We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #179 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband & I stayed here in June for 4 nights. Being my first trip to New York we decided to stay in Times Square. The location is in the middle of everything we wanted to do. Close to subway and very easy to catch taxis. Short walk to all theaters. The junior suite room size, even the bathroom, was nice, and included a coffemaker & frig which was handy. Our room faced away from TS so was very quiet. Concierge was very helpful and even offered discounts on one of the tours. The view from the lounge was amazing-floor to ceiling windows jutting out into TS. Having a drink there and people watching is a must! Reward members received free breakfast in the lounge on weekdays. Nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,206
    798
    219
    62
    34
See reviews for
688
694
67
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This Review is well over due but I've managed to put some time aside to complement the Renaissance for a wonderful stay. The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of New York and if you're anything like me (a light sleeper) then you'll feel alive with the city that never sleeps as every ten minutes you'll be hearing fire trucks and police sirens 24 hours a day but I'm not complaining as the room offered us nothing but luxury and the staff were amazing throughout our stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great location if you're interested in staying in Times Square! The views and staff are great. Omar is the best concierge - always helpful and accommodating. As a 10+ plus Marrriott Platinum member, I've stayed at a lot of Marriott properties. I rank this one in my top 5 - which is why we come back every year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExileLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Bang in the middle of Times Square!
Views from bedroom & iconic 'R lounge' look right onto Times Square.! Good size rooms, incredibly comfortable, stylish, all mod cons; what more could you ask for? Had to pay extra for room wi-fi but we took the upgrade which included free buffet breakfast in R Lounge (eggs, toast, cereal etc)which was worth doing & reasonable. Did I mention the R lounge looks right onto Times Square?! We ate our breakfast in style each morning while surveying all that is Times Square rolling by.
You have to see it to believe it! Having been an avid 'all things New York' fan for most of my life, I saw New York up close from the Renaissance as never before and love it more than ever as a result! I know I'm gushing but I make no apologies; if you want to see the Big Apple in all it's glory; stay at the Rennaisance. It's stylish, friendly & RIGHT ON TIMES SQUARE! (Did I already say that?)
Obviously if you don't like noise & big crowds you might not want to stay on Times Square, go to the West village but if you really don't like noise...what are you doing in New York?! For central location, comfort & style the Rennaisance cannot be beaten. I will definitely be going there again!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor to avoid noise. We stayed on the 22nd floor which was as quiet as a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 781Pinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

great location if you're up for Times Sq - good view of same from the bar.
freaky biomorphic decorating theme in the lobby
very comfortable rooms
concierge very helpful for the one question I had
cost of room, drinks consistent with location

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank conradical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice. Fantastic location in the heart of Times Square. Amazing bar that looks out over the square, great drinks, service and views. Rooms are quiet considering all the noise outside. The rooms and bathrooms are large and clean. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Its nice to be right on time square to get in and out from the crowd. It gets crowded around 7PM. What I really liked is that you walk in, check-in and then up to the next level to the Lobby where you have the bar and restaurant. Its quiet. The room 507 had good view on Broadway with the lights and adds. The room was clean. Nice large shower. Comfy bed. WiFi not free, its $16 to get it for 24hrs. One thing some hotels are careful for is to put family and kids-babies on a same floor. Renaissance is not. We had baby twins on our floor, no older than 2 yrs old, screeming from 6am through 9h30am. We should not have to live this in vacation. I'm taking a star off just for that. At $350 a night I understand its a good location but Kids floor and adults floor! Other thing. Check your bills. At check out I had a $40 Lounge meal. We didn't eat at the lounge nor the breakfast. At check out she said it happens once in a while that people charge to the wrong room! I travel a lot I never had this issue elsewhere! Restaurants around are crowded too. If you walk down some street not too fare you will discover nice little restaurants with very good food. The crowd is just eating on 7th and Broadway in very commercial restaurants like HardRock Cafe. Its convenient to go downtown too from 42nd street taking line 2 or 3 to Fulton for 2.75$. There are at Fulton st and Pearl there are nice restaurants the historic district. Or to park Place to go to ground zero. Airport taxi drive to Newark airport about 45 minutes was $80 + all other charges and tips. $105.

Room Tip: We liked 507 or the next ones 509... we have a view on Broadway a little blocked by a huge advertise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for discovering the Renaissace New York Times Square Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location, view from the room, and other hotel amenities. I sincerely apologize for your noisy neighbors and error on your bill. I shared your feedback with the department managers to avoid future issues of this nature. We value your feedback and hope to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#260 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,152 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,315 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing