We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One word: cockroach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
Ranked #280 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One word: cockroach”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

IT WAS HUGE!

I think everything is scarier when there is shampoo in your hair, and you are nude. BUT this cockroach (length and width of my thumb) was on my shower curtain. Maintenance took care of it, but it really wasn't the problem I wanted to have over a 4 day business trip, especially at 6:30 am, paying over $1,000 for the length of the stay. I was moved to a higher floor (21 from the 3rd), I received 10000 points towards my next stay, and free breakfast.

Everyone was VERY nice, but I don't think I could stay there again after that. I stay exclusively at Marriott owned hotels, and this was a sub-par experience. There was also hair all over the bathrooms (yes both looked like they could have used some more TLC), but after already moving once and having 15 hour days, I just didn't want to ask to be moved again.

Room Tip: The higher the better=less chance for cockroachs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hallie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for writing. I was shocked to read your note! The hotel has an extensive pest control
program and we take this very seriously. I will have your room place off market immediately and apologize profusely. Know that we agree that this is unacceptable and we have taken corrective action. I am confident that your next stay will be what you have come to expect, and for which the Lexington and Marriott are known. Thank you again for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    1,217
    526
    234
    165
See reviews for
588
1,110
193
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

First the positives; very clean rooms, ok size wise, housekeeping staff very pleasant and helpful, lovely comfy bed and very good location.
Negatives; noisy radiator which suddenly made banging noises in the middle of the night, hot water ran brown in colour when trying to run the bath! No coffee making facilities in room, expensive drinks in downstairs bar and as many people have commented they charge you to leave your bags. Breakfast in the raffles restaurant very poor both food and service!
We stayed for 3 nights and our room was on the 6 th floor. This hotel is not bad value for money but it is only a 3star hotel. We would stay again but only if cheap rates.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithfamily40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for choosing The Lexington and for taking the time to post a review. We take feedback like yours very seriously and will use it as we continue to improve our service and offerings. We are already researching a revised policy for baggage porterage, we understand your concerns on this. Please note, we do offer Keurig coffee machines upon request, delivered right up to your guest room.
Please mail me directly at jmarinogm@lexingtonnyc.com f you return to NYC and are open to give us another chance. We strive for 4 Star service in our recently renoated property and truly hope to impress you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here 2 weeknights on business. The updated interior is very chic yet comfortable, and my room was blessed with lots of natural sunlight from ample windows on 2 sides. Unfortunately, although I was on the 14th floor, I could hear the nigh constant, loud street noise from trucks and machines from about 1am-6am. On both nights, something was making a loud, continuous noise from 1am-2am. Later, it sounded like many large trucks arrived to pick up or deliver things, and the sound of large running motors made it impossible to fall back asleep. It might be that rooms on the interior of the block are shielded from this penetrating street noise, so ask because the rooms themselves are quite nice. The only other sound issue for those sensitive to noise is that the doors to the rooms themselves are super loud when they swing closed after you.

Room Tip: Request a room shielded from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post. As you know, New York City is a vibrant one that seldom sleeps. Most of our rooms are well insulated from the noise, but some do allow for a bit more. On your next visit, the front desk can point you to those that are relatively silent. We look forward to your return! Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Nicely renovated hotel in a great midtown location. Lots of options nearby for restaurants. Subway just a few blocks away. Walking distance to Rockefeller Plaza, Central Park, UN and shopping. The room was very small but well appointed and very comfortable. When we checked in about 3 pm on a Friday, the front desk was extremely busy, but the staff was very helpful and patient. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - for the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We're delighted that you chose to stay with us and had a great experience. Tell your friends! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Several times a year we make a trip to stay in NY, and this last time we decided to give the newly renovated Lexington a try.
Overall we stayed in the hotel for 6 nights and we found it to be ideally located for getting out and about in NY.
The hotel was very clean and decorated in a very modern style (not to everyones taste) but some remnants of the old art deco hotel were left in the renovation which add a eclectic spin to the new hotel.
Lobby staff were always helpful and chatty and more than polite (quiet rare for NY). always willing to help and advise. The room keeping staff were extremely friendly and chatty....especially for the repetitive work they do!!
I will definitely be staying again in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face Lexington Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We are simply delighted that you not only enjoyed your stay, but that you took the time to post this wonderful review. Come back soon!
Best regards,
Jim Marino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Close to the subway and to the major NYC attractions with a nice Guest Room! Complimentary internet in the room and lobby areas.

Crossing the street there is a bakery which also works as a small market for late hours dinner or on the go breakfast and a Starbucks for those who love muffin/coffee lover's!

Room Tip: The Guest Room was big enough for a couple with a 2 yrs kid. We decided to not have a crib, but ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We are delighted that your family enjoyed your stay at the newly renovated Lexington NYC. Please join us again soon!
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#327 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott East Side
New York Marriott East Side
#284 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#313 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection

Property: The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
Address: 511 Lexington Avenue, at 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 725
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown's fashionable East Side, The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection debuted as part of the Marriott Autograph Collection hotel in summer 2013 after an extensive $46 million dollar transformation project. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel's full-service accommodations sit in a 28-story building offering 725 guestrooms and suites, with some featuring two baths or balconies. The Lexington Hotel New York City, Autograph Collection is steps from the United Nations, Grand Central Terminal and Park Avenue, and is walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Bloomingdales, Madison Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Broadway theaters/Times Square, and many museums. The revitalized hotel has been completely transformed and is a great choice for business and leisure visitors looking for an upscale, iconic New York City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Radisson Hotel
Radisson Lexington Hotel New York
Radisson New York City
New York City Radisson
Radisson Lexington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing