We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location, but beware of undertipping barman!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #180 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
east kilbride, glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location, but beware of undertipping barman!!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed here for a few nights before and after a recent Caribbean cruise. The hotel was great and in a terrific location for all the sights. Beautiful, big bedroom overlooking Times Square. Most of the staff were brilliant, the doorman, reception staff, housekeeper and a fabulous concierge (Omar) who was extremely helpful and friendly. The only downside was the barman who 'pulled us up' for not leaving a big enough tip! Had this not happened we would have stayed in the hotel and had a few more drinks (although expensive) and dinner, at the end of which he would have received a much more substantial tip. However this put us off so much we left after one drink, so both he and the hotel lost out.
Would definitely use the hotel again, but not the bar.

Room Tip: Overlooking Times Square. Although noisy, terrific views, if you can stand heights!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenmorton21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    817
    226
    64
    34
See reviews for
713
707
68
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hatboro, PA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Staff was helpful and courteous. The room was lovely, bed comfortable, bathroom very nice. As a premier cardholder we also got a contiental breakfast which was very nice in the R Lounge overlooking Time Square. We were central to all the things we were looking for.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PALorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed here 14th - 18th March 2013, we were met by friendly and efficient staff . Perfect position in Times Square for lots of things within walking distance, which judging by the traffic is probably the quickest way to get around. The room was large, very clean and modern with a lovely bathroom and large shower. We were on the 12th floor and we could hear some noise from Times Square but it did not bother us at any time and it was actually an indication that there was something going on. There is a a very nice lounge on the 'Lobby' level which gives a fantastic view over Times Square, and we found the drink prices reasonable for a good quality hotel in a popular area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Strayed at this hotel for a weekend, superb location with extra friendly staff at the concierge section.

I arrived late friday night to check in i didn find the staff the front desk very friendly, they didn smile nor did they bother being friendly, i guess that was my only gripe.

Overall superb location

Room Tip: The Lounge is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOHAMMEDESSAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed overnight in the hotel and wanted to be close to the theater. The weather was cold and we did not want to be outside for very long. Hotel is excellently situated for the Broadway theater district. On arrival the bell captain was extremely helpful and the room was ready. Valet took the car so I can not say anything about self parking. As expected, the luxury hotel room was comfortable and clean. We over looked Time Square and enjoyed watching the crowds go by. On leaving, we had to wait about 15 minutes for the car to be delivered since there was multiple groups leaving at the same time. I would allow 30 minutes for the car delivery by valet during rush times.

Room Tip: Allow 30 minutes for the car delivery by valet during rush times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentonwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel is very nicely, modern decorated. But, if you are going for business it is too hard to get in and out of because of all the tourist on Time Square. If you are going because of Time Square, this is the place! The room was comfortable but, the walls are paper thin. We could hear the neighbors coughing and talking when they were laughing. We were thankful they did stay up late or for screaming children! The door to the room's bathroom was sliding glass and did not contain noises coming from there either.
The concierge breakfast was outstanding because of the view you had looking at Time Square.
All in all I liked this hotel better than the Marriott Marquis next door........as long as you ask for floors 20 to 26! The street noise would be too loud otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I recently attended a conference in Midtown Manhattan and stayed three nights at the Renaissance Times Square. It is a gem. For those looking for the touristy and/or theater stuff, you are right in the middle of the action. If your business is in Midtown, everything is close by. The rooms are by New York standards very well-sized. The room rate was very reasonable, and the hotel, despite being filled to the rafters, was very quiet. The staff was very professional and very helpful. This is simply a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HGLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#264 of 467 in New York City
4,237 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#175 of 467 in New York City
10,817 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 467 in New York City
7,972 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,193 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#176 of 467 in New York City
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing