We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Outside, disappointing inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #182 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Outside, disappointing inside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

amazing location, great tall black glassed building, amazing view very disappointing inside.. unprofessional Front staff.. No Bar... What kind of hotel is it, If I cant find my favorite drink in the hotel but I can find anywhere on the street bars..

Rooms no doubt amazing. beds are great, can make anybody have a sound sleep like a baby.

If anybody looking for great rooms, clean & hygienic linen & beds, can come here. but for overall experience with great 5 star service, I will recommend any other hotel in the area with same room price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manpreet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your response and for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with out Front Office team. I apologize that you were unable to order your favorite drink. Our drink selection is constantly changing and evolving as we strive to create something new and exciting for our guests. We hope that we see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,193
    788
    216
    61
    34
See reviews for
678
689
66
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
280 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The position is great if one wants to be around time square and close to the theatres... the hotel rooms are ok, but not better of what one would/could expect for a hotel in that category... the bar is poor, the restaurant is poor (choices)...the breakfast is ok/fine... what is amazing is that, although there are no mini bars anymore one has to go outside or cross the road if in need of some chocolate bars, sodas, beer, wine... (there is one poor vending machine on the 14th floor with 4 choices!) ...otherwise one needs to call room service! But the worst is the price...honestly, way to expensive for what is is/offers... for the same time i was there i checked on the internet and there were between US$ 100-250 more expensive than other comparable hotels. I would definitely not go there anymore --> AVOID IF YOU CAN

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank You for staying with us and sharing your recent experiences with us. We appreciate and value the feedback of all our guests. I apologize that we were unable to make your stay more pleasant. I have shared your comments with the team, as we are always striving to improve and look for innovative ways to make our guests stay more comfortable and enjoyable. We hope you will reconsider the hotel for your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I recently stayed here for two nights on a business trip to Manhattan. The hotel is very chic and modern. Contrary to the common perception of New Yorkers, the staff at check-in could not have been friendlier. The room is very comfortable and well designed. The king size bed was great and the bathroom was very nice. On top of this, the location right in the heart of midtown Manhattan is incredible. As a Marriott Platinum Elite member, I have stayed at many Renaissance properties and this one is definitely in the upper echelon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Broadway are best--much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mujd96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Small but functional. Our room was average size and with 2 adults and 2 teens if was slightly squished. But that was to be expected. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was large for NYC. We had a bath with shower and it was roomy.
We stayed on the 12th floor and like the other reviewer said, it was noisy at night. Maybe a higher floor would be quieter. We never heard other guests with the exception of occasional hallway conversations but the walls were pretty thick.
Very nice staff and helpful concierge. Location is perfect but being June is was the most crowded I have ever seen Times Square. It was nice to step into the foyer to "quiet" after dodging bodies to get there.

Room Tip: Top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I used my Marriott points to stay one night in NYC and I'm glad we chose the Renaissance Times Square. We parked at the hotel (valet) right around noon on a Saturday and our room was already available. The lobby area where you check in is very small, but you take an elevator to the concierge level and find a nice lounge area and another set of elevators to get to the guest rooms. As soon as we got upstairs, we realized a cell phone was left in the car by accident. The valet was quick to retrieve it and brought it right up to our room. The bathroom is a typical size for most hotels, which means it was pretty large for a hotel in NYC. The guest room itself was also spacious and very clean. The location is perfect for walking around the Times Square/Broadway area. When you walk out of the hotel and take a right, you are now facing the TKTS booth. We would gladly come back to this hotel for future visits.

Room Tip: We were on a lower floor and I didn't notice any noises coming from the street. If you're s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My second time staying here and the room was a bit small, plus even with windows closed I could hear traffic at night, but that's to be expected as it is Times Square. A higher floor might have been quieter. Very good front desk service -- when we mentioned wanting to go to R Lounge later they suggested making a reservation and made it for us. Room was clean, very comfortable bed, R Lounge is stunning, no complaints.

Room Tip: A high floor room is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aristadrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have traveled to New York many times, but last week I had an opportunity to visit the Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square and I could not have been happier! First, since I was coming in on the Red Eye and I had an event to attend I emailed the hotel and requested early check-in. While they were sold out the night before, they were actually able to have a room ready for me when I arrived around 9:30-10:00 AM. I was delighted when I got to the room and found that I could move around the room without sliding from side to side. The room was spotless and well appointed. The designer clearly thought everything through as the bathroom even had a sliding door to allow for more space and open feeling in the room. The Navigator was great in helping me plan my trip back to the airport early the next morning. Please plan to spend some time in the R Lounge in the evening. This spectacular birds eye view of Times Square is something that you should enjoy at least once in life. Also, the food and beverage is outstanding. I ordered their pulled pok nachos and they were delicous with a slightly (very slight) sweet taste to them. The roasted corn on them was a nice surprise! Upon departure the doorman was in the street hailing me a cab when the elevator doors opened. I actually made it to the aiport early.... In a light drizzle! This hotel is at the top of their game, do not look elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,879 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,162 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing