We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the Real New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Experience the Real New York”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Staying at the Affinia Shelbourne made me feel like a local. There were plenty of local eateries, the nearest Subway station was Grand Central which was very convenient, Lexington & 3rd were easy north-south routes for taxis. The hotel offers some of the largest hotel rooms in NYC which was great when travelling with three kids. It really felt as if we were in our own comfortable apartment and not in a hotel room. Check-in and out were easy, the staff were helpful. The only issue we encountered was dealing with the concierge, it was her first week at the hotel so she wasn't yet familiar with local restaurants or subway lines.
If you want to feel like a New Yorker and stay in a nice hotel, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoubleDouble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear DoubleDouble1,

Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our rooms were accommodating to you and your family needs. Here at the Shelburne, we understand that you have a choice when coming to the Big Apple and are glad you chose us. Please join us next time for our complimentary wine hour everyday from 5pm to 6pm.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,465
    1,734
    371
    134
    87
See reviews for
1,510
1,476
216
585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I visit NYC often and this was a very comfortable room and actually pretty quiet for a hotel in NYC. Granted, my room was not overlooking the street, but it's not a very loud street anyway.

The lobby and bar downstairs are very basic - nothing fancy. I ate at the bar/restaurant downstairs my first night as I got in late. It was OK. There is much better food to be had in the neighborhood, but I was tired and I was not disappointed.

Friendly staff, clean rooms, relatively spacious for a NYC hotel and I was most pleased with decent water pressure in the bathroom shower. The location in mid-town is also very convenient to get to any part of the city and all in all a good stay and I won't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanChicagoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear TripTag_app,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and mentioned our spacious rooms, attentive service and centralized location. We hope the next time you are in New York City, you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefield, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was very impressed with this hotel. We just stayed here for 6 nights...
The rooms were clean, well appointed, and spacious for NYC. They had ear plugs in the drawer, if you needed them, but we just left the fan on low all night and it was perfectly quiet.
The hotel is close to Grand Central Terminal (subway access for east side of Manhattan), Bryant Park (subway for west side), the Empire State Building, Macy's, and the NYC main branch Public Library. It is close to some nice restaurants such as Vezzo and Moonstruck. It is only a 15 minute brisk walk to Times Square and about 20 minutes to the Theatre District. We walked all over and think we got a real feel for the city.
The front desk staff were courteous and very helpful. A special mention to Alex, Front Desk Manager, who was awesome!
My only complaints, and they were very minor, were 1) that the bathrooms were not vented - I asked about that and they told me that the building was too old and 2) that they did not have recycling bins in the rooms - I asked about that and they told me that all the garbage is sorted once it is taken from the rooms to pull out the recycling - they should have a notice posted to let their patrons know.
I would totally recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Cathette,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at the Shelburne, we do have very large rooms compared to most other hotels in New York City. We hope during your next visit to New York City you choose to stay with us again and have the opportunity to join us for our complimentary wine hour everyday from 5pm to 6pm.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Loved the space in the one bedroom with sleeper sofa. The sleeper sofa was comfortable (better than most) so it worked for my daughter. Normally I would never have her sleep on one, but I messaged people who had done reviews to get their feedback. Loved the location, although it is a 4 to 5 block walk to the subway in either direction, but I needed the exercise. We found some restaurants on 34th that we truly enjoyed, but there was lacking for breakfast options, other than the few coffee shops in the area, which were actually good for snack bakery items. We did enjoy lunch in RARE bar and it was great, the Parm-truffle fries were amazing & the M&M burger. We also had breakfast one day, which was sufficient. We had experienced great service all around from anybody we came into contact with. We did enjoy the wine hour, they just take donations for a charity, so be nice and tip :D. We went up to roof deck during the last day to check out the view, we would have loved to go in the evening, but it was quite packed & a line at the elevator to get up there, so we didn't bother. Rooms were spacious, with shampoo, conditioner & body wash in dispenser bottles in the shower, but took forever to get a decent amount out, but very nice to have it there anyhow. Bed was comfortable, I couldn't really find a pillow that I liked, even with all of the options, but maybe I was just missing mine. Our view out the window was of the Empire State Bldg, so I enjoyed sitting & looking at that each morning & evening.

Room Tip: We got complimentary Wi-Fi b/c we booked directly through their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Extrememomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear ExtremeMomma,

Thank your for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are all excited to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our location fit your needs perfectly. Being so centralized makes all the attractions easy to walk to. You are correct that all the donations made at our complimentary wine hour go directly to Operation Smile. Our Pillow Menu is pretty lengthy and I am sorry we couldn't get you the perfect pillow. During your next stay in New York, we hope you can make it to the rooftop bar to witness the amazing views.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff were welcoming and accommodated all our requests. I would definitely stay here again. I found the location good, close to central station, but not too busy on the street so it was quiet and easy to access and find.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Andrea C,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that we exceeded your expectations here at the Affinia Shelburne and that you are choosing to return back to our property. Please join us during your next stay for our complimentary wine hour held everyday from 5pm to 6pm.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gan Yoshia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very good location if you like to experience New York real life away from Time Square and other crowed places. Our room had 2 large beds, very conveneint. Bathroom is a little small but clean and convenient.
Friendly staff, willing to help. We had a very nice time there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Tamar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Tamar P,

Thank you for sharing your review. Our rooms are very spacious compared to most New York City hotels. Our quiet location is nestled away in the residential neighborhood of Murray Hill. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

It was the second time I have stayed at the Affinia Shelburne, it is my hotel!!! A great, clean and most importantly safe. The hotel staff are very helpful and courteous. In addition, it is a great neighborhood to be in.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Sarai S,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Affinia Shelburne on TripAdvisor. Our main goals here at the Shelburne, are to provide guest safety, clean rooms and the great service to all of our guests. It is clear after reading your review that we achieved our goals and we thank you for sharing. Please join us next time for our complimentary wine hour held everyday from 5pm to 6pm.

Sincerely,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4,837 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#93 of 467 in New York City
2,652 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
5,091 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing