taxi to the airport was booked for us and was waiting when we got back.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in New York.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 7th floor at the back, nice and quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us at The Sanctuary Hotel.

We always appreciate great feedback and will continue to make every effort to provide our guests with the very best. I'm happy to know that the staff was able to create such a memorable visit for your family...especially the little one.

We will surely address your suggestions and would love to have you back with us again.


Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

A really lovely hotel, highly recommended.
Great location, only two streets back from Times Square but not noisy at all.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with plenty of recommendations.
We didn't eat there but the food looked exceptional and the roof top bar was always busy with a great buzz.

Only negative was the room was fairly small, but we were barely there to be fair.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_angel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Our staff will be so delighted to read about your comments. We strive to provide the very best for our guests and focus on the details of service. Our rooms are designed with the intent to maximize use of space, while providing an ambiance that is both inviting and warm.

We would really love to see you back with us again so that you can try out our delicious menu in our new restaurant, Tender.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,116 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is a boutique luxury lifestyle design hotel conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. A hidden gem with very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Continental Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing