We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal touches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #180 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head, Sc
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Personal touches”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It's been quite a while since we stayed here. It was in the middle of times Square amazing location. But what I remember the most about this hotel stay was the fact that as soon as we walked in the door we were greeted by name. We were there for my husband's birthday. He had a chocolate cake that said happy birthday waiting for him in the room when we arrived. Nice hotel Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spagurrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    817
    226
    64
    34
See reviews for
713
707
68
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stopped at this hotel for a week and the staff were the most politest of people around upgraded our room for free. Believe me this is the best located hotel around, with times square just on the doorstep also fifth and sixth avenue no more than a five min walk away. Nice clean room with loads of space and well equipped too.

Have free Wi-Fi in the lounge very quiet and peaceful to relax and unwind in after a long day exploring.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBESHAAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Travelled with my husband and 3 sons and stayed at the Renaissance Times Square for the first time. We all loved it! Great hotel, great location, wonderfully comfortable beds in pristine rooms. All the Staff were great too. Fantastic view from the lounge bar and great banter from all the barmen. Actually, all the Staff were great. We'd like to give a big shout out to Greg who was one of the doormen, very helpful and very friendly. Hope your trip to Tanzania turns out to be an amazing one! Hope to see you again next year Greg!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSEMARIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is my second stay at the Renaissance Times Square. It has a small boutique feel and is a comfortable oasis away from the crowds outside. Rooms are a nice size with comfortable bed and plenty of space to work. Concierge breakfast in lounge had good variety and featured great views of Times Square. Some hotels in New York are overwhelming in size - this one feels "just right". This is a great choice for business travel and family travel.

Room Tip: Higher floors hear less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I initially worried that this location might be too much for me being that it's in the heart of Times Square but it was absolutely perfect. Stayed here over the weekend with the intention of seeing a couple broadway plays and this turned out to be an excellent choice in hotel given it's proximity to the theaters. There are also nice restaurants and convenience stores all around. The service was excellent and it pays to be loyal to mariott. My husband is now an elite member and they really go above and beyond to reward your loyalty. This hotel also has what I'm told is the best bar lounge in the Times Square area. It was a lot of fun to bring back our friends after the 8pm show to our hotel bar for a night cap. Great music and lively atmosphere. I honestly can't wait to stay here again! 30 min ride in from LGA and right above the subway stop. You can't go wrong. Fitness center is also spacious with plenty of treadmills and ellipticals.

Room Tip: I suppose a low floor might be noisier than higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinto74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

While NYC is not my favourite place to go there's plenty to see and do - good enough reason for a visit. And overstating the obvious NYC can be expensive - especially if you're expecting quality.

I've stayed at the Renaissance at Times Square a few times now and it has earned my favourite hotel choice for NYC. Occasionally they have significantly discounted rates for the weekend and we recently took advantage of that for a Fri/Sat stay.

While this property always seems to be busy check-in is courteous and prompt. And although its a big hotel it always seems to be a lot less busy than others nearby (like the Marquis) - a plus for both tourist and business travelers.

We had a room on a high floor - no noise to speak of. Room typical of the Renaissance brand - I like these much better than other Marriott rooms. Spotlessly clean.

For the tourist you can't get any more central than this - a few steps away is Times Square. For us we like the proximity to the subway with a stop just paces away from the hotel's lobby doors. And so many subway lines criss cross in this area you can use it as a great place to get to anywhere in the city. That plus plenty of things in short walking distance as well.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: we always ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

One if not THE best hotels I have stayed at. Went with 3 girls to celebrate my 50th birthday my friend emailed before we arrived to ask if there was anything they could do to make our stay memorable. Jennifer who emailed back changed our booking to a higher floor( which you do generally pay extra for) and offered breakfast for 2 of the 4 days we were staying. On arriving the staff on the desk (florinda apologies if I have spelt wrong) were very polite and checked us all in very quickly. Later that evening we were sent to our room a bottle of champagne and some chocolate covered strawberrys with a note wishing me a happy birthday and wishing us all a enjoyable time in NewYork (very thoughtful). We also enjoyed our breakfast in the VIP lounge overlooking Times Square. We ate in the restaurant one evening and had the NewYork steak the meal was delicious. The rooms were quite large plenty of room especially with 4 in our room no problems very clean and each day beds made and room left clean. We spoke to the concierge on a number of occasions and she was very helpful. Overall we never encountered a complaint and the manager should be very proud of all of the staff who were very courteous and polite at all times. I would definately recommend this hotel and would certainly return BRILLIANT

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donna30_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#267 of 467 in New York City
4,244 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#175 of 467 in New York City
10,826 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 467 in New York City
7,972 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,194 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#179 of 467 in New York City
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing