We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,224)
Filter reviews
4,224 results
Traveller rating
2,717
1,142
266
71
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,717
1,142
266
71
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barhaven rooftoptimes squarenew yorkcontinental breakfastrooms are smallbagelsdoor staffcupcakesour honeymoonbrick wallperfect locationconcierge servicerockefeller centerfantastic hotelbig applearound the corner
Filter
Updating list...
1,894 - 1,899 of 4,224 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here in June. Absolutely loved the location. Just off Times Square and just a couple of blocks from the Rockefella Centre. Close to two subway stations also.
The staff were very accommodating and we received a complimentary room upgrade because it was my birthday. Our original room was on the street and very close to the bar speakers so was noisy, so we asked to be moved. This was sorted the same day and we were happy with our new room. There was some noise from the rooftop bar but we didn't expect a totally quiet stay in NYC. Room was very clean tidy.
Breakfast was included in our rate and was great for us. The usual things like bagels, toast, fruit, cereal, juice, eggs, coffee/tea etc.
We visited the rooftop bar once but it was quite cramped because there was a party going on. Drinks were expensive, $33 for two cocktails but again, this was NYC so what did we expect. There did seem to be some exclusivity for the rooftop with a queue downstairs by the lifts so you weren't allowed up unless you queued. We got up there from our room lift so not quite sure if this was allowed or not. We weren't turned away so we guess it was OK!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheForce11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We appreciate the feedback and apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced with noise. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our bucket list trip to New York City was threatened by my wife's bicycle accident and broken arm. But the staff at the Sanctuary were outstanding! Andrew, Brandon, Desney(?) were so very helpful and friendly...they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. They made this such a great experience! The Hotel is perfectly located to Times Square and the Theater District. While the rooms are not large, they are efficiently designed and the beds are very comfortable.
Even the waiter at the Haven, Frankie, sat and chatted with us about New York and shared some of his personal experiences. The bonus was the continental breakfast! The quality and flavor was better than many other hotel experiences...they have very good coffee! Not having to buy breakfast in a city that is pricey is great. Stay at the Sanctuary!

Room Tip: Lower floors have no window view and frosted glass. However, upper rooms don't have that much of a view anyway. All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your 4 day visit with us. Andrew, Brandon and Desne, will be very delighted to read about your comments.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and can't speak more highly of the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.

When we checked-in we were allocated a room on the 5th floor which was quite a small with a small window facing a brick wall. The next morning we asked for a room with more natural light so we were allocated a room on the 8th floor which was great. The staff could not have been more accommodating. We were very impressed!!!

Also, location was sensational and we had no issues in relation to noise etc.

Highly recommended...,

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickLoBianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

The staff will be so delighted to read about your comments. They make every effort to go above and beyond for all our guests and they will be happy to know that they could do that for you.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, please think of The Sanctuary Hotel. We would love to have you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a great few days at the Sanctuary.

Location: excellent for midtown Manhattan. A block away from one end of Times Square and on the same block as two subway stations: 47-50 St and 49 St. Close to Bryant Park (possibly our favourite New York park now) and close to sights such as Top of the Rock and Grand Central.

Facilities: we didn't use the gym access so can't comment. Breakfast was good, albeit a little haphazard in that some mornings there were fresh pastries and fruit and other mornings there weren't. The rooftop bar is very popular (sometimes it feels the hotel is an offshoot of the bar, not the other way around) and just a little pretentious. Free wi-fi was fantastic - had full coverage in all parts of the hotel and fast service.

Room: a little smaller than we had expected or hoped for, and when I enquired politely after check-in about whether all rooms were a similar size in this grade, was informed that they could accommodate us to a larger room in the same grade. I was shown two options by a friendly receptionist and we were able to move the next day. Very pleased with the attitude and helpfulness. But of course, we were also lucky that there happened to be availability for us to move. The larger room was not MUCH larger, but the layout felt less cramped and we were much more comfortable there. Slept very well in both rooms - dark and quiet in both.

Customer service: really great concierge, receptionists and doormen - super friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast staff on the other hand were a little odd (got the impression they were contractors rather than staff). Following checkout, when I passed on a little bit of feedback/comments to the receptionist, I got an explanation for each point on the spot AND I also got a detailed follow-up email from the manager outlining what he will do about my comments. It's nice when you feel you are being heard!

Ambience: dark and moody! Very stylish all round but I do like to have some semblance of light - ideally natural light - in a hotel lobby. I know that's hard to do in a very densely packed city so I think considering the circumstances, they are making the most of what they have.

Overall, would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maui50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Guest feedback is very important to us, and we do not take any concerns or suggestions lightly. I'm happy to have reached out to you and thank you for taking the time to provide us with ways to improve our services.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and would love to see you back with us soon.


Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The location of the hotel is very good, and the staff is very friendly. The rooftop restaurant was good. However there are a number of features that were really bad and lower my rating considerably:
The shower and sink is in the room, and the toilet is behind a sliding door that is very in-discreet and not possible to lock. The airconditioning was very noisy and made it virtually impossible to sleep. The breakfast is very minimal and does not include meats (not even meat spread or cheese for the sandwiches). The youhurt was fat free and they could not accomodate my wish for proper, full fat youghurt. The only positive thing with the breakfast was fresh strawberries. We ended up eating breakfast at a diner across the street every morning, despite having paid for breakfast included in the room charge. I would not recommend the hotel and there is no way that it is among the 30 top hotels in NYC as the TripAdvisor rating suggests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Per R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

I'm deeply sorry that your experience with us was not what you expected. We work very hard at creating a stay that is memorable for our guests. However, we do understand that different guests have different needs and we make every attempt to focus on personalized service.

Our rooms are designed with the intent of maximizing use of space and most important…comfort. We provide European sheets, duvets and terry, while crystal chandeliers add glamour that present and overall ambiance that is inviting and warm. Our shower design is something that guests simply rave about. Additionally, majority of our guests do enjoy the plush pillow-top mattresses.

I would like to point out that we do not serve "meats" in our "Continental Breakfast". Most continental breakfasts traditionally consist of bread, pastries, juice and hot beverages. However, we also serve scrambled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruits, cereal, as an added bonus.

We also do not charge you for breakfast in the rate. Our rates are priced competitively and would be the same with or without breakfast. By offering items such as complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi and daily gym passes to the upscale Equinox gym, we feel that this provides good value for our guests. Especially since most hotels charge for these items.

It is very rare that we come across such a disappointing review, and I am very sorry that you did not have the experience we would have wanted for you. We feel very strongly about the authenticity of our product, and the genuine care that we provide for our guests.

Guest feedback is always important to us. Being well received, and with so many compliments from our past reviewers, I believe that we are heading in the right direction and will continue to improve upon the services that are provided.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews