We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in midtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
Ranked #274 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here on the 11th floor from Jun 19 - 22 with 3 girlfriends. We arrived early and were able to leave our bags with the bellman for $1/piece so we could start touring the city without our luggage. The rooms were spacious enough that we never felt like we were on top of one another. The bedding was comfortable and the rooms were also decorated very stylishly. The bathroom was small, but functional.

The hotel is in a great location. 2 blocks south of 5th avenue. 3 blocks to the train. We were able to walk to the times square area in about 15 minutes. There are quite a few cafes and restaurants in the area, and a couple of local pharmacies in the area as well, and the hotel itself is connected to a Starbucks.

Free wi-fi is available in the main lobby (which is nice, and fitted with many comfortable lounge chairs) and on the mezzanine level (also with comfortable with cool looking lounge chairs), and I discovered one day that I was connected to the internet while in my room and was able to browse for a few hours (glitch in the system?).

The reason I did not rate this hotel 5 was because we had to call several times for extra towels. Even though our reservation was for 4 people we only had 2 sets of towels and wash cloths. We had to call twice on the first day to receive the extras, and again on the 3rd day because we were only replenished with 2 sets of towels... not a big deal, but slightly annoying after a long day walking around the city and wanting to come back to a hot shower.

I would recommend this hotel to others, and I would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank where_next03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Managing Director at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for the 4-Star Review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in the quality and level of service we offer, so I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with housekeeping. Please be assured that we will address these matters with the appopriate personnel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lexington Hotel.

Warm regards,

John Trovato
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,352)
There are newer reviews for The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,464 - 2,470 of 3,352 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic property that has been refurbished. My only comment is that the bathrooms are very small. Rooms and lobby are beautiful.

The challenge is the staff. There is no focus on customer service from the doormen to the front desk. The only exception is the Elite Member Manager. She was fantastic. K

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank demetgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Managing Director at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at the Lexington. Your comments are important as they will help us to improve our ability to better serve our guests. We take great pride in the quality and level of service we offer, so we apologize that your experience with our staff was less than satisfactory.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a renewed experience.

Warm regards,

John Trovato
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

It's a great hotel. Very central for all things New York. The Starbucks below it is the icing on the cake. Great way to start your morning. Only issue was we were two lifts to get to room but hey it's New York

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Managing Director at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for the 5-Star Review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in the quality and level of service we provide, so we are especially pleased to have exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lexingon NYC.

Warm regards,

John Trovato
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My review is based on other NYC hotels which can be quite expensive and often a disappointment in terms of the property. First this is a Marriott-managed property so you get the fairly standard Marriott experience although it is not a standard Marriott hotel and part of their "Autograph" collection. It is not exactly a boutique hotel, but somewhat less boring than the standard chain hotel.

Lobby is attractive and reasonably spacious and open. Free WiFI in the lobby with convenient areas for working or for having drinks. Generally, fairly busy in the lobby, but decent meeting spot if you don't mind a some noise from the other groups if you meet later in the day as the crowds begin to gather. A mix of tourist and business guests, but fairly low-key vibe overall.

The hotel has been recently renovated and the rooms are have attractive, if uninspiring, decor. Not sure about all of the rooms, but my room was decent sized for a NYC hotel room. However, the bathroom was fairly small without much room for placing your toiletries and other items. However, bathroom had been updated as well. Initially, the shower pressure was horrible, but it turned out to be a clogged shower head. I managed to get a high floor room facing Third Avenue so the noise was not bad from below, but you definitely will hear street noise even on one of the higher floors.

There is no executive lounge at the property, so that was a negative if you are expecting that. However, I found the staff to be very helpful and professional starting from the time I checked in. When I called down because of the problem with the shower, they sent someone up within 5 minutes and the problem was quickly resolved. The hotel provides umbrellas when it is raining, although they had no more left by the time I asked for one. I found the concierge and doorman to be helpful and responsive as well.

Location on the East side is very good for getting around NYC. Only a couple of blocks from Park Avenue. Maybe a 15 minute walk to Times Square and 10 minutes to 5th Avenue and Rockefeller Center. Central Park is maybe 15 minutes. If you are okay taking the subway. there is a nearby subway stop. Plenty of places to eat nearby as the on property restaurant is fairly pedestrian and standard hotel offering. However, there is a Starbuck's very near the lobby. In general easy to hail a taxi if you prefer taxis.

This is not a 5-Star experience, but it is a great value for NYC based on my rate. Rooms are attractive with decent space. You should try to get a room on a high floor if street noise bothers you. Very good location in midtown Manhattan. Very good and professional staff. If you are looking for a place to mostly lay your head at night then would not have reservations about staying here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor as there is a lot of street noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trees55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Managing Director at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for the 4-Star Review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in the quality and level of service we provide, so we appreciate your feedback. Please be assured that we strive to continuously improve our ability to better serve all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lexington Hotel for a renewed experience.

Warm regards,

John Trovato
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here with our two pre-teens. Excellent overall trip. The room was great with an artsy feel - two bathrooms, fridge, good view, quiet. We were on the 8th floor and there over a weekend. Despite what I had read about hearing music from downstairs, we never heard anything other than the city itself. :) Easy walk to Duane Reade for snack items to keep in fridge. Easy walk to everywhere - Central Park, Grand Central Station, shopping 5th Ave., St. Patrick's Cathedral. The hotel lobby was nice, safe, clean, and an upscale art deco feel. It's convenient to have a Starbucks on location. The only negative would be they charge to keep bags if you arrive before check-in. Most places where I've stayed offer this service complimentary. I had read they charge for wi-fi too, so we didn't use it at the hotel. We did use the office area, which was nice, to print our boarding passes. The kids loved that they have listening pods located upstairs in a seating area. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strawberry_soap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Managing Director at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for the 5-Star Review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in the quality and level of service we provide, so we are especially pleased that we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lexington Hotel.

Warm regards,

John Trovato
Managing Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were quite excited to stay at a NYC hotel we had not previously visited. The Lexington is convenient to the threater district, great restaurants, Grand Central Terminal and other east side attractions. However, our visit had several flaws. First when we checked in we were sent to a room that was still being cleaned. We went all the way back down to the front desk and was given another room but only a luke warm "sorry".
Rooms here are comfortable but smallish especially the bathrooms. The hotel is connected to a cafe/diner/bar and has another bar in the lobby. We were very disappointed with the lobby bar where the staff was stand-offish and the bar closed before 11:00 PM on a Friday night..The other cafe/diner/bar was adequate but reinforces the old adage, "When I'm at home I don't sleep in my kitchen and when I travel I don't eat where I sleep."
Lastly we had a nearly impossible time getting a cab at the hotel entrance. The bellman actually left to take a break and we had not hailed a cab yet when he returned several minutes later. Took another 15 minutes after his break to get a cab.
Marriott has a very nice property but the entire staff needs a course in basic customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Managing Director at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take great pride in the quality and level of service we provide, so I was especially disappointed to hear that your experience with our customer service was less than satisfactory. Please be assured that we will address these matters to ensure that our entire staff are continuously performing to the highest standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lexington Hotel for a renewed experience.

Warm regards,

John Trovato
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend arriving Saturday. Check in was easy and quick. Wifi in lobby and mezzanine worked fine. Rooms bigger that usual NY for the price. Fully refurbished to a good standard and with everything you would expect. The bed was probably the most comfortable in a hotel for some time.
Terrific location in mid Manhattan 5 mins from Grand Central Station with lots of restaurants/ bars within an easy walk. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DecKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Managing Directors at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for the 4-Star Review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in the quality and level of service we provide, so we are especially pleased to have exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lexington NYC.

Warm regards,

John Trovato
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#305 of 468 in New York City
1,328 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott East Side
New York Marriott East Side
#277 of 468 in New York City
2,193 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#319 of 468 in New York City
4,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 468 in New York City
2,256 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#110 of 468 in New York City
1,093 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#164 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection

Address: 511 Lexington Avenue, at 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#236 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £138 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 725
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown's fashionable East Side, The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection debuted as part of the Marriott Autograph Collection hotel in summer 2013 after an extensive $46 million dollar transformation project. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel's full-service accommodations sit in a 28-story building offering 725 guestrooms and suites, with some featuring two baths or balconies. The Lexington Hotel New York City, Autograph Collection is steps from the United Nations, Grand Central Terminal and Park Avenue, and is walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Bloomingdales, Madison Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Broadway theaters/Times Square, and many museums. The revitalized hotel has been completely transformed and is a great choice for business and leisure visitors looking for an upscale, iconic New York City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Radisson Hotel
Radisson Lexington Hotel New York
Radisson New York City
New York City Radisson
Radisson Lexington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing