We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC birthday getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #134 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Travelled to NYC with my sister and neice. We were celebrating my neice's 14th birthday. I called in advance to pick the right room as we wanted to stay together yet have some privacy. We picked the deluxe suite. It was much larger than I expected and perfect for the weekend. It had two beds in one room and a sleeper sofa in the living room. The living room had the bathroom and kitchenette. It was perfect. The best part was the staff. I called in advance to arrange transportation from LGA and it was flawless. I also wanted a surprise in the room. The staff went over and beyond. My sister and neice arrived before me and when they got to the room there was balloons, a birthday card and cute little cupcakes! It made a great start to an awesome weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Paul S,

Thank you for your kind review. Customized customer service is extremely important to us at Affinia Shelburne. I am thrilled to hear that we positively contributed to your niece’s 14th birthday as well as helped to create a fun and memorable trip for you and your family. I am happy that you enjoyed the spacious accommodations of your room, found our arranged transportation to be flawless and, all and all, had a fantastic visit.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,096 - 2,102 of 4,920 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is the first time I stayed in Affinia Shelburne as I a regular at Affinia Manhattan, however this was also an equally great experience, good rooms, friendly staff, good resturant, nice location as it is a relaxed and peaceful as compared to the 7th Avenue location. Great shopping at the 5th avenue.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nandita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Nandita G,

Thank you for your kind review. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attractions, including, Central Park, Times Square and Grand Central. I am happy that you found our staff to be friendly, Rare Bar & Grill to serve delicious food, and your accommodations to be comfortable. Hopefully, on your next visit, you will have the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm - 6p, 7 days per week.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I had a great experience. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful. The room was comfortable. We went up to New York for the 5 Boro Bike Tour. As we were getting ready to leave, Chiran the doorman readily helped us get our bikes on a touchy bike rack which had been giving us trouble. In addition to having a good eye he was very pleasant. I like the location because it is relatively quiet and close to many things. I will definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rubyslippers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear rubyslippers16,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Here at Affinia Shelburne, customized customer service is of the utmost importance to us. I am thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant, helpful and friendly. I will be sure to pass along your positive feedback to Chiran and will commend him on his continued commitment towards exemplary service.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We like the Affinia chain in New York City, as well as the Eventi hotel. This time we couldn't get either of our go-to places, Affinia Dumont or the Eventi, since they were completely booked. So, we stayed at the Affinia Shelburne (also in a great Murray Hill location) and loved our room 1513. Lobby could use some classy touches: large indoor plants in beautiful pots would do a lot. And change up the projected animation of the art figures passing through the forest--nice the first time but repetitive after that. When we first checked in, we were a bit worried by the down-and-out look of the lobby--and thought we would have to move to another hotel...at midnight, no less. Artwork in the rooms could be changed up a bit too--with some more colorful contemporary prints on more of the wall space in our 700 sq.ft.-plus deluxe one bedroom suite. And a couple of bistro chairs with table would let us enjoy a drink on the beautiful balcony with view. But we are very happy we decided to stay! Will do so again next year! Great service, conscientious staff.

Room Tip: The top corner rooms are wonderful--we were in room 1513 with a great balcony and view. It is a one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carmelites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Carmelites,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attractions, including, Central Park, Times Square and Grand Central. Thank you for your suggestions regarding our lobby and in-room décor. We will definitely look into your thoughts and aim to further enliven the hotel’s aesthetic. Upon your next visit please feel free to participate in our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

By Manhattan standards, our room was reasonably sized, with comfortable beds and bedding. One really nice feature is the little reading lamps next to the beds-great for readers! I was worried that the street noise would keep me awake, but we didn't face Lexington Avenue and it wasn't a problem. Ordered room service one time from Rare and it was excellent. Rooftop bar was fun, but quite jammed. Room was generally tidy but the daily vacuuming could have been better -there were some crumbs that remained on the floor for a couple of days. You can print your boarding pass for free, but you have to pay to use the public computer for Internet access, which seems petty at the rates that you pay in New York City for a hotel room!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank music33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear music 33,

Thank you for your kind review. Our rooms are known to be relatively larger than many New York City hotel rooms. I am happy that you enjoyed your in-room accommodations, including your reading lights! I am thrilled to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy the delicious food at Rare Bar & Grill. Upon your next visit please feel free to participate in our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very good hotel with kind en friendly staff. Perfect location.
Doormen were very friendly en helpfull. Suite is perfect. Good Breakfast in restaurant Rare. Our stay in this hotel has contributes to a perfect first trip to New York.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mr. Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Mr. Paul K,

Thank you for your kind review. I am thrilled that we contributed to the positive experience that you had on your first trip to NYC. I am happy that you found your accommodations to be pleasant and the staff to be friendly, especially our doormen! We love repeat guest at Affinia Shelburne. Please be sure to visit us upon your next visit.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were lucky enough to discover the Affinia Shelburne and enjoyed our stay (actually wished we could have spent more time in the hotel itself). I had read some other reviews, so knew to ask for a room with a view. The rooms are spacious, clean and a wonderful value for the price. There is menu of "gourmet" pillows available, a nicely equipped health club, a wine hour in the evening and an onsite restaurant (RARE) which we didn't get a chance to try. All the staff we spoke with were pleasant, knowledgeable and made us feel like welcome and valued guests. They had sent an acknowledgement email with a list of hotel amenities, so we knew we were in for a special experience. The rooftop restaurant/bar wasn't open during our visit, but we hope to try it out next time - we went up there just to check it out and the views are fabulous! The location is convenient to Grand Central Terminal, but in a quieter residential area. The hotel provided a list of local restaurants including phone numbers and hours of operation, which was very convenient for us.

We booked through the hotel's web site and were able to upgrade to a Queen suite through at a lower cost than I had seen for a single room on other booking sites (check their online special offers). The space was huge and inviting, the bedding extremely comfortable and the entire suite was very clean. We were impressed and will definitely stay at the Affinia Shelbourne the next time we visit New York.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ShoreFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear ShoreFan,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much that you were hesitant to leave! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your spacious, clean accommodations and that you had the opportunity to choose from our extensive pillow menu. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill and is only a few minutes away from many known New York City attractions, including, Central Park, Times Square and Grand Central. I am happy that you had the chance to enjoy our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm - 6p, 7 days per week. We love repeat guests at Affinia Shelburne. Hopefully, on your next visit, you will have the opportunity to eat at Rare Bar & Grill and enjoy our rooftop, which is open during the warmer summer months.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#174 of 470 in New York City
1,420 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
430 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#82 of 470 in New York City
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#290 of 470 in New York City
468 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#137 of 470 in New York City
546 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 470 in New York City
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £128 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing