We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #67 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Me and a friend couldn't decide where to stay for our one night trip to NYC ! Now when we go back we won't stay anywhere else other than Sanctuary. The hotel is clean and as soon as the door is held open for you the atmosphere is brilliant. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff and they are more than happy to help and ask you how your day has been. Our room was lovely we didn't pay much for the room but it was perfect. Breakfast buffet was lovely just the right sort of thing a girl needs before a day of shopping. Great location just off Times Square which is perfect! Would recommend this hotel 100 times over !

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are delighted to hear that your recent experience at The Sanctuary Hotel was such a pleasant one.

Comments such as yours, bring smiles to all our faces. We hope to have you back again for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,543
    1,058
    236
    68
    25
See reviews for
611
2,016
141
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have stayed at Sanctuary Hotel with my husband a few times and we always have an amazing time.I contacted Jeremy Poon-General Manager and mentioned I would be coming in July and needed accommodation for a week and I would on my own . I was arriving from Australia very late in the evening, he Immediately contacted me and organised and offered an upgrade to a deluxe king size room,and offering me any help.On arrival I was welcomed by all old and new staff and was made to feel very much at home.My room was great,clean and well appointed,with a view over looking 47th street.Position is amazing close at all amenities,hotel has a great vibe for both young and old.I have travelled to many places,but we love coming back to the Sanctuary it truly is a Sanctuary in the middle of such a busy metropole.Cant wait to return again

Room Tip: 7th Floor room 701 faced 47th street and was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We really appreciate the fantastic feedback you have given us. We value repeat guests and it was our pleasure to welcome you back.

We hope that all your future stays with us will be just as good and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for reservations.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My 13 year old daughter and I spent a long weekend in New York city. I didn't think Times Square was an option, but we found a deal (and used some points!) through American Express and were really excited about Sanctuary. We had such an amazing experience! The hotel was in a great location. There were several restaurants in a quick walking distance, and the roof hotel was beyond phenomenal. And the bartender was great conversation when my daughter ditched me for the free wifi! The subway was very convenient and everything was an easy distance away. When I wasn't sure about where something was, the STAR rep at the desk was fantastic! The GM Jenaya (who I didn't realize was the GM because she was really hands on) was really great and made the stay a real treat. Can't wait to take my husband for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommy2Bubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
It's great to know that you and your daughter had such a great time with us.

The staff and our Guest Service Manager Jenaya, will be delighted to read about your comments.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, please think of The Sanctuary Hotel. We would love to have you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Truly fantastic staff! Wonderful hotel, clean and stylish. Hard to believe it's so close to Times square. Roof bar was fun , great strawberry margaritas! I don't think I will ever stay anywhere else in New York now I have found this gem!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheiftracyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are excited to know that you found us a gem! We pride ourselves in being a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

We hope to see you back with us for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laccadive
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We were at the Santuary a week, The staff is very competent and polite, the room little but well used and breakfast very good . The restaurant on the roof with Beautiful views of skyscrapers is very good and a place very cool for dinner or happy hours.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajanaLaccadive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us at The Sanctuary Hotel New York.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have a business trip to NY next month and I had already booked an another hotel ... The service was truly excellent , very professional and friendly stuff and they do their best to help every guest . For me it is a 3 stars hotel and far away from 4 or 5 stars .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakosweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had stayed at this hotel on our first visit to New York and were greatly satisfied with it at that time. When we decided to return to New York we knew we wanted to stay here again. It is the perfect location, has great amenities; cookies, restaurant, breakfast, and MOST of all a fabulous concierge. Brandon was absolutely most helpful. We called before we came and he so graciously sent us a 4-day itinerary of sites to visit, restaurants, entertainment, etc. He also purchased us the BEST seats ever to the show we chose. It was so helpful and so appreciated. The gentleman that worked by the elevator in the evenings (a 50 some year old man, that is what he said) was so friendly, helpful, did an excellent job of making us feel secure and safe. The doormen were ALL friendly, helpful, and very enjoyable (especially liked the twins)! The place is GREAT, will definitely return, and will recommend to anyone that asks about staying in your beautiful city. Thank you to all of the staff! Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Restaurant on top is noisy at night so might desire lower floors for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Brandon will be so delighted to read about your feedback.

Its comments such as yours that really motivate the staff to continuously go above and beyond for our guests. We hope to see you again for another wonderful visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,134 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,368 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is a boutique luxury lifestyle design hotel conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. A hidden gem with very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Continental Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing