We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but reception was NOT great. . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
Ranked #283 of 468 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but reception was NOT great. . .”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I want to start off by saying it was my second time staying at The Lexington. I stayed last there last summer for about a week and it was great, no problems at all. They let me check in early which was great (but before they let me check in early they asked if it was my first time staying there, which it was).

When we stayed the second time, the check in process was not as pleasant and it pretty much left my friend and I pretty pissed off. We got there around 12 and asked if early check in was available, we had walked 30 minutes to get there so we were hoping for early check in because we were exhausted. It was mid February so it was cold! The receptionist asked if it was our first time at the hotel...I said no, she then proceeded to tell me that our room was not ready so we had to wait til 3 to check in. My friend & I decided to go to the second floor where they have a seating area overlooking the first floor. As we watched people come in to check in we noticed that every single person was getting their keys and were able to check in early (we also noticed that these people that were getting early check in had nice expensive handbags and luggage so we both felt as if they were getting early check in because they were classified as more important or something?!?! mind you my friend and I had bookbags because we were only staying one night) Did we not look classy enough or something?! It really ticked us off! So we decided to go and ask for early check in again....(no more than 30 minutes had passed) We were greeted by a different person who said oh yes your room is ready and let us check in early. I can only assume that the other receptionist just didn't want to let us check in early for whatever reason!

Other than that the room was spacious, we booked a double room and the view was decent. The room was also very clean and the location of the hotel is great. You are walking distance from Times Square and 5th ave! The hotel also has a Starbucks on the first floor which is convenient. It also has two restaurants which you can access from inside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edithmeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Managing Director at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent experience at the Lexington NYC. I am delighted that you were a return guest, however, I was disappointed to learn that you were less than satisfied on this recent visit. Please be assured that we treat all guests with the same equal respect, so I was especially sorry to hear about your experience at check-in. I welcome you to contact me to personally discuss this issue. You may reach me at jtrovato@lexingtonnyc.com.

Warm regards,
John Trovato
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    1,240
    534
    236
    166
See reviews for
595
1,135
197
724
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our room was really small, but it is New York... so you can't expect big rooms. The bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was really weird. The bathroom was so small and the ledge on the shower/tub was so high that we had a very difficult time getting in and out of the shower. It was really strange. It also was not cleaned to my satisfaction. There were brown streaks running down the door facing of the bathroom. It really creeped me out, so I cleaned them off. I am hopeful that they were only due to the extremely high humidity in the bathroom as there is no vent, fan or any type of ventilation. We had a "corner" room, so maybe those rooms are strange. I would recommend checking on that before you book a room. Our room was very quiet. The lobby was very crowded and we had to wait a long time for elevators as they don't seem to accommodate the number of people that need to use them. The location was not great for what we needed to do and where we needed to go, but that was a mistake on my part. We got a good rate and I would not say that this is a terrible place to stay, but not sure I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Managing Director at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your comments are valuable as they will help us to improve our ability to better serve all our guests. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and want to assure you that your comments are being addressed by the appropriate staff.

We hope you will consider staying with us again for a renewed experience.

Warm regards,
John Trovato
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a great mid-town location for either business, or tourists. It has the conveniences offered by Marriott, but with a boutique feel. Grand Central Station is only a few blocks away and it's an easy walk to Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall and Times Square. The rooms are average size for New York but very nicely decorated and appointed. The lobby has a great vibe -- it's very open and there are lots of communal areas. I do wish that the restaurant and bar were open later. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Managing Director at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for the 4-Star Rating! Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it will help us to improve our ability to better serve all of our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially pleased that we exceeded your expectations with our customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lexington NYC.

Sincerely,
John Trovato
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have been staying here every week since February for business and it's a standard NYC hotel. Every room varies in size, typical rooms are very small, although some are larger. Some weeks the room is cleaner than others. The staff is accommodating, ask for a refridgerator if needed, good midtown location near subways. Although the hotel was recently modernized it lacks some details in design probably because it's old. Some rooms are ridiculously tiny and you can hear everything in the hallways. I only stay here to get points but there are better overall hotels on the same block.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92lber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gul T, Assistant General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on our services. We strive continuosly to improve the quality and level of our services, so we especially appreciate your comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Lexington NYC.

Warm regards,
Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

tidy rooms.. great atmosphere in lobby and bar.. perfect location
loved it
I knew that hotel rooms in NY are small but the good thing is that the harmony in the room was great.
central station just 3 blocks away.
I tried the restaurant it was good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Magaly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gul T, Assistant General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it will help us to improve our ability to better serve all of our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Hawes
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here during the freak snow in January! The hotel itself is stunning, rooms smaller than expected as this was my 3rd visit to New York.
Staff incredible helpful, in my eyes the only downfall was that the bar wasn't open till mid afternoon and wasn't widely advertise that there was a room service option.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Hawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gul T, Assistant General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it will help us to improve our ability to better serve all of our guests. We take pride in the quality of our product and services, which reflects our commitment and loyalty to our customers, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcomng you back to the Lexington NYC.

Sincerely,
Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at The Lexington twice this year for pleasure weekends.
Love the location, have been fortunate to get an upgraded room, so accommodations have been very good. For NYC, price, etc is very good and we recommend it. It's not the Waldorf or Pierre, but it's a good value.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kayL5534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gul T, Assistant General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for the 4-Star Rating! We appreciate your loyalty and are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lexington NYC.

Sincerely,
Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,248 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott East Side
New York Marriott East Side
#285 of 468 in New York City
2,129 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#99 of 468 in New York City
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#293 of 468 in New York City
1,273 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#63 of 468 in New York City
1,351 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#329 of 468 in New York City
4,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection

Property: The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
Address: 511 Lexington Avenue, at 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 725
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown's fashionable East Side, The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection debuted as part of the Marriott Autograph Collection hotel in summer 2013 after an extensive $46 million dollar transformation project. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel's full-service accommodations sit in a 28-story building offering 725 guestrooms and suites, with some featuring two baths or balconies. The Lexington Hotel New York City, Autograph Collection is steps from the United Nations, Grand Central Terminal and Park Avenue, and is walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Bloomingdales, Madison Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Broadway theaters/Times Square, and many museums. The revitalized hotel has been completely transformed and is a great choice for business and leisure visitors looking for an upscale, iconic New York City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Radisson Hotel
Radisson Lexington Hotel New York
Radisson New York City
New York City Radisson
Radisson Lexington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing