We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #179 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Stayed at the Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square with my family in mid-November 2012. Great rooms, location, and service. Very quiet considering the location. Clean and comfortable-rooms were large by NYC standards. We attended three plays and visited many sites--most in walking distance. Many subway stations close by when walking was not an option. We will definitely return!!

Room Tip: In Times Square, higher is always better (quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,187
    777
    209
    61
    34
See reviews for
663
689
66
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

As a platinum Marriott - I think I've stayed at every Marriott in Manhattan and this is a gem. It's so convenient to everything. From the valet parking on 7th and 48th - it's as easy as pull up an drop your bags. Also, the $58 for 24 hour parking was very reasonable by Manhattan styles. We had an end room Junior Executive suite that was huge my Manhattan standards. The bed was too die for and they brought in a roll-out cot for my daughter who LOVED the view out the window of M & M world. We had lunch at Angelos Pizza a few blocks north which was awesome and saw Annie a few blocks south. The lobby was one of the coolest lobbies I've stayed in and the bars seemed great. I travel about 100 nights per year and this hotel is one of my new favorities. It's a no brainer where I'll stay next time I am in Manhattan. Staff was extremely friendly and room was spotless. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JMACKLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

I have stayed here 3 times now and every time the service, rooms, bar, food and lobby support staff has been exceptional. Prime location and views of Times Square. The beds have always been comfortable, the room and views nice. Superior to the other Marriott in the neighborhood (Marquis). Would stay here everything I visit NY.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IOTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Renaissance is always a good choice to spend the night. This one is a perfect place to hang out in Manhattan. This hotel s right on Times Square and you can do everything on foot from here. Easiest way to get into relaxed mode is to hand over the car keys to the valet guys. The rooms are comfortable and spacious for New York conditions. All kinds of good restaurants and entertainment directly by the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I travel to NYC frequently and because I am a Marriott Platnium member, I only stay at Marriott. If I can't get in this hotel at my usual rate, I stay at the Marriott Marquis. I like this hotel much better. The location is perfect. Right in the heart of Times Square. It is a smaller hotel then the Marquis and much easier to get in and out of. The elevators in the Marquis are just crazy sometimes. The only bad part is there are not a lot of options inside the hotel. The Marquis has various restaurants and bars and a couple of Starbucks. However, there is a Starbucks right accross the street from the Renaissance. The rooms are maybe a little biy bigger then most NYC hotel rooms and they are very clean and modern. Includes speakers in the bathroom to listen to the TV if you want. A huge shower ( but no bath). If you are Platnium or Gold member you will have access to free breakfast which is not that great but not bad. They could have more options in for Breakfast. There really is a limited choice but the view from that room is spectacular. They do not have a consignor lounge and instead provide Gold and Platnium members with a voucher that can be used for at the bar area. Limited choices off the menu but excellent food. Choices with the voucher include for example a lobster role, slider sandwhiches etc..I do have one complaint, the last time I stayed there they did not deliver a paper to my hotel room. The decor in this hotel is very modern and I like it a lot. As I said, the rooms are clean and very comfortable. The location is perfect. Right in the heart of Times Square yet just enough distance from the crazy crowds that mingle by the Marquis. This is my first choice for a hotel when I stay in NYC. Second would be the Marquis.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same but ask for a higher floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

It took me until my 50th birthday to finally get to NYC for the first time. We got a limo from the airport to the hotel and from the moment we got into the car we had a wonderful time.
We planned to make the most of this trip as I was sure I would only want to do NYC once in my life.
We spared no expense on tickets prices. We wanted the best seats we could get to every show and sporting event we went to. The staff at the hotel were so very very helpful, and we got ALL the shows and sports events we wanted. At the baseball we were 6 rows from the dug out. Fantastic..
( 550 $ each) The room was great and the location was un beatable. My friends had stayed at the other Marriott on time square the Marquis but had not enjoyed it as much.
( bad lifts, to big, to busy) At the Renaissance we did not suffer from any of these problems. Our breakfast was included in the price and the bar/breakfast room has the best view of time square you can get. My only complaint was they need to shoot the person who designed the window bench seats. They are impossible to sit comfortably on. The cusions slip off and there is no back rest. I know there are issues with pipes or something under the window but they could do a lot lot better with a little thought. If I was ever in NYC again I would not think twice in going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor, away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purserMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

Nothing but perfect! Loved the lounge overlooking Time Square.we would go there for cocktails and enjoy looking at the lights out on Time Square nightly. Comfy beds. We are priority members and the breakfast is served in the lounge. The staff and great and rooms are spotless. Cabs seem easy to get from this hotel.. But it's very easy to walk as well if you enjoy Broadway. Most plays are located closely to this hotel.we really loved the concierge and the people at the front desk even sent our reading glasses and headphones back to us because we left them in the safe. They overnighted us the glasses and headphones. How sweet! So if we were to go back we would definitely stay here and recommend this place to family and friends

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bapmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,659 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,036 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel housed in 1930s building, located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing