We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
Ranked #276 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Spent 6 days here alone and what a fabulous hotel , recently renovated and looked exactly as advertised.

Lovely foyer with lots of seating and a great bar that serves up a yummy dirty martini .

My room was absolutely gorgeous , and the bed, oh the bed , it was like sleeping on a huge marshmallow , I thought the Westin hotels with their heavenly beds were the comfiest beds in the world until I had the pleasure of sleeping in this bed .

Rooms are quire spacious for Manhattan standards , the bathrooms are quite compact as other reviews state but I really don't understand what people moan about , it's a bathroom for goodness sake , how much time do you spend in there ????? What I can say is the shower head definitely makes up for the compact bathroom , four different options all of which were great and the water pressure was great , like having a jacuzzi shower .

It was great that you had free wifi in your room and also free use of the business centre to print out tickets etc.

Housekeeping were lovely ladies and always had a smile .

The only complaint I have is that door men are not that friendly and helpful as other doormen I've encountered in Manhattan and the fact they charge you $2 per suitcase for them to store your luggage , never in all my travels have I had to pay for this .

Overall this is a fabulous hotel , extremely comfortable rooms and in a great location approx 10 mins walk to 5th Avenue .

Please do not be put off by the dreadful reviews on this hotel , if I had believed what other reviewers had written I would have cancelled and missed out on sleeping on a marshmallow :-)

It was a pleasure to stay at the Lexington , keep up the good work .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poshbird232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Poshbird232,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback! I am very glad to hear that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed our marshmallow bed. I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff. I hope to see you soon at The Lexington NYC!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    1,268
    543
    238
    170
See reviews for
608
1,158
200
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Renovation was just completed two months ago. This place can be described as New York Hip and Cool."

It's an old building with a modern twist. This is not your typical modern Marriott. By that I mean, the room configurations differ... some are bigger... some are small... and some are tiny. Our bedroom was great for four people ... the bathroom was not (tiny would be a better description). But the truth is -- that's OK. I believe you realize that in a unique property like this, you are not going to have the same square footage and layout as the hotel you were in last week in "Anytown, USA."

Two minor negative comments: one, we did notice COLD air coming through the old windows (that's not unusual for NY buildings). second-- we had four people in our room and two sets of towels. We called for additional towels before leaving for dinner. After returning, we noticed no towels had been delivered so we called again. In short, we had three deliveries of towels and two follow up phone calls. It was almost comical.

As a Marriott Gold Elite member, I qualify for free breakfast. They give me two vouchers for the restaurant. There is no elite lounge for a "quick" breakfast, so plan on a little more time.

The place was spotless!!

Room Tip: Room sizes vary... ask for a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 886SteveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear 886SteveS,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. I wil relay the issue with the windows to the Director of Engineering so that it can be fixed. I will also let the Director of Housekeeping know of the delay in towels so that these issues can be rectified in the future. I appreciate your kind words and hope to see you at The Lexington in the future!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

there are better options nearby. the renovations are tacky, the rooms so cramped you just want to get out of them, and when I disputed my bill - rude is not the word for it. Over heated hallways and just a bad experience overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Rick S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We pride ourselves in delivering the highest quality of service and product to our guests, and we strive consistently to improve in every level. Clearly we have let you down this down. I will be sure to relay your concerns to the appropriate Department Heads to make sure the issues are addressed. Once again, I apologize for your experience and hope that we can restore your faith in the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I read the reviews and didn't listen to most of them. I just hit NYC for a 4 day weekend and stayed in a suite at The Lexington. I paid 350 a night for a gorgeous suite with multiple rooms, a very large bathroom and sharp decor. I would recommend this to any traveler who is seeking a suite at an awesome price in a super location in NYC. It is a great deal and a very nice hotel. It is not the plaza but it is a great option and I will def return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ATLG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear ATLG33,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We just went through a $46 million renovation and am very proud to hear your kind words on our Suites. Thank you for choosing The Lexington and how to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great hotel and the staff is fantastic! I travel often to New York on business and this place has become like my second home. The staff service is great and be sure to ask for Irina. Irina has been extremely helpful to me during each of my stays and I am sure she will see that you have an excellent stay.

Michael B.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Michael B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! I will make sure to share your kind words with Irina. I am very glad to hear that The Lexington has become your second home. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Positives:

- Great location at 48th and Lexington.
- Numerous restaurants and bars nearby
- Has a boutique quality; reminds me of a Kimpton
- Nice, big flatscreen TV mounted on wall
- Low bandwidth internet is free (but the faster internet is $16/night)
- Better if traveling solo or on business, since room size not as much an issue
- Safe in the room
- Starbucks in the lobby
- Staff were all friendly and helpful

Negatives:
- Very small rooms (somewhat claustrophobic)
- Extremely tiny bathrooms (barely enough room to move around; I kept hitting my arm on the edge of the sink when I sat on the throne)
- Some inattention to detail: No TV remote in my room when I arrived; housekeeping never refilled my shampoos/conditioner
- Housekeeping seemed to be on an erratic schedule (still cleaning some rooms at 10 p.m., causing hallway noise)
-Very loud elevators (if your room is near them)
- The free internet was spotty (got very slow at times and bumped me off VPN connection)
- The door staff were a bit overeager to grab my small bag and escort me to my room...but I suppose it's NY so whatever.
- The hallways were way overheated; they need to crank that down a bit.
- Price was a bit higher than warranted for the value (better places in the area for equal price)

I might stay here again if I got a good deal but would likely check out other options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear ATLDawg,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed the TV in the room, the location of our hotel and all the other features you have listed. I especially want to thank you for commenting on the staff friendliness, I will be sure to relay your kind words to the team. In regards to the TV remote and other Housekeeping concerns, I will relay that to the Director of Housekeeping and make sure that we work to address these issues. Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

It's in an excellent location and the hotel has bags of character - from its historical design and the modern decor.

The rooms are very small though - not unusual for NY. The desks don't really lend themselves to working at for any extended time. There is no coffee/tea making facility in the room, but there is a Starbucks in the lobby that opens at 0530.

The gym is well equipped and a pleasure to use. The bar in the lobby is well stocked and there is a decent ambience to the area, even though it's part of the lobby area.

The challenge is the staff - who are very friendly but don't give the sense they're on top of the job when I stayed there:

1. Reception didn't combine my reservations into 1 stay as assured at check-in.
2. Housekeeping didn't make-up the room until requested in the evening.
3. The concierge didn't know where breakfast was served.
4. Waitresses disorganized in the breakfast restaurant - which is small and a la carte only - resulting in a slow breakfast . Not what you want on a tight business schedule.
5. No room service offered for coffee when I called at 0300. I know that sounds tough, but jet lag from Singapore to US is tough and other hotels of this class over such requests. No interest to help either.

I guess as a Gold Marriott and a Platinum Starwoods I expect more from a hotel of this class and price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Angliskai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Angliskai,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am very proud to hear that you enjoyed the aesthetics of our hotel as we just went through a $46 million renovation. In regards to the issues you encountered with the staff and service, I will be sure to share your feedback with the respective Department Heads to make sure that these issues are addressed. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that we can restore your faith in our hotel should you find yourself in the Big Apple again.

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
New York Marriott East Side
New York Marriott East Side
#279 of 466 in New York City
2,155 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 466 in New York City
4,310 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#293 of 466 in New York City
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 466 in New York City
940 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#59 of 466 in New York City
1,400 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#51 of 466 in New York City
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection

Property: The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
Address: 511 Lexington Avenue, at 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 725
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown's fashionable East Side, The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection debuted as part of the Marriott Autograph Collection hotel in summer 2013 after an extensive $46 million dollar transformation project. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel's full-service accommodations sit in a 28-story building offering 725 guestrooms and suites, with some featuring two baths or balconies. The Lexington Hotel New York City, Autograph Collection is steps from the United Nations, Grand Central Terminal and Park Avenue, and is walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Bloomingdales, Madison Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Broadway theaters/Times Square, and many museums. The revitalized hotel has been completely transformed and is a great choice for business and leisure visitors looking for an upscale, iconic New York City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Radisson Hotel
Radisson Lexington Hotel New York
Radisson New York City
New York City Radisson
Radisson Lexington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing