We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G-R-E-A-T Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #126 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“G-R-E-A-T Stay!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I would highly recommend the Affinia Shelburne! This was our first stay there and were pleasantly surprised with just about every aspect of the hotel. Rates were highly competitive yet the 2 rooms we were provided were larger than we expected. The staff were amazingly courteous, friendly and helpful. The rooftop bar is a nice added bonus, and the hotel is conveniently located to many NYC attractions that are within walking distance! I'd definitely stay there again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank John_Oakville2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear John_Oakville2014,

Thank you for your kind review. We pride ourselves on customized customer service. I am so happy to hear, therefore, that you had such a positive experience with our staff. I am happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy our rooftop bar with sweeping city views! As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from many NYC attractions. Thank you for recommending Affinia Shelburne to family and friends.

We love repeat guests! Please be sure to reach out before your next visit.

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,445
    1,718
    366
    134
    85
See reviews for
1,493
1,467
216
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Best option in midtown for nice room with two double/ queen sized beds in room. Easy access to grand central. Great Greek diner for bkfast lunch or dinner couple blocks down the street. Have stayed here for October trip to NYC three years in a row...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steinlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear steinlink,

Thank you for your continued patronage and kind review. Our rooms are known to be comparatively larger than many NYC hotel rooms. I am so happy to hear that you continue to find your accommodations to be spacious, clean and comfortable. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from many well-known NYC landmarks and some great local restaurants, including the Greek Diner you mentioned!
We love repeat guests! Please be sure to reach out before your next visit.

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed for a week with my family (2 kids, 8 years old),
Room with two queen size beds, Empire State View, 8th floor, for 1700$
Good Price/Location (37th street, near Grand Central, Empire)
7 mins walking time to metro
Very Friendly staff
Air conditioning little bit noisy, but not a problem, as I put off for sleep.
Be careful Wifi free only if booked on Affinia website

Room Tip: book directly to the hotel website for free wifi conditions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank JB_F541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear JB_F541,

Thank you for your candid review. I am happy that you found your accommodations comfortable. We pride ourselves on customized customer service. I am so happy to hear, therefore, that you had such a positive experience with our staff. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from many well-known NYC attractions including Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Broadway theatre, and famed 5th Avenue shopping. Upon your next visit please be sure to participate in our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week.

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked 2 rooms on 12th floor. Both with Kitchen facilities and one with lounge area - excellent. Rooms big, two double beds in each room, very quiet, lounge area had balcony, more like an apartment!
Roof top bar fantastic with amazing views!
Staff really helpful, particularly the doorman Dennis.
Walking distance to subway at Grand Central or 33rd St.
Perfect hotel for family - 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Great value for money, we booked directly on the hotel website and got best deal with complimentary wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachside3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Beachside3,

Thank you for your candid review. I am happy that you found your accommodations comfortable. Our rooms are known to be comparatively larger than most NYC hotel rooms. We pride ourselves on customized customer service. I am so happy to hear, therefore, that you had such a positive experience with our staff. I will be sure to pass along your positive feedback to Dennis and thank him for his continued commitment to excellent service. Upon your next visit please be sure to participate in our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week.

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our sixth long stay at the Affinia Shelburne so we went with high expectations for service, cleanliness and responsiveness to our needs, and all were met above and beyond. Of course little things happen, often out of their own control, but the measure of a good hotel is how they respond, with courtesy and efficiency. The Affinia Shelburne lived up to this in all regards. Amazingly helpful front desk, wonderful doormen and housekeeping staff, and excellent location for all attractions, shopping etc. will be booking seventh stay very soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Jan M,

Thank you for your continued patronage and kind review. I am happy that you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable. We pride ourselves on customized customer service. I am so happy to hear, therefore, that you had such a positive experience with our staff. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Broadway theatre, and famed 5th Avenue shopping. Upon your next visit please be sure to participate in our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week.

As you know, we love repeat guests! Please be sure to reach out before your next visit.
Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Second experience at this hotel was wonderful. The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Call hotel direct for special deals. The property is well maintained, and furnishings in rooms have been in excellent condition both visits. Great beds! Suites with the small kitchen are nicely appointed for a longer stay. Lobby seems a little dark at times, but is generally a pleasant area to relax. Bar has good drinks and warm atmosphere...although I think a more modern interior upgrade would be better for hotel image. Keep the burgers! Roof top lounge is a plus, although it would be nice if areas were somehow divided to provide a more upscale space for those older than 25/30.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Eldred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Eldred H,

Thank you for your continued patronage and kind review. I am happy that you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable. I am thrilled that you found our beds to be particularly comfy. For added comfort, please be sure to try our extensive pillow menu upon your next visit. We pride ourselves on customized customer service. I am so happy to hear, therefore, that you had such a positive experience with our staff. I am happy that you had the opportunity to visit our rooftop and enjoy sweeping views of the city. Upon your next visit please be sure to participate in our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week.

As you know, we love repeat guests! Please be sure to reach out before your next visit.
Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very nice hotel! Free wine happy hour everyday from 5-6 was a nice bonus. I had a great room. VERY nice size for New York, very spacious, updated bathroom with lots of counterspace. The first room I was given was even bigger, but it had not been cleaned yet, so I was moved. My coworker's room was not as big though, but it was still bigger than other rooms I've stayed in in New York. Great stay with friendly staff.
Also have a pillow menu to choose from. I tried the buckwheat pillow and slept like a rock.

Room Tip: Request one of the bigger rooms for the price given at booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kendy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Kendy1,

Thank you for your kind review. Our rooms are known to be comparatively larger than most NYC hotel rooms. I am happy that you enjoyed your accommodations, including the updated bathroom with tons of counter space. I am happy to hear that you utilized our extensive pillow menu, designed for extra comfort. We pride ourselves on customized customer service. I am so happy to hear, therefore, that you had such a positive experience with our staff. Lastly, I am happy that you had an opportunity to enjoy our complimentary Wine Hour, which occurs between 5pm – 6pm, 7 days per week.

As you know, we love repeat guests! Please be sure to reach out before your next visit.
Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#108 of 468 in New York City
4,828 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#190 of 468 in New York City
5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#64 of 468 in New York City
5,020 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,981 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing