We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #125 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Hidden gem at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Affinia Shelburne is one of the best values in Manhattan--GREAT space for the price and great location; slightly south of Grand Central, a little removed from the craziness but walking distance to everything. We had a wonderful view of the Empire State Building during one of our stays. RARE restaurant on the first floor is great as is the rooftop bar. I'm only giving it four stars because the maid service sometimes came pretty late in the day. Otherwise definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNM0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear CNM0221,

Thank you for your kind review. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from well-known landmarks. Lastly, I am happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy our rooftop bar with sweeping city views!

We love repeat guests! Please be sure to reach out before your next visit.

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,409
    1,673
    360
    133
    85
See reviews for
1,457
1,447
212
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugoff, SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd time at the Affinia Shelburne, and the hotel exceeded our expectations. We will not stay anywhere else in NYC. The staff is awesome, hotel is clean, and location is great! The fry platter at RARE is a must and the complimentary wine from 5-6 was so relaxing. The Affinia felt like home away from home!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kaycimbrazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear kaycimbrazell,

Thank you for taking your time in posting a review of the Affinia Shelburne on TripAdvisor. We are extremely happy to read that we provided you the exceptional service and cleanliness you are to expect from the Shelburne. We hope the next time you visit you can experience the wonderful views our rooftop bar provides. We are glad you were able to join us for our complimentary wine hour that is held everyday from 5pm to 6pm. Hope to see you next time you are in the big city.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We loved the hotel, staff and service. It was a perfect location for us close to tourist attractions and our office building.
The Rare restaurant was great! Rare view is amazing too!
Highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back!
Cheers, Vina

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Vina521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Vina521,

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review. We are glad to read that our quiet Murray Hill location was accommodating to you. Our rooftop bar does offer an amazing view of the city and we are glad that you were able to experience it. Please join us next time for our complimentary wine hour everyday from 5pm to 6pm.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

A very nice hotel. Nice quiet neighbourhood, easy walk to subways and bus. Friendly staff, good service, felt safe and secure. Very nice rooms with comfy bed and clean bathroom. Air conditioning worked well in the heat of summer. In room safe, fridge and coffee maker. Lots of nice little places to go for eats nearby or to buy snacks to take back to room. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Heather S,

Thank you for your candid review. I am happy that you found your accommodations, including your guestroom safe and coffee maker, to be efficient and helpful. We pride ourselves on customized customer service. I am so happy to hear, therefore, that you had such a positive experience with our staff. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from Grand Central Station, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Broadway theatre, and famed 5th Avenue shopping.

We love repeat guests! Please be sure to reach out before your next visit.

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms were a great size and staff were friendly and helpful. The rooftop bar has some incredible views especially at night time.
A really great location for exploring the city and staff were able to provide directions to the local landmarks.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank szlwzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear szlwzl,

Thank you for your kind review. Our rooms are said to be comparatively larger than many New York City hotel rooms. I am happy that you found your accommodations to be comfortable and our staff to be friendly. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from well-known landmarks. Lastly, I am happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy our rooftop bar with sweeping city views!

We love repeat guests! Please be sure to reach out before your next visit.

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

On Lexington and about 10 minute walk from 5th Ave, and 10 minutes from Grand Central, hotel is perfect location for seeing the city and for public transport.

Staff were friendly and rooms surprsingly big. Rooftop Bar has an amazing view, but staff in the bar could maybe do with some customer service training...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ernestgoodheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear ernestgoodheart,

Thank you for your kind review. Our rooms are said to be comparatively larger than many New York City hotel rooms. I am happy that you found your accommodations to be comfortable and our staff to be friendly. As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides serenity away from the immediate ‘buzz’ of NYC, we are only a few minutes away from Grand Central Station (10 minutes) and famed 5th Avenue shopping (10 minutes). I am happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy our rooftop bar with sweeping city views!

Please be sure to reach out before your next visit.

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is located in a great area. Although it is right next to any of the great New York landmarks, it is actually within a very walkable distance to Grand Central Station, Restaurants, Coffee Shops, and 15-20 minutes away from Time Square (walking). The area around the hotel is safe and walkable.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was very very spacious. The bedroom had two queen beds. The receptionist was nice enough to upgrade us from a single king size bed to two queen bed when she noticed that there were 3 of us. I slept on the couch in the living room which also turned into a bed.

The suite has a kitchen and a nice restroom. We were two floors below the club on the top floor. We could hear people and things shuffling around until about 11 PM - 12 PM. This was ok with us since we usually go to sleep late but beware if you are a light sleeper and go to sleep early.

The room was nice and clean although some of the furniture (not all) seem a bit tired but not in terrible shape. The things that I loved about the hotel was the location, it was really spacious, and clean. I am very sensible to the clean factor.

A good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cesar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdrepaul, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Cesar C,

Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased to hear that we had the availability to upgrade you and that this gesture increased your level of comfort. Customized customer service is incredibly important to us and, therefore, I am thrilled that you had a positive experience with our staff. I am also happy that you found your accommodations to be spacious and clean (equally important to us as it is to you!). As you indicated, our hotel is beautifully located in the residential area of Murray Hill. While our location provides safety and serenity, we are only a few minutes away from many well-known NYC landmarks.

Please be sure to reach out before your next visit.

Thank you, again, for your review.

Best regards,

George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,849 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,790 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing