We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location with nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #185 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb location with nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the 22th floor. The room is very nice and spacious. Bathroom is also very good with a bit inflexible adjustment of hot/cold water.

The bed is also to my liking, firm but soft. They also provided quite a number of pillows, albeit of small sizes. :)

The breakfast was really average in selection, though the pancake was quite delicious. However the restaurant is facing the Times Square which is quite a view in the morning. (I was welcomed with NYC's summer mild thunderstorm for three days).

The location is the real advantage here. It's very near to the centre of Times Square and Broadway, so you'll have (too) many options in your activity just near the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ign_Kristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    790
    216
    61
    34
See reviews for
680
689
66
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in the hotel for three nights in June. It’s a bit of a mixed bag impression. Overall, hotel is clean, rooms are nice, beds comfortable. Front desk staff, very nice, polite and quite helpful.
We had room on the top floor, there wasn’t much of a view, but “this is New York”. Location is absolutely crazy with thousands of people walking, total traffic chaos and gridlock. It depends what you you’re looking for, you’ll either love it or hate it.

Few comments.

This is not your typical “Renaissance Marriott”, there is no concierge floor or lounge. Their “R Lounge” becomes breakfast area for elite members in the morning and they give coupon for one free snack/meal item in the evening. So, you have to buy overpriced drink from the bar. As we were party of three, I asked for extra coupons and got one more. Our waiter who could barely speak English was coming to us every minute asking if we’re ready to order. But he was quick to point that our coupons are valid only for snack/bite items. Then, he tried to convince me that for crabcakes we need two coupons as they are “expensive”. Being told to call manager, he quickly retreated and made us a “favor” by taking two coupons for two orders of crabcakes. For three drinks and one food item I paid around $50. I think a bit of way too much, but again… this is New York… :-)

I tried to use their touch screen Sony Vaio computers in the lobby, and after few minutes was ready to smash them, as touch keyboards are “kinky” producing five characters on a single touch. If you need to print tickets or something, you need to email file to concierge.

At the last day they accommodated our request for the late checkout, for which we’re very grateful.

Overall impression: it’s not so bad, depending on your expectations. If you want to be in the whirlwind of the Times Square, you’ll love it. If not, look for some more quiet property.

Room Tip: We were facing 7th avenue and I think other side is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor_E_211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel! Have stayed here several times while traveling on business. Location is great! Staff is extremely attentive, comfortable rooms and great view from the restaurant in the lobby level. Will be returning this year again...reservations already made!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

amazing location, great tall black glassed building, amazing view very disappointing inside.. unprofessional Front staff.. No Bar... What kind of hotel is it, If I cant find my favorite drink in the hotel but I can find anywhere on the street bars..

Rooms no doubt amazing. beds are great, can make anybody have a sound sleep like a baby.

If anybody looking for great rooms, clean & hygienic linen & beds, can come here. but for overall experience with great 5 star service, I will recommend any other hotel in the area with same room price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manpreet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your response and for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with out Front Office team. I apologize that you were unable to order your favorite drink. Our drink selection is constantly changing and evolving as we strive to create something new and exciting for our guests. We hope that we see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
280 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The position is great if one wants to be around time square and close to the theatres... the hotel rooms are ok, but not better of what one would/could expect for a hotel in that category... the bar is poor, the restaurant is poor (choices)...the breakfast is ok/fine... what is amazing is that, although there are no mini bars anymore one has to go outside or cross the road if in need of some chocolate bars, sodas, beer, wine... (there is one poor vending machine on the 14th floor with 4 choices!) ...otherwise one needs to call room service! But the worst is the price...honestly, way to expensive for what is is/offers... for the same time i was there i checked on the internet and there were between US$ 100-250 more expensive than other comparable hotels. I would definitely not go there anymore --> AVOID IF YOU CAN

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank You for staying with us and sharing your recent experiences with us. We appreciate and value the feedback of all our guests. I apologize that we were unable to make your stay more pleasant. I have shared your comments with the team, as we are always striving to improve and look for innovative ways to make our guests stay more comfortable and enjoyable. We hope you will reconsider the hotel for your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I recently stayed here for two nights on a business trip to Manhattan. The hotel is very chic and modern. Contrary to the common perception of New Yorkers, the staff at check-in could not have been friendlier. The room is very comfortable and well designed. The king size bed was great and the bathroom was very nice. On top of this, the location right in the heart of midtown Manhattan is incredible. As a Marriott Platinum Elite member, I have stayed at many Renaissance properties and this one is definitely in the upper echelon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Broadway are best--much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mujd96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Small but functional. Our room was average size and with 2 adults and 2 teens if was slightly squished. But that was to be expected. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was large for NYC. We had a bath with shower and it was roomy.
We stayed on the 12th floor and like the other reviewer said, it was noisy at night. Maybe a higher floor would be quieter. We never heard other guests with the exception of occasional hallway conversations but the walls were pretty thick.
Very nice staff and helpful concierge. Location is perfect but being June is was the most crowded I have ever seen Times Square. It was nice to step into the foyer to "quiet" after dodging bodies to get there.

Room Tip: Top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#260 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,891 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,174 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing