We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #74 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to go here to celebrate my 40th birthday. When we arrived it was to a warm welcome, they knew I was here for my birthday so they all wished me a happy birthday as well as the concierge and couldn't do enough for us.
Everything we walked out and in it was welcoming and they always said hello, have a nice day, welcome back, have you had a nice day. On checking out they seemed genuinely sad by this, they asked if we'd had a great time, my partner told them that we had also got engaged whilst here. They were so enthusiastic to hear about it and told others around them too.
So the staff are fantastic, Brandon on concierge was brilliant in helping us get some Yankees tickets.
Location is fantastic! Steps away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square but quiet enough to sleep uninterrupted. The ambience is great, low lighting and calm music. Although we never used it there is a rooftop bar and restaurant, must be good as locals were queuing to get up there.
Room was a decent sized room, comfortable and massive bed.
If you've ever read a review by me before you'll see that I always ask one question! Would I stay here again........
A huge yes is the answer to that.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Congratulations on your engagement! We are delighted to know that your visit with us was so special. Thank you for sharing your experience here.

We always appreciate when guests take the time to provide us with such great feedback and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,601
    1,089
    243
    69
    27
See reviews for
634
2,070
144
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Thumbs up allround. My entire stay was relaxed due to diligent & helpful staff. The hotel itself was fabulous; quiet but still lively. Will definitely come back to stay. From arrival to leaving the hotel was a definite must, the roof top bar an excellent place to go in the Time Square area and luckily so close.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZabiDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your "Thumbs up". The staff will be so excited to read about your comments.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, please think of The Sanctuary Hotel. We would love to have you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Salvation from stress is obvious the moment you step into the Sanctuary hotel. Its atmosphere is welcoming, and it decompresses one after a long journey or jostling experience through the busy city. Clean, modern, convenient. Leaving, turn right and you find Times Square; turn left and you find Rockefeller Center all within a 3 to 5 minute walk. Anything you need to enhance your trip is accommodated--taxis, tickets, directions... Do NOT miss the Haven, a superior rooftop experience.

Room Tip: Third floor is good--high enough to be away from street noise, and low enough to use steps instead o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamasooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are happy to know that you found your "salvation" here at The Sanctuary Hotel.

We hope that you will be back with us soon, for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in the heart of times squer. The hotel isn't so big and the size of the room comparing others hotels in New york is good.
In the price of the room included continental breakfast and free wife - great thing!.
The price not so expensive comparing others hotel in New York.
In conclusion i recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank oren3417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us at The Sanctuary Hotel.

We would love to see you back with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My mother and I traveled to NYC for a medical conference. I have lived in New York and am familiar with the no-nonsense attitude that prevails in the service industry.
I am so pleased to say that we received a warm welcome that seemed to extend throughout our stay. The hotel itself was charming! the daily (free) breakfast was terrific.
I specifically wanted to extend thanks to the concierge (i think his name was Brandon) as well as the bell staff that was so kind, always being present to help my mom up the stairs.
Can't wait to go back! I highly reccommed this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

In my experience you always need to expect the worse when booking an NY hotel unless you spend mega bucks!
This hotel has changed my mind about that. Its location is perfect for new and seasoned NY travellers. The reception is dark, trendy and cool - and the guy who checked us in was helpful without being over the top. I have requested a high level room so that the noise would not be too bad - this request was granted. We were also facing away from the road (room 908 i think).
The room itself like any other NY hotel was small - but they had done a clever thing removing the shower room walls to give it the appearance of being spacier - neat idea! The room itself was comfy and clean - functional and practical. The free wifi worked first time every time.

The hotel has a very very popular roof terrace - people queue for the list to get up there from about 4pm daily - although the staff do keep one lift separate for guests. So here was the only downside - we were only one floor below the roof terrace - so you could here music etc from 4pm onwards, however, they were pretty good at turning it down/off at a reasonable hour (11pm ish). The only other noise was early hours (430AM) when I think they were moving removing bottles, barrels etc. Like on most of my travels i take ear plugs - that ensured a pretty good nights sleep.

Its only the noise that stopped me giving this place 5 stars.

Room Tip: Go for mid levels floors facing the back of the property - floors 4 to 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crookedtongues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for providing us with great feedback.

We are sorry if the noise from the rooftop caused any inconvenience during your stay. We will certainly address this with the management team.

Our goal is and always will be to create the best possible experience. We would love to see you back for another visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauris, France
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel conveniently located 100 meters from Times Square and Broadway at the heart of Manhattan.
Very good welcome. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable but the soundproofing of the windows overlooking the street was sometimes insufficient. The continental breakfast was plentiful and tasty. We had lunch and dinner at the restaurant located on the roof terrace which is a pleasant and much appreciated place.
We will keep very good memories of our stay in this hotel and will recommend it to our family and our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelPrunier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your 9 night stay with us at The Sanctuary Hotel. It's comments like yours that puts smiles on all our faces.

We would love to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#61 of 466 in New York City
3,195 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#24 of 466 in New York City
2,377 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 466 in New York City
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
384 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 466 in New York City
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing