We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price/location. Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #125 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Fe, Nm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great price/location. Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We took our family of 5. It's a good 5-7 minute walk to the nearest subway station (Grand Central). We walked daily to either the station or Times Square. Great Indian cuisine close by. Giuseppes was a great pizza place just up the street. Got to try the Bagel Express place nearby as well. Don't bother with the in hotel restaurant (RARE). Over priced and the food was bland (except for the fresh juice and french toast - that was worth it). Hotel was very clean and beds were very comfortable. Loved the fun pillow menu! Would definitely go here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Kyle S,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor of the Affinia Shelburne. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and got to order from our pillow menu, hope you got to try them all. We are centrally located in the residential neighborhood of Murray Hill, which is minutes away from all the attractions that you stated above. During your next visit, please join us for our complimentary wine hour everyday from 5pm to 6pm.

Sincerely,
Geoerge Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,409
    1,673
    360
    133
    85
See reviews for
1,457
1,447
212
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Nice place to stay for business purpose. Even though paying for wifi in the rooms is still a no-sense for me! Welcome to New York!

The roof terrace is really nice but unfortunately in 10 visits to this hotels it was one only open twice. Staff is really helpful and kind

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank genguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear genguay,

Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. We apologize that the rooftop bar was closed during your visit. The hours of operation are 4:30pm to 3am, depending on weather. Hopefully, during your next visit you will be able to join us. I am glad to read that you did receive exceptional service during your stay. Please join us for our complimentary wine hour everyday from 5pm to 6pm.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpingBreakAshley
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This property was located in a great area, with lots of coffee shops and cafes very near by. Both Starbucks and Dunkin' were on the same street as the hotel, as well as an AWESOME little bagel shop that I went to every morning! I wish I could remember the name, but it was about 2 blocks up in the direction of 42nd street, on the same side of the street as the hotel. It was run by a latin team of employees. Very good, well priced and quick service! Anyway, the Affinia is close to great shopping and Broadway which I loved since I attended a Broadway show on night one. I have heard horror stories about small rooms in NYC, and this was just like any other average sized hotel room in any other city I've been to so I was pleasantly surprised. Finally, it was clean! The main reason I am giving a five star review is the staff. EVERYONE from the front desk attendants, to the concierge, to the valet service men were all absolutely amazing. They were super happy to help, beyond quick and very friendly. I'm originally from New York, so I know you don't get ' overly friendly' and 'eager to help' often in the middle of NYC. I give an A+ to whoever hired this crew. Overall, I was very pleased and would 100% stay here again. Thanks Affinia Shelburne, see you again soon!

Room Tip: If its important to you, ask for a view. I did call and email ahead asking for one and didn't ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpringBreakAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear SpringBreakAshley,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Affinia Shelburne on TripAdvisor. We are glad you were able to experience our spacious rooms and exceptional service we provide. Here at the Shelburne, our number one goal is to provide exceptional service and according to your review, we did just that. We are centrally located in the quiet residential area of Murray Hill which is minutes away from all the attractions. During your next visit to New York City, please join us during our complimentary wine hour everyday from 5pm to 6pm.

Till next time.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed at the Shelburne in the summer last year for 3 nights. This was our first time in New York and this was a great base to see the city. We travelled as a group of 4 and were upgraded to a smalle suite, so my son was able to use the sofa bed in the lounge - we also had a small kitchen area. The room was in the centre of the hotel away from the street and was very quiet. Staff on teh front desk were very helpful. It's around a 40 minute taxi ride from JFK - we were walking distance from the Empire State, Grand Central and Central Park. It's around a 10 to 5 minute walk to the East River Ferry which is a great option for travelling to the southern part of Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Phil M,

Thank you for sharing your amazing review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you chose us for your first time in New York City. We are happy to read that we provided you helpful service during your stay. We are central located in the quiet neighborhood of Murray Hill and are minutes away from all the city attractions. Please stay with us next time you visit New York city and join us for our complimentary wine hour everyday from 5pm to 6pm.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having stayed at the Affinia Shelburne a few times now, I've seen a definite deterioration in the property. Although my room was clean and well maintained, the decor is beginning to feel really dated. And there were stains on the carpet in the hall near my room that bordered on disgusting.

On the upside, the staff continues to be extremely nice. The doorman makes you feel warmly welcome the instant you arrive, front desk staff are helpful, and everyone else I encountered went out of their way to be friendly.

Bottom line is, if you want a room in the Murray Hill part of town and can get a good deal on a room rate here, it's not a bad place to stay. Just not as special as it once was.

Room Tip: If you care about the view, state that specifically when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuthorFrancesGrote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear AuthorFrancesGrote,

Thank you for sharing your candid review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read that we provided you the exceptional service you are to expect from the Affinia Shelburne. I would like to apologize for the stain on the carpet in front of your room, as this is out of the ordinary for us. We hope during your next visit to New York City, you stay with us again and can join us for our complimentary wine hour everyday from 5pm to 6pm.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. It is more like an apartment, depending which room you have. I stayed with my Family of 5 in June 2012 and we had a 2 bedroom apartment. The room was really big, big enough for 5 of us to not get in each others way.

Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful (be mindful that they work on tips there hence why they were probably so friendly) but none the less they were still extremely friendly.

The hotel has a rooftop bar which was amazing. A small gym is also there which I visited once and it was really clean and tidy.

It's about a 15-20 minute walk to Times Square but in New York City walking is the best thing to do so you can take in all the sights and sounds of this amazing place.

As we went for my parents wedding anniversary the hotel gave us complimentary wine in an ice bucket on the first and second nights of our stay so ask for this before your stay to see if they can sort something out.

Overall would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a 5 star experience in New York, yes it's expensive but it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjeev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Sanjeev D,

Thank you for sharing our wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you and your family found our rooms to be very spacious and accommodating. We are centrally located in the Murray Hill section of New York City which is minutes away from Times Square, The Empire State building and Grand Central station. During your next visit to the big city, please join us for our complimentary wine hour everyday from 5pm to 6pm.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington IN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Since we were planning to be in New York for a two-week business trip, we wanted a place that had at least a minimal kitchen setup. The Affinia Shelburne offered quite an attractive rate for their Studio Deluxe, which proved to be comfortable, convenient, and really roomy for a New York hotel -- huge, in fact, which was great, since two weeks in a small cubbyhole would have given us a major dose of claustrophobia. It took a while to get an acceptable room, though. When we checked in, we were told that the the studio deluxe we'd booked wasn't available for that first night, so we had to stay in a standard room and then re-pack our bags to be moved while we were out the next day. We got a complimentary breakfast for one morning at the hotel restaurant in exchange for the inconvenience. The second room -- the studio deluxe -- was OK, with a huge bathroom, but it was one floor below the roof bar, which we could see and hear from our windows, and very near the elevators, from which several times drunken party animals spilled out, talking and hooting at 2 in the morning. .Finally after a week we wanted out, and at last, we got moved once again re-packing everything) to a much quieter room at the end of the hallway -- so all was well. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay. Great location, close to Grand Central and also to lots of markets, drugstores, and restaurants; nice happy hour in the lounge every day, and generally a friendly and helpful staff at the desk. We had no problems with housekeeping; things stayed nice and clean. We would probably stay here again if the rate was right.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far as possible from the elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: We appreciated the installation of pumps in the shower for shampoo, conditioner, and body gel, but the dispensers were poorly designed and it was difficult to pump out enough of anything to do the job.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear erster,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Affinia Shelburne on TripAdvisor. We apologize we had to move you to get you the perfect room but we are glad in the end, we did. You are correct that our rooms are larger then most hotels in New York City and our location is in the residential neighborhood of Murray Hill, minutes away from all the attractions. Thank you for joining us during our complimentary wine hour and hope you come back to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,849 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,792 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing