We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in room 900”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #75 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I would have really liked The Sanctuary if it weren't for the fact that my room (900) is so near to the rooftop bar that the blasting club music makes it feel like I'm trying to sleep in the middle of a party. The staff kindly gave me their last pair of earplugs, but c'mon - it's not ok to charge for this experience.

Room Tip: Avoid room 900 in the summer months - unless you want to party all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shnappaave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

I'd like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with the Rooftop noise. We strive to provide all our guests with the Sanctuary experience that they deserve and it's disappointing to know that we were not able to do that for you. Rest assured that I will certainly address the management team and make every effort to prevent future guests from experiencing this issue.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to make it right. Please do not hesitate to contact me for reservations. I can be reached at Jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,865 - 1,871 of 4,161 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

I went to NYC to see Hedwig and the Angry Inch (which is a must see by the way) and stayed a night here. Not only was the staff incredibly helpful, but we felt so safe here. You actually needed a key to use the elevator and that made me feel incredibly secure. The room was on the small size, but very comfortable. If you are in NYC the size of your room should make no difference because you are only there to sleep to be honest. Stay here, you won't regret it. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We are excited to know that we were able to create your "best NYC experience ever".

The staff make every effort to provide our guests with the best possible services and we are glad that we could to that for you.

We would love to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just completed our 3rd stay at The Sanctuary. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in NYC. We enjoy every aspect of this hotel, but especially the great staff. They all make your visit a perfect one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gattoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We are always delighted to welcome back repeat guest at The Sanctuary Hotel. Our goal is to always create that home away from home experience.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Somewhat small rooms, but location, service and the rest of the "package" more than make up for it. Front desk and door staff very welcoming, roof-top perfect for the afternoon (and after my stay even open for lunch :) )

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ossi1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

We would love to have you back for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had the most fantastic time whilst staying at the Sanctuary. Lovely clean room, excellent customer service. Reception desk staff, concierge and front door staff went over and above to be friendly and give advice when needed and arranged activities and transport eg helicopter flight and transfer back to airport with complete ease. Good basic complimentary breakfast included. Minutes away from all of the action of Times Square. The rooftop bar is a must to have a drink at after a busy day. If we return to NY I would definitely return to the Sanctuary

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We always appreciate when guests take the time out of their busy schedule to provide us with such great feedback. The staff will be excited to read about your comments and we all hope to see you back with us again for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great staff, clean hotel and steps away from all of the action. Hotel front desk staff is very friendly, professional and efficient. Seconds to check in, seconds to check out. Front door staff, extremely friendly and always willing to share a recommendation. You must try the roof top bar! This will be our go to hotel for our NYC trips going forward. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Corey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your comments.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is the second time I have visited the Sanctuary Hotel and yet again it exceeded my expectations. I visited with my partner, parents and brother and it appears they made every attempt to locate our rooms opposite each other (they even upgraded us!!) which made our 5 night stay much better and convenient. The staff were very helpful suggesting nice restaurants to eat at and arranging transport. The room was clean, nicely decorated and the bed was incredibly comfy. The breakfast was nice but limited and I was very pleased to see that they had gluten free bread. The location, PERFECT. The food at the Tender Restaurant was one of the best meals I have ever had. It is a MUST if you're going to stay at the Sanctuary. Overall, it was a fantastic break and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterNoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 5 night stay at The Sanctuary Hotel. Our goal is always to provide our guests with the best possible experiences.

We are also excited that you had the opportunity to visit our new restaurant, Tender.

We look forward to having you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#25 of 473 in New York City
2,473 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#86 of 473 in New York City
3,336 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#102 of 473 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#24 of 473 in New York City
3,400 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £142 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing