We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Excellence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #187 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

For such a high rated hotel, it is so relaxing. You are individually important to the staff, they are all amazing and for an Aussie who felt at first lost in such a huge magnificent city, the staff helped me so much, from providing maps, tours and local secrets for great food. The hotel is so stunning, decor, rooms are generous and views incredible. Right in the centre of Times Square, you have everything at your door and it is everything you hope it will be and more. I have stayed twice and will be back, when we come back to New York. Congratulations on having one of the best hotels in New York.

Room Tip: A room looking over the lights of a Time Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 2,406 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel usually prices above what I like to pay but I got a great deal and we stayed here over Presidents Day weekend. For us, seeing shows is the reason for the trip. This hotel is centrally located for the theater district. The staff are very pleasant and professional, unlike some other properties in the area. They were even polite when I returned at 3AM on our first night and forgot my room number (a quick check of my ID and I was on my way). The main floor was often filled either with foreign tourists or people enjoying the lounge so we didn't linger there for long. The health club was well taken care for and usually empty. If the price was right or no object, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JoeHeg758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a yearly update on the hotel we visit every year for the last 5 years. Ideally located in Times Square, this property offers the best in service and location to enjoy NYC. This hotel is located on a small block next to Jamba Juice and far enough from Olive Garden. It is close to every subway uptown or downtown. The entry may seem small, but there us a reason....checking is located at the entry, and you have to take an elevator to the main lobby of the hotel...this provides security and keeps the riff raff out. The main lobby is where the restaurant, bar and concierge is located. 3 elevators whisk you to the floor of your choice. We had an early check in 8 am...Joe at check in was able to find us a corner room on the 8th floor. The room was a junior suite with nice bathroom ,king bed, and plenty of room to stretch out. The fitness area is what I like most....free headphones to watch tv on the machines, plenty of towels, water machine, and fresh apples everyday. I always judge a hotel by its fitness room....Renaissance does a great job at maintaining..
Manii, who is one of the valet/bell person, has seen us every year and always welcomes us with a greeting...he must see thousands of people, but seems to always remember my wife and I when we visit.
Whether this is your first time to NYC or if you are a frequent visitor....this is the place to be in the heart of Times Square...
Jamba Juice is nearby...TKTS is where you can buy theatre tickets for 40 to 50 pct off!....food emporium nearby...Sullivan's Bakery for the best croissants and bombolini...Margon for Cuban sandwich and roasted chicken with rice, beans, and plantains...Tri Tip in Rockefeller center for the biggest salad..and finally on Lafayette street Bobby Flays Gato and the Library at the Public for great food and 5 star service!
I'll be back next year!

Room Tip: Room 817 corner room...great view and very quiet but close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELWAY52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was pleasantly surprised how relaxing this hotel was considering it was literally in the middle of Times Sq. The area where you check in is very small and modest looking. But once we were sent upstairs to the lobby it was another world. The lobby is decorated with a very artistic flare. It was so interesting. This area is very comfortable and has everything you need to hang out, whether you are waiting for your room, on the internet, having a drink or a meal. The view from the R-Lounge was amazing!! The service was impeccable!! Our room was quite. The bed comfortable. The bathroom was huge and very accomadating. Loved it! The breakfast was perfect. The biggest issue I had was the work/desk area in our room that has a strip of outlets to hook up internet, charging phones etc did not work. Only a couple electrical plugs actually worked in our room. That was a little frustrating. And the coffee pot was not stocked with coffee, so I had to track down a housekeeper first thing in the morning. Other than that we loved our time there and we will go back. :)

Room Tip: I always ask for a high room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kym C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Renaissance Times Square! Our view from R Lounge is definitely one you cannot forget! Thank you for your excellent feedback! We hope you will come back and visit us, and we will be sure to have your coffee stocked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

THIS is where to stay in Time Square. It is a gorgeous, trendy, beautiful hotel. Service was top line, and the rooms were spacious. You had the feeling of being off in your own world in the middle of NYC. Everything about the hotel is 100% from the location, to the service, to the lobby, to the decorations....my new favorite!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules18587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I,ve just returned from a one week stay at this property. My feelings are a bit mixed - probably maybe because I expected much more. It is as others have mentioned , more of a boutique hotel. The lobby is tiny and a really quiet place shut off by all the cacophony from outside. You take a lift to the lobby level and then again another lift to your rooms. I was told I had been upgraded as a Platinum Elite member to a junior suite. The name is a total misnomer as its just another corner room with an extra one feet of space. I was also disappointed to be given a room on the lowest floor whereby I could only see the air-con machines from my window. The decor is average and the rooms look quite outdated. Bathroom was really small and had a shower instead of a bath.
As an elite member the perks are not bad actually. Free internet and free breakfast in the lovely R-lounge facing Times Square. However its served only on weekdays and the lounge is packed to capacity with items running out of stock and no cutlery present either.
Likewise you are given a coupon for a free appetizer from the room service menu or in the lounge for four days a week. Weekends means you get nothing and earn a bonus of 2000 points in lieu of no breakfast. You can print out your boarding passes free of charge from the business center
What makes this property stand out above the neighboring MM is the level of service of the staff. Each and every person was so nice and sweet and very helpful. And obviously the location is unbeatable if its Times Square that you are looking for.
Would I return again to this property? Hmmm...probably not and might try staying in the JWM to see how it feels to be away from Times Square!

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank DXBDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Renaissance New York Times Square. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the R Lounge with panoramic views of Times Square. Your positive comments regarding staff service were shared with the ambassadors in each department and they were celebrated for making a difference in your stay. We are taking steps to address the areas for improvement and look forward to having you back as our guest in the future! We appreciate your loyalty and thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Loved everything about this hotel.
The view from our room wasn't fab, but when you see the view that you get from the lounge over-looking Times Square, you could happily people watch for some time! I can only imagine how wonderful it must be in there on New Year's Eve, with a view directly out at the ball. When you look up at the window from outside, you wouldn't even know the room was there. Ate complimentary breakfast in there each morning, and it was a perfect start to our day!
Loved the walks through Central Park, and enjoyed stopping for a cool drink at the Boat House. And would definately recommend going on the Big Bus Tour, as the guides point out all the best spots. We only bought a one day pass, but would buy for longer next time, as it's a good way to get around, hopping on and off. Great Hotel and loved New York, but a few days was plenty with all the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvonnemckinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#265 of 469 in New York City
4,311 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#171 of 469 in New York City
11,217 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#66 of 469 in New York City
3,243 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#172 of 469 in New York City
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £209 - £562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing