We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Satisfied!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #73 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Bottom line, this place is great!

My trip is social business, and this environment is perfect. I had booked a queen room, but was offered a free upgrade to a king room on the 8th floor (top housing floor, rooftop restaurant is on the 9th). The room is all I could ask for and more.

The staff are professional (yet friendly) and very helpful.

I really can't imagine a better New York experience at this price point. I will happily stay with the Sanctuary on my next visit to New York!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SmokyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you "can't imagine a better New York experience". We strive to provide the best for our guests and we would love to see you back with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,803 - 1,809 of 4,100 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Take time from work to write this message, The Sanctuary Hotel is the best hotel i have stayed in and i have begin in a few. The staff from top to bottom in the hotel were excellent there not a bad word to say about them. Had food on the rooftop Haven and it was to die for. Location of the hotel is quiet good aswell and it close to Broadway, Rockefeller Center, and has a subway station at the end of the street, 2 min walk Times Square. I stayed for 6 nights and i will be back. Lisa and John would like to Thank all the staff at the hotel for making our Holiday a very good one Thanks.
Ps be back Next Year

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnfarrell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for writing such a great review about your stay at The Sanctuary Hotel.

The staff will be so delighted to read about your comments. They strive to provide all our guests with the very best and I'm glad that we could make your experience memorable.

We hope to have you back for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our stay at the Sanctuary was only a short one night stay - but it was wonderful. From the minute we walked up to the stoop everyone was so helpful. We were greeted and directed where to go by the lovely door man/bell hop and the young lady at the front desk was equally as pleasant and helpful. Check in was a breeze and afterwards they showed us to our room. Our bags were delivered promptly, and we hit to town to find lunch. I wish I could remember the lunch place because I would plug it here - the sangria was TO DIE FOR and so so inexpensive.

The hotel was central to exactly what we (okay, I) was there for - BROADWAY. Just a short walk to the Gershwin Theatre :) and because it was so close we were able to go up to the rooftop bar for our complimentary glass of champagne before the show. We had some cocktails too, but I didn't particularly care for mine. Too sweet, though maybe I would have liked them more during spring or summer. Just didn't have many winter drink choices.

I left my very important, way over priced prescription sunglasses behind and being winter I didn't realize it until weeks later when I was preparing for a trip to the islands. I called and even though I couldn't remember my room they were able to confirm they had them! All I had to do was pay shipping and handling and I had them in time for my trip.

I definitely would recommend it, as it is a great place. The only negative thing I have to say is that the lobby smelled a little too strongly of cinnamon for my liking, but I think that is a small price to pay for excellent quality and service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We are excited to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience with us.

Should your travels bring you back to New York City, please think of The Sanctuary. We would love to have you back for another "spectacular" visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at the sanctuary for 3days with some friends hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, hotel is very stylish if a little dark. Rooms are quiet small which is common in New York however the leatherette bed frames make it even smaller and I walked into them all the time. The roof top terrace is a great place to meet for a drink, only downside is all the space, tables and seating are reserved for private parties or after work drinks. We could only stand at the bar so only went once had one drink and left, it would be nice if residents could have somewhere to sit and enjoy a drink. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We will certainly look into other alternatives of accommodating our hotel guests when our rooftop lounge Haven is busy.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had been researching New York Hotels on TripAdvisor to plan a first time trip to New York with my daughter. I called the Sanctuary inquiring about the hotel, explaining that this was our first time visit. The reservations specialist, Steven, helped me above and beyond!!! It is a rarity these days to have excellent customer service. First time impressions can really make a difference. To be honest, the Sanctuary was not even on the radar, but after speaking with Steven and all wonderful people at the Sanctuary, I knew that my daughter and I would be taken care of during our visit. The decision was a no brainer! We are so excited to come to the Santuary!

And, as for you Steven...you deserve a raise...you are awesome!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank e5c4p3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for the great feedback. It very rare that a future guests of ours take the time to write such a review before they even arrive.

We can't wait to have you and your daughter stay with us. I am confident that we will be able to create a memorable experience. See you soon.


Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had the pleasure of spending 10 days at The Sanctuary. Everything about this Hotel was fantastic. The location was perfect to the Theatre District, Subway, Rockefeller Center and an easy walk or MTA trip to anywhere we wanted to go. The Reception staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The concierge staff, Jimmy and Brandon were a wealth of local knowledge and had access to those difficult to acquire Theatre Tickets. The doorman were always happy to see us and made us feel welcome. The Sanctuary certainly lived up to its name when we would return after a busy day. Walking along 47th Street we would see the red carpet and know peace and quiet and welcoming staff awaited us. We would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to our friends and hope to return some day.

Room Tip: Sorry no pool. Clicked by mistake. Choose a Deluxe room. A little bigger than standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are so delighted to know that your 10-day experience with us was such a fabulous one.

We appreciate your wonderful feedback and would love the opportunity to welcome you back for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

From start to finish our day was delightful. Markees at the door greeted us with a smile and helped us in. Once inside the appearance of the decor and staff was so inviting. The front desk agent Jena informed us of all Sanctuary had to offer and how we can make sure our stay was everything we wanted. We enjoyed the location, Haven restaurant and all the staff's friendliness and eager to please attitude. I rate the Sanctuary five stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella_joi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are ecstatic that we were able to provide you with the 5 star service that you deserve.

The staff make every effort to create an experience that is both unique and memorable. "Service Tailored to Any Request" is our motto, and we will continue to strive for the best possible experiences for our guests.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#68 of 469 in New York City
3,270 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
462 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#29 of 469 in New York City
3,077 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#167 of 469 in New York City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £174 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing