We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the Chysler building, lovely suites, ideal Manhatten location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #122 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great views of the Chysler building, lovely suites, ideal Manhatten location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Great location near Grand Central Station and several subway stops, walking distance to Chrysler, Empire State and fab shops. It has a fab bar on the ground floor which serves fab food great burgers and steaks and fab cocktails.
It was a great base for our stay.
The room was great and even had a plush toy on the bed that you could purchase great for homesickness :-) loads of cute details like that. We had a small kitchen which was fab for snacks it had glasses and corkscrew etc and done essentially you can purchase. Living room space with large tv, nice bathroom with fab products. Clearness was second to none.

Great breakfast coffee shop across the road (note home fries come with breakfast... These are fried potato squares!) the bagels are awesome! Enormous! Free coffee refills.
Staff couldn't do enough to help, concierge very helpful.
While in NY I recommend the museum of Native Americans, Macy's which has a fab shoe department! But go early as it gets v busy.
We went to century 21 as it had been recommended but it was dissapointing like a TK Maxx place, Guggeinheim was amazing.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kallienolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,407
    1,670
    359
    133
    85
See reviews for
1,454
1,446
211
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed at the Affinia Shelburne for two nights at the end of July 2012. I was pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the room -- larger in size than any other I've experienced in NYC at a comparable price. The front desk and housekeeping staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. While the location was mildly inconvenient for my business activity I would definitely stay here again for business and/or leisure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mawwsnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I and our daughter stayed here for a week and for the most part it was a nice stay, not anything to write home about but comfortable. I wish when you booked two beds the second bed was an actual bed and not another pull out, my daughter had to spend another week sleeping on the pullout. The free wifi in the foyer is a saver as the wifi in the rooms, at $13 a night, is very poor quality. They did refund our Internet charges when we brought it to their attention. We had a few basic items from the minibar and they were never replaced even though our room was very nicely serviced each day. The location was good, central to the subway and an easy walk to most places. The concierge was very helpful but a few of the staff on the front desk need to have a serious look at their customer service ethos, or lack of it, hey folks we're spending our money with you and we're pretty easy going Aussies enjoying a break, help us to enjoy it rather than making us feel like we are imposing on you. Comfy rooms, nice big bed, like the pillow choices but try and get some nice vibes happening, make people feel comfy when they walk in. Thanks for a nice stay and well done to the lady manning concierge, thanks for your help

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deano_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Deano_au,
Thank you for your recent stay with us for a week. We appreciate your positive comments on our convenient location, comfortable room and beds. Thank you for mentioning our six pillow menu choices.
I am sorry your daughter had to sleep on the sofa bed for a long stay. We have four room types that offers options for single and double beds. Your feedback is very valuable and assist me to address inconsistencies in our service levels. Thank you.
We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely
George Drepaul CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed in a large one bedroom suite with a very comfortable king size bed. Bathroom was small but fine. Kids slept on sofa bed in the lounge. Having the kitchenette was very useful for extra space & to store breakfast, snacks & cold drinks. Great quiet location only a couple of blocks from subway. Service was very good. Loved NYC.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddyBear2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear TeddyBear2012,
Thank you for your recent stay. We appreciate your positive comments on our spacious one bedroom suite, comfortable king size bed and kitchenette.
Thank you for mentioning our convenient location in Murray Hill and to Grand Central Station and for receiving great service from our staff.
We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely
George Drepaul CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary and weren't disappointed! excellent location with nice comfortable room. Staff were very helpful and friendly, the restaurant attached (Rare) is wonderful..very vibrant with excellent food including the breakfast- we ended up eating here most nights! The rooftop bar area looking out at the empire state is amazing and we had the BEST few days in manhattan. Would 100% recommend this hotel.
The only thing i could complain about was the lift was broken and we were on the 12th floor so the whole hotel had to use the 1 service lift, but ths is obviously a temporary problem and was fixed on our last day. About a 10 minute walk to most attractions, but a very nice, scenic walk.
Finally...compared to most hotels this was reasonably cheap.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear richard m,
Thank you for your recent stay celebrating your 1st wedding anniversary. We appreciate your comments on our excellent location, comfortable rooms, helpful and friendly staff.
Thank you for mentioning our seasonal Roof top bar with spectacular views of Empire State Building and Rare Bar and Grill Restaurant.
We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely
George Drepaul CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great hotel in good location within walking distance of everything. We had a one bed suite with view of empire state building. Staff very friendly especially guy on reception-don't know name but he had been to Edinburgh on student exchange-thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel was a great base to explore Manhatten from - located in the Midtown area it is really easy to get to attractions including the Empire State Building and Central Park either by foot or on the subway. We stayed for three nights and the room size was more than ample, comfortable super king size bed and although no real view from our window (which was directly above the street entrance) there was little street noise. We stayed as part of a Lastminute so this hotel proved to be good value but unsure what rates would be like if booking directy with the hotel.
Staff are very pleasant and helpful. For eats check out Sam's Place for reasonably priced italian fare and Scotty's Diner, open 24 hours and does great eggs.
The only quibbles I can make are there was quite a lot of noise coming from the ventilation in the bathroom and I could hear conversations being held loudly in a neighbouring room and the sink in the bathroom was not as clean as it could have been. All in all easily overlooked if paying at a good rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with view if you can get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareKEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,766 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,831 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,781 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing