We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #134 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I happened to find this hotel on the internet and signed up for the business perks - you were supposed to get free wireless, a bottle of water, early check in and late checkout. They also sent me an email with My Affinia an online concierge to order pillows and experience packages (free). Well let me tell you my experience here - first we had to remind them at checkin that we were business perks members - the response? We were handed a warm bottle of water.
Got to the room and no pillows or experience package - we called down and they did not know we had ordered one - then said okay will bring up - got the pillows but no experience package. Why would you seek out customers via the internet prompting them to order things in advance and then not deliver?
Second problem is there is an airconditioning problem in this hotel - hot in the lobby, the elevators and the room - asked for them to check it out 2 times and had to use a fan to stay somewhat cool.
The customer service? we left for dinner at a very busy time and had to hail our own cab - Why? cause the doormen were in the lobby chatting with the concierge and the front desk! The concierge is very unprofessional - she is young and I suspect inexperienced but none the less she overtalked with customers causing others to have to wait for a lengthy time while she chatted about nothing - she also criticized a person that she called for tickets- even describing how she looks and her personality - all in a negative way. And last we asked for a wakeup call thet NEVER happened - luckily we were not catching a plane. All in all I would not stay here again and would spend my money elsewhere at a hotel with better customer service.
On the good side of things the rooms were clean and modern, the bed was comfortable and housekeeping was very pleasant and good! Not a bad location! I am giving 2 stars for the staff that did deliver.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear LizS,
Thank you for the positive comments on our clean, spacious and modern rooms. Comfortable beds. Great Housekeeping staff and in central and desirable location.
I agree with you on the inconsistencies of our service levels and I am already on this to research and address. I can promise that this is a one off experience and not our normal great attention to detail, care and comfort we are known for. My apologies and I would like to reach out to you off line to resolve.
Great having you as a guest and hope we can have you for another stay. Thanks for the feedback.
Sincerely
George Drepaul CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,070 - 3,076 of 4,927 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Would not stay anywhere else in NY. Love everything about this hotel, from the location, the staff and the food. Rooms are spotless and fab. Rooftop bar overlooking the city, very spectacular. Could not fault this hotel. Staff extremely accommodating and super friendly, made us feel quite at home. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madeleine_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear madeleine_dublin,
Thank you for your recent stay and terrific review. We appreciate your positive comments on our location, staff and food. Thank you for mentioning our accommodating and super friendly staff and spotless rooms.
It's great to know how much you ‘felt at home’ at Affinia Shelburne.
We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely
George Drepaul CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel has a good location: not far from Grand Central station, the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building. We had a room on the 6th floor, with view on the Empire State Building. The room itself was spacious, modern and very clean. Only downside was the streetnoise that wakes you up in the early morning, but that is something you simply have to deal with when you are in New York I guess. In the lobby room of the hotel you can use free wifi. At the roof top bar you can sit back and relax and enjoy the splendid views. For breakfast we went to Starbuck's (only 200 metres at the left) or Lucid Cafe (just next to the hotel) where they serve excellent capuccino's and nice croissants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charline81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Charline81,
Thank you for your recent stay. We appreciate your positive comments on our great location close to Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building and the Empire State Building.
Thank you for mentioning our spacious, modern and clean rooms. Glad you made up to our seasonal roof top bar to relax and enjoy the spectacular views.
We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely
George Drepaul CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

i chose this hotel after researching extensively online and reading many reviews. it met most of my expectations. we are a family of 4 with 2 teenagers. we chose the 1 bedroom deluxe suite. we were on the 15th floor with views of the chrysler building. we were there from july 29th till aug 5th 2012. and i might add during one of the hottest, most humid week ever!! our suite was great! we had a king bed and the sofabed says its a double but actually is more like a queen so plenty of room for the teenagers to sleep comfortably. the bedroom and the living area had their own thermostats so you could keep the room at the temperature that you liked. which was a plus for us. the kitchenette was fine. there was a little bar fridge and microwave. you need to ask for a set of dishes. we took out all of their "drinks" so we could use the fridge. the housekeeping staff is wonderful and provided us with fresh towels every day and lots of them as you needed to shower twice every day!! :) they even washed our dishes once when we didn't have time as we rushed out for our day. the suite was clean, comfortable and cool. the bathroom nice and large we just had the shower no bathtub (which we preferred), the staff at the hotel helpful. we needed an extra comforter we got it. whatever we asked for we got it right away. we stayed 7 nights so got a weekly rate and i liked that very much. the things i wasn't crazy about but truly minor and won't stop us from staying there again just hoping they'll fix it one day is there is no a/c in the hallways or elevator. i read about that in one of the reviews and i actually emailed them about that as one of our daughters has a disability with a heart and lung problem and they reassured me that there is enough airflow. there is not! they need to fix it. it is too hot. also because we're on the 15th floor we were right under the rooftop bar so there was some banging of tables and chairs when they cleaned up?? not sure but it didn't lat long. my sister's family came also and they had a room with 2 double beds. that room would have been way too small for our family fyi so its worth the extra 25.00 or so a night to have the suite if you're staying a week. the rooms were quiet we didn't hear a peep from the other rooms. some tips for families: 3rd ave. is the place to go for bagels, fresh fruit at the fruit stand (its open 24 hrs), and walgreens for some basics like milk and cream cheese etc... grand central station has a market which has the most wonderful foods but more expensive. if you're staying the week the metro pass is great for 29.00 per person the rides are unlimited for 7 days. the subways are brutally hot but the trains have a/c. the ny city police are fantastic and real helpful for any questions you may have. they are the true ambassadors to their city. infact every new yorker we encountered were super nice and helpful. the hotel is a good 20 minute walk to times square, moma, rockfeller plaza, fao swartzes, nbc studio, top of the rock. but you can also walk to grand central and use the shuttle to times square but its not free. to go to statue of liberty it was 1/2 hour and 1 transfer by subway. the mta nyc planner is worth it to use. http://tripplanner.mta.info/MyTrip/ui_web/customplanner/tripplanner.aspx oh the hotel has free wifi in the lobby but we paid the 62.95 for the week to have it in our room. overall a wonderful stay in nyc and we'll be back next year and staying at the affinia. the area was nice and safe too. but to be honest ny is very safe. oh and the bed, the linen they use was excellent and i'm very picky about beds. it was wonderful.

Room Tip: ask for a lower floor room so you're not under the rooftop bar, ask for a suite if you are a fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lyne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Great location near Grand Central Station and several subway stops, walking distance to Chrysler, Empire State and fab shops. It has a fab bar on the ground floor which serves fab food great burgers and steaks and fab cocktails.
It was a great base for our stay.
The room was great and even had a plush toy on the bed that you could purchase great for homesickness :-) loads of cute details like that. We had a small kitchen which was fab for snacks it had glasses and corkscrew etc and done essentially you can purchase. Living room space with large tv, nice bathroom with fab products. Clearness was second to none.

Great breakfast coffee shop across the road (note home fries come with breakfast... These are fried potato squares!) the bagels are awesome! Enormous! Free coffee refills.
Staff couldn't do enough to help, concierge very helpful.
While in NY I recommend the museum of Native Americans, Macy's which has a fab shoe department! But go early as it gets v busy.
We went to century 21 as it had been recommended but it was dissapointing like a TK Maxx place, Guggeinheim was amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kallienolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed at the Affinia Shelburne for two nights at the end of July 2012. I was pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the room -- larger in size than any other I've experienced in NYC at a comparable price. The front desk and housekeeping staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. While the location was mildly inconvenient for my business activity I would definitely stay here again for business and/or leisure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mawwsnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I and our daughter stayed here for a week and for the most part it was a nice stay, not anything to write home about but comfortable. I wish when you booked two beds the second bed was an actual bed and not another pull out, my daughter had to spend another week sleeping on the pullout. The free wifi in the foyer is a saver as the wifi in the rooms, at $13 a night, is very poor quality. They did refund our Internet charges when we brought it to their attention. We had a few basic items from the minibar and they were never replaced even though our room was very nicely serviced each day. The location was good, central to the subway and an easy walk to most places. The concierge was very helpful but a few of the staff on the front desk need to have a serious look at their customer service ethos, or lack of it, hey folks we're spending our money with you and we're pretty easy going Aussies enjoying a break, help us to enjoy it rather than making us feel like we are imposing on you. Comfy rooms, nice big bed, like the pillow choices but try and get some nice vibes happening, make people feel comfy when they walk in. Thanks for a nice stay and well done to the lady manning concierge, thanks for your help

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deano_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Deano_au,
Thank you for your recent stay with us for a week. We appreciate your positive comments on our convenient location, comfortable room and beds. Thank you for mentioning our six pillow menu choices.
I am sorry your daughter had to sleep on the sofa bed for a long stay. We have four room types that offers options for single and double beds. Your feedback is very valuable and assist me to address inconsistencies in our service levels. Thank you.
We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely
George Drepaul CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#173 of 470 in New York City
1,422 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
434 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#82 of 470 in New York City
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#295 of 470 in New York City
470 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#139 of 470 in New York City
548 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 470 in New York City
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#40 Family Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £125 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing