We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #130 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our stay at the Affinia Shelbourne was pleasant, more like 3.5 stars but I will round up because the price was reasonable. Rooms were a good size, clean and modern and the location was great, within walking distance to many major landmarks. Service was average, front desk staff were pleasant but didn’t go beyond the normal pleasantries and when we arrived I had to actively track down the doorman to valet our car. Overall, not a bad stay but nothing special.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MegLewisBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear MegLewisBoston,

Thank you for your kind review. Our rooms are notably more spacious than many other hotel rooms in New York. Additionally, as you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building, the Chrysler building, New York Public library, Madison Square Garden, Broadway theatre, and famed 5th Avenue shopping.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. I hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,171 - 2,177 of 4,906 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

The location is good. It's easy to reach the station. From the roof, there is an excellent view of Empire state building and other landmarks. Wi-hi is free in the lounge and we can easily do the online checkin for our flight and printing on a computer there. It's so convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Erika Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Erika Y,

Thank you for your kind review. We have a great location in Murray Hill that is close to many popular NYC attractions as well as all forms of public transportation. I am happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy our roof deck - you are right, the views are breathtaking. WiFi is, indeed, complimentary in the lobby, making usage easy and efficient. We love repeat guest at Affinia Shelburne so please be sure to reach out before your next arrival.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. I hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights.
Excellent location to walk everywhere, and close to grand central.

But in a quiet area.

Excellent sized rooms for NYC.
Perfect for a family with kids.
Don't need to get 2 rooms.

The Wine / Internet in the lobby was a real plus.

Definitely would return

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rubeushagrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Rubeushagrid,

Thank you for your kind review. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building, the Chrysler building, New York Public library, Madison Square Garden, Broadway theatre, and famed 5th Avenue shopping.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. I hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Affinia The hotel is very good. It is not far from Grand Central Station.
The nights were very quiet and comfortable bedding. We recommend it.
The restaurant is RARE to do. The food is good and the waitresses are very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Vincent B,

Thank you for your kind review. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attractions, including Grand Central Station. I am glad that you had an opportunity to enjoy the amazing food at Rare Bar & Grill. On your next stay please be sure to visit Affinia Shelburne’s complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week. We love repeat guests and, therefore, hope to see you again soon!

Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Murray hill is a nice and relaxing area just blocks away from everything. The hotel is modern and looks good, rooms are clean and very spacey to be on Manhattan. Nice view. The down stairs restaurant, Rare, delivers room service, but it is not more than ok. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would go back. Be sure to book on Affinia's home page, prices are the same as on Hotels.com etc, but you get free internet - otherwise it costs 15$ a day which is a shame.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinningThePooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear WinningThe Pooh,

Thank you for your kind review. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attractions. I am glad that you found your accommodations to be aesthetically appealing, clean and spacious. We love repeat guests and, therefore, hope to see you again soon!

Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Can't say anything but wonderful things about my experience staying at the Affinia Shelburne. The hotel is lovely, the staff wonderful and my room was beyond anything I expected! And it was the quietest room I have ever stayed in NYC. It's a great location - easy to walk to restaurants, etc., yet I was able to retire to a quiet beautiful room and sleep well. I will definitely recommend the Affinia Shelburne as well as the other Denihan properties to colleagues, friends and family. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ms. Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Ms. Jane R,

Thank you for your kind review. Our rooms are notably more spacious than many other hotel rooms in New York. I am happy that you enjoyed the accommodations of your room and had both a quiet room and a comfortable rest while with us. The next time you visit please feel free to try our extensive pillow menu. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building, the Chrysler building, New York Public library, Madison Square Garden, Broadway theatre, and famed 5th Avenue shopping.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. I hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Best staff ever! From arrival to greetings in the morning we felt like we were kings! The wine social was a very nice treat, with surprisingly good wine. Rare is a wonderful restaurant with great food!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Abjgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Abjgold,

Your review made my whole day! Thank you so much for your feedback. At Affinia Shelburne we pride ourselves on attentive, efficient, customized care. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and happy that you had an opportunity to attend our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week. Please feel free to reach out to me before your next arrival.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. I hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#172 of 469 in New York City
1,400 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#139 of 469 in New York City
539 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#123 of 469 in New York City
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 469 in New York City
411 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#135 of 469 in New York City
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £141 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing