We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel in Murray Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #127 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
White Rock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel in Murray Hill”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Second stay for us at this hotel on a NYC weekend get away. Close to nice restaurants, interesting eateries and Grand Central Station. Rooms are nicely appointed and a reasonable size, beds and linens are very comfy. Has a roof top bar which is lovely on a summer evening. 'Rare' restaurant is attached to the hotel - the best gourmet burgers and fries! Decent wine and beer choices too. Hotel staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. Only down side is no free internet in the rooms - free in the lobby but $13.95 a day in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineofCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Dear Caterineof Canada,
Thank you for your repeat stay with us and for the positive comments on our 'comfy' beds, efficient, friendly and helpful staff and our convenient location near Grand Central Station. ThanK you for the awesome rating you gave RARE restaurant for the best burgers and fries, there are many that would agree with you.
We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
George Drepaul CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,466
    1,736
    371
    134
    88
See reviews for
1,510
1,477
217
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Affiinia Shelburne has become since two years my preferred hotel for my business trips to NY. Rooms are comfortable, quiet and clean, which is not always a given in Manhattan. Staff are nice, always available to help. During the summer the rooftop bar offers the opportunity for a drink in a cool ambience. Will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniele66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Dear Daniele66,
Thank you for making us your preferred hotel in NYC and for your positive comments on our helpful staff, clean, comfortable and clean rooms. Glad you enjoyed the cool ambiance our roof top bar provides.
We enjoyed having you as our guest and thank you for your loyalty. See you soon.
Sincerely,
George Drepaul CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My boyfriend and I live in Washington DC and take weekend trips to NYC about every two months, and if I book the reservations early enough I can find rooms for about $200 a night. The reason why I am rating this hotel as Excellent is because though it may not have all the luxury, but for $200 a night, you are getting big bang for your money in NYC. The staff is courteous and prompt, the bed is comfortable, and the room is clean and stylish with flat screen TV. The hotel is located in charming Murray Hill, pretty close to everything. NYC is notorious for being a expensive city, but this hotel is a real deal. Affina Dumont and Kimptons 70 Park Ave Hotel also have great deals, you just have to keep an eye on it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Dear Beachlove08,
Thank you for your recent stay and for the positive comments on the great value we provide and our courteous and attentive staff. Glad you enjoyed our location in the charming Murray Hill Neighborhood.
We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
George Drepaul CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This hotel is excellent--good design, walkable from Grand Central and very comfortable. Clean and well-maintained and the bathrooms are pretty luxurious. I have stayed here a number of times, in part because my daughter lives a few blocks away. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful; the one time I had a problem (too much noise from an adjoining room) I was moved promptly. The Affinia pillow menu is a nice thing--especially if you are allergic to feathers. I also like the size--it really feels like a neighborhood place. HIghly recommend.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank JanieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
DearJanieD,
Thank you for your recent stay and for the positive comments on our clean, comfortable rooms, and our friendly and helpful front office associates. Glad you enjoyed the choices of our six pillow menu.
We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon when you visit your daughter.
Sincerely,
George Drepaul CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel was recently renovated, the renovation, in my opinion, really "kicked" the hotel up a notch! It was very nicely done. The rooms are clean and fairly spacious The locale of the hotel is great for getting around with easy access to Grand Central Station, shops, nice salons and cool restaurants. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The only draw back is the elevator system, the elevators are small and the system is very slow but, otherwise, a very good stay!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citigirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear citigirl28,
Thank you for your recent stay and for the positive comments on our recently renovated hotel, clean and spacious rooms and helpful, pleasant staff. Glad you found our location very convenient especially to Grand Central Station.
I have passed on your feedback to our engineers on our recently refurbished elevators.
We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
George Drepaul CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Armagh
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on either side of a cruise in May 2011 and had booked 1 bedroom suites. On arrival for our first night we we were advised that we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom deluxe suite. Having never been in America let alone New York it gave us a great first impression of USA!! The suite was amazing - 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms and so much space we could nearly have lost each other in it! It was spotlessly clean and the beds were so comfy. It was also amazingly quiet for being inthe middle of Manhattan. On our second night at the end of the cruise we got a one bedroom suite which was also massive and had a balcony with views straight over to the Empire State Building. I could not find one fault with the rooms at this hotel - they were very impressive. The decor of the whole hotel was very attractive and we had a lovely breakfast in the hotel restaurant on our 2nd morning. I would like to give a special word of praise for the porters at the hotel - especially Denis. They were so friendly and helpful when we had absolutely no idea about finding our way round New York or hailing cabs!

The location of the hotel was brilliant - just about 5 mins from Grand Central Station, 5th Avenue, Empire State Building etc so plenty of scope for exploring on foot.

The only slight criticism I would have to make would be regarding a few of the staff on reception. We were a bit confused as we understood payment had been for our stay at the hotel when we gave our credit card details on the internet, however, the receiptionist proceeded to ask for our card for payment on arrival. When we questionned this, she was very impatient and even a little aggresive. She didnt allow for the fact that we were even struggling to pick up what she was saying with her different accent. All i'm saying is that it wouldnt have been difficult to be pleasant and courteous when we couldnt understand her!

But that aside I would defintely love to return to this hotel:-)

Room Tip: Definitely the one bedroom deluxe suite with balcony - the view of ESB of amazing, especially ay ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waringstown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Dear waringstown8,
Thank you for your recent stay (s) with us and for the lengthy review. We appreciate your positive comments on our spacious suites, comfy beds and spotlessly clean rooms. Thank you especially for mentioning our Doorman Dennis. Glad you found our location very convenient and centrally located in NYC.
I appreciate your feedback with your experience at our reception desk with regards to requesting your credit card for incidental charges. Your feedback would assist me in addressing any inconsistencies in our service levels.
We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
George Drepaul CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Has a great casual bar downstairs that was frequented by lots of locals. Good choice bar menu.
The room was huge with 2 massive beds. Pillows were extremely comfortable- they also have a pillow menu.
Has a roof terrace (bar not open in November) but nice views of Chrysler building from it.
Reasonable location near to central station and Chrysler building. A few nice cocktail bars close by. However next time would probably stay closer to Times Square or Central Park.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sez100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Dear Sez100,
Thank you for your recent stay and for the positive comments on our spacious suites, comfortable pillows and 6 pillow menu choices. Glad you found our hotel convenient to Grand Central Station and thank you for your comment on RARE Bar and Grill on their good bar menu.
We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
George Drepaul CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#151 of 467 in New York City
1,310 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#92 of 467 in New York City
2,654 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
5,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,094 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#67 of 467 in New York City
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing