We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Tower Hotel
Ranked #387 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Location, location, location!

This old hotel has received a lot of updates over the last couple of years. A new cafe, one room at a time is being remodeled and now wifi throughout the building. It's still not a big fancy hotel, and it is very rough around the edges but it's perfect for us.

The prices are great, the location is even better and we love breakfast at Zabar's every morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jilldenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We will echo most of the other reviews. This was well worth the money. The staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. Yes, the elevators only hold three adults or five hobbits comfortably. It's also true that the rooms are small, like lower inside cabin on a cruise ship small. But it's clean, the beds are comfortable, our two room suite had a fridge and microwave, and our view of the river was beautiful. Close to the subway and lots of shops and restaurants but with much less congestion. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrmervis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for one night because we had to check-out of our hotel in Times Sqaure. Definitely not luxurious or 5 star but if all you need is a place to sleep then this will be fine. Free wi-fi was a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in this hotel and would definately stay again. For the price, it was perfect... for the immenities, there were none. But then again, we didn't need any. We're in NYC for pete's sake. The rooms [suite] were extemely small [and very clean], but that was okay. We were basically in the rooms to eithr shower or sleep. We had a city at our footsteps. Why just wallow in the room? The hotel was a $37.00 cab ride from La Guardia. We were three blocks from the nearest subway station and from there could get to anywhere in the city with no problem. Many many restaurants, deli's, convenience stores within walking distance of the hotel. Even found a movie theatre close by. Perfect location. The hotel staff; Rooms were cleaned every day to our expectations. The young gentlemen who worked the evening desk was very nice and helped us with directions and even let us use his printer to print off ticket's for the following days activites. Acknowledged us everytime we came or went. The day staff... well, they were there. Never looked up or greeted us upon our comings or goings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What a great value! The location and the price are unbeatable. The bathroom was very clean and relatively spacious; the room, while spartan, fit what we needed. I will definitely stay there again. The front desk was helpful and positive.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gualan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a well located very small clean hotel room that does the job and nothing more and nothing less. I would stay here again. Though it appears there is no air con so summer could be brutal. The neighborhood is amazing and subway is 3 min walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James012Slc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I strongly recommend this hotel for people who want to spend little time in it.
The rooms are small and the building is old. It wasn't a big deal because we spent most of the time sightseeing and would come back to the hotel only to take a shower and sleep.
The location is perfect. Close to the subway, a deli, drugstore and other facilities.
It's a safe place.
The hotel staff was really nice and helpful.
Once I come back to NY, it'll definetly be my choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BiaMenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 469 in New York City
647 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#319 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#304 of 469 in New York City
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#442 of 469 in New York City
857 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#433 of 469 in New York City
1,995 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#395 of 469 in New York City
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Tower Hotel

Address: 80 Riverside Dr, New York City, NY 10024-5725
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £71 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Tower Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Riverside Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Tower Hotel New York City
Riverside Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing