We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a short NY stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #71 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel and the staff is great! Also the rooftop-bar!!!
Breakfast ist always in the room-fee includet - a typical american breakfast.
The locations is also very close to the times square (just 2 blocks) und a 10min walk to the central park.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade for free - sometimes its possible :-) The rooms are very small - but thats unfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We would love to see you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,746 - 1,752 of 4,070 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved our stay at the Sanctuary hotel! We arrived one night earlier than expected and had to stay in a queen room which was way to small for us! We then got moved to our originally reserved king room and it was SO MUCH better! I would definately only select a king room in future. The location is great if you want to be handy to Times Square.
The staff are amazing! The doormen are great and Brandon on concierge was a fantastic help with restaurant ideas and things to do. I would definately recommend this hotel (a king bed room) to those wanting to be near the action. Rooftop bar is an added bonus but the drinks were quite expensive!

Room Tip: King size bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We appreciate the great feedback and look forward to having you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Loved the feel of the hotel. Friendly staff-- doormen were the best! Very clean and safe feel. So close to Times Square too...definitely returning. Walking distance to subway so no need for cabs. The rooftop bar was so fun and very popular

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and can't wait until your next visit with us. We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Boutique hotel in the heart of Times Square, pretty much says it all.

Lots of reviews day the rooms are small, but the king room was comfortable. The open bathroom layout is best suited to guests who are intimately familiar.

Heart of Times Square means you get all the street noise too. I assume this would be true for any hotel in the area.

The staff was excellent and service very personal.

I have no complaints about the hotel, but I wonder if a less expensive choice nearby might have been just as acceptable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jmarcincavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your overall experience.

We always ensure that we are competitively priced and offer additional value that most hotels charge for. We offer complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi and daily passes to the well-know "Equinox" gym. Along with our well known service, we believe that we provide good value for our guests.

We would love to see you back with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location was a minute to Time Square and just a block below 5th avenue, Ideal for walking to park central or shopping then heading back to drop off purchases or freshen up to head out again. Hotel had a very trendy feel to it, modern rooms with a Paris ambiance. Not so quiet in the evenings as the Roof top and lounge bar is very popular to attend by outsiders. We were on fourth floor and could hear music on 9th floor roof Top. This didn't bother us, but it could for some. Continental breakfast very basic but same as other places. I was able to have fresh strawberries with yogurt and granola in the morning, grab a banana to go.
I would return here anytime.
The staff were great, they would remember you amongst all the people coming in and out for the roof top.. that impressed me to know the door man and STar manager would remember us as their guest and not just locals going to their roof top.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just a quick word to say we loved our stay.
The staff welcomed us very warmly, even at 2:00am on our arrival.
The breakfast was excellent, I especially loved the coffee taste and the strawberry were a hit.
The décor and ambiance are great and our room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanFlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Regardless of what time you arrive, we always want our guests to feel welcome.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The staff and concierge at Sanctuary are absolutely fantastic. I visited NYC with a college friend to celebrate our graduation, and they immediately called our room and offered us a bottle of champagne to help us celebrate this accomplishment - definitely went above and beyond what we expected. Jimmy gave us fabulous suggestions for dining out as well. We loved being greeted and remembered by the staff whenever we left and returned to the hotel after long days of sightseeing. The staff truly make this hotel awesome!

Our room was definitely very small, but we expected this in midtown Manhattan. Absolutely loved the location - steps away from Times Square, Rockefeller Center, and shopping on 5th avenue as well as many subway entrances. It was a blessing to have a complimentary breakfast in the hotel each morning - as recent college grads, we weren't looking to spend even more money each day on breakfast, so this was a much appreciated amenity.

My friend and I definitely woke up early each morning and returned late each night because we were very sightseeing-savvy, and we slept well each night on the 5th floor and didn't experience much noise.

The only negative comment I have is that we saw the crowds of people line up to go to the rooftop bar, Haven, each night until what seemed like the very late hours of the night, and when we returned from a Broadway show and dinner around 1am and wanted to enjoy a drink at Haven on our last night in NYC (a Saturday night), we were told Haven had already closed. We were honestly disappointed that a rooftop bar on a Saturday night in New York City would already be closed at barely 1am - definitely an experience we wished we could've had that night since the other nights we returned too tired from sightseeing.

Overall, I would recommend Sanctuary to others and I will definitely be returning in the future if I visit NYC again!

Room Tip: Choose a room that's not on the lowest level but also not on the highest level for minimal noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexabbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed and wonderful review of The Sanctuary Hotel.

The entire staff will be very excited to read about your feedback.

We would love to see you back again in the near future. We value return guests, so please do not hesitate to contact me directly for reservations. I can be reached at Jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#66 of 469 in New York City
3,242 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 469 in New York City
2,406 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 469 in New York City
2,940 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 469 in New York City
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £178 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing