We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room size”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #179 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
453 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Great room size”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel right on Times Square offers great rooms: i had a two bed ( queen size) room...the beds were excellent...the bathroom is a bit old and the amenities poor...being on Times Square it is a bit noisy, but overall a great stay! Yes I would stay again...breakfast is a buffet and also excellent! All around a very good experience!...except the watch I forgot in the room was never "found" ... Oh well. This teaches me to take better care of my stuff!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquelinem449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,206
    798
    219
    62
    34
See reviews for
688
694
67
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over many years and have always found it to be more than adequate. My room on this visit was neat and clean, and relatively large by NYC standards. For my business purposes in Manhattan, it is centrally-located.

If you are here as a tourist, the location puts you right in the heart of Times Square and the Theater District. Really good dining options nearby are few.

There is a fair amount of street noise in the rooms facing 7th Ave, even on the higher floors. It was not loud enough to interrupt sleep.

Overall, a good option in an area of NYC with few good options.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank D01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
901 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 915 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Rooms aren't great in terms of decor, but they are clean and you can't beat the location. Was also surprised at how quiet the hotel is considering it's smack dab in the heart of Times Square. Marriott Rewards Gold and Platinum members don't get free breakfast at this location on weekends but they comp 1,000 MR points and 2 32oz bottles of water instead which seemed like an OK deal until we went to the restaurant the first morning and found out that the buffet was $30 per person! But that was the only downside of our stay. I used MR points for this stay and would definitely stay here again if using points. But if I am paying out of pocket would probably choose the Ritz Carlton instead since the price is pretty comparable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in. As usual Marriott never ceases to impress me with their great customer service, but the Hotel itself was perfectly situated for a New York Trip. It is literally right on Times Square. When you walk out the Front Door you are on the south side of the square. As you turn right you see the New Years Ball on top of the building and Huge TV Billboards as far as you can see. It does not take long to see all you want to see on times square, so its nice to have a subway location just at the back of the building. Its also extremely easy to catch a cab at this point. Two blocks East and you are at Rockefeller Plaza and the NBC/Today Show Studio. 12 blocks up and you are in Central park. A short subway trip or taxi ride and your at the Empire State, Union Station, or the Museum of Natural History where they filmed "Night at the Museum". We also walked to the Gershwin Theater in suits and dresses on a wonderfully cool evening in Late July to watch "Wicked" from our hotel. We ended the evening in the R Lounge at the Hotel where they have surround windows for you to really take in the Times Square Lights. I highly recommend staying here when you visit New York as your base of operation. We started to use Marriott Hotel brands almost exclusively about 3 years ago, and we have the Chase Marriott Credit card. This has saved us a lot of money and opened up some great locations and hotels for our family trips.

Room Tip: The Hotel has some great rooms on the end with Surpurb views of New York, but they are Premium. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buzzard92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here 4th of July weekend for his birthday. I made a note in the reservation that it was his birthday, and shortly after checking in, they brought up chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne - this was a lovely touch! He loves Times Square (I hate it, but it was for his birthday after all), so the hotel is a perfect location if you want to be right in the middle of Times Square/theater district. The hotel concierge was nice, but we didn't end up eating at the place he recommended our first night (it just wasn't what we had in mind, though the restaurant ambiance was quite charming). We saw Rocky on Broadway that Saturday night (show was great), and we ate at Patsy's beforehand, which was fantastic. Can't go wrong with a traditional NYC Italian restaurant. Everything was within walking distance, and I recommend walking to Hell's Kitchen for meals (everything in Times Square is too touristy in my opinion). My only gripe would be the view from our room, or lack thereof. This is probably luck of the draw if you don't pay extra for a stellar view, so if you're staying in Times Square and a great view is important, you may want to consider shelling out some extra money to pay for it. Other than that, everything was great!

Room Tip: - If you want a great Times Square view, try and ask in advance or consider paying extra for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
397 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

As others have noted, the hotel is right on Times Square. After checking in on the ground floor, and them very nice accommodating an earlier check-in, we went up to the true lobby on the third floor. A quiet little oasis with a bar and lounge, and the access point to the elevators for the rest of the hotel.
Despite the size of the hotel, we never had a wait for an elevator going from the street level to the lobby, or the lobby to the room. (A contrast from the Marriott across the square, where the wait can be very annoying.) The room are a decent size for NY, and the bathroom is actually quite large for NY. We had a tub and a decent view. Although we were only on the 8th floor, the street noise was minimal and the bed was very, very comfortable.
The room came with a fridge which was nice to keep a few cool drinks and had a safe large enough for a lap top. (A 35 mm camera might not fit.) I was working in the room when the maid came by and she quietly cleaned the room around me.
The rooms are a little dated, and other than the front desk staff we didn't encounter the staff much. Overall, a nice stay, nice location if you want to be in the theater district or it is near one's office, and alway a good place to people watch.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_Hotlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good location in Times Square. The lounge overlooking Times Square is very nice for a drink. The décor in the lobby is trendy. The rooms, however, show a lot of wear and dirt. The carpet in the two rooms we had were a bit threadbare and dirty. For the price, it was disappointing. Stayed in this same hotel two or three years ago and it was in much better condition. It's time for an update.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eahearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance New York Times Square. I'm glad you enjoyed the lounge and lobby decor. I am sorry for the issues in your room. I have shared your feedback with the housekeeping department to improve the condition of the guest rooms. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience at the hotel and hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#260 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,154 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,316 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing